$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
456 reviews
Great time in a great city

The Sheraton provided fantastic amenities in a great location. We enjoyed three nights in a lovely... See full review

  • The Hurricane.3
  • Aug 24, 2014
Awesome Service

We stayed two days at the Sheraton on Canal St and while we weren't in our room much we really... See full review

  • natbug728
  • Aug 18, 2014
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9518 -90.0673
Area served
Avondale, Belle Chasse, Chalmette, Destrehan, Gonzales, Gretna, Hammond, Kenner, La Place, Harvey, Metairie, Mandeville, Marrero, Norco, Ponchatoula, Reserve, Slidell, Thibodaux
Nearby airports
Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 10.00, MI; Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (456)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 456
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago, il
May 29, 2011

Nothing special

I was in NOLA for 24 hours and had planned on staying in for my early flight. However, the in room movies weren't working and said it would take days to fix. The shower had rust in it, paint peeling, wallpaper with holes...not very impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can stay at the JW Marriott for a comparable price and have a better experience.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mass traveler ex-pat
Western Massachusetts
Mar 17, 2010

OK not Great

The location on Canal St. makes it hard to drive out at certain times of day, and Canal is always slow. The public areas were run down, like the aging paper sign saying that a bank of elevator keys was out of order. Some staff were quite friendly, but some (including concierge) did not focus well on customer service. The room was very small, though the view was spectacular

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Midwest
Sep 6, 2009

Good service - Small noisy rooms

The staff at the hotel are great. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms (at least mine) had thread bare damaged carpets, walls and stains. They were very noisy and you could here all activity in the hallways and other rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nomad Girl
Washington, DC
Sep 3, 2009

New Orleans = Amazing!!!!; Sheraton = OK

FANTASTIC location, great city, amazing view, good staff beautiful hotel...BUT 30 dollar a night parking fee (better then the 33 dollar marriot down the street) they tell you $9.95 internet but its really for 512 kb, to get fast speeds you have to spend at least 14.95. IF you order roomservice (which is already super expensive), read the fine print, because they're going to tack on a 21% gratuity and $4 dollar delivery charge So in summary, sleep in your hotel room but do nothing else cause you dont know how much it will cost, and enjoy the spectacular views on the riverside and comfy comfy mattresses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The french quarter shopping district is right outside your doors! But don't get up too early! Most of the cool stores and shops don't open until 10/11. But totally go to Cafe Dumond for those beignets, they are stellar.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco ca
May 31, 2010

Was there for a wedding

Went to a friend's wedding at a nearby hotel. This hotel was a cheaper option that was blocks from all the wedding events. It was easy to get around by foot. Also liked that room service was 24 hours! My room was right by the elevator so it was noisy but it had such an amazing view of the French Quarter I decided not to switch. It was great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Found this store that sold awesome voodoo dolls called Jamie Hayes gallery. I got a bunch of unique presents. It was like five blocks from the hotel.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Orleans Newb
Mansfield, Texas
Jun 3, 2014

Looks good on paper!

I really liked that the hotel was right in the middle of everything and easily accessible by walking. I also liked being on the 31st floor. What I did not like is that my room was right next to the elevator and the whole trip that is all I heard...the elevators travelling up and down 35+ floors opening and closing doors. I requested a complimentary movie for my inconvenience with the elevator noise and received a credit to my room...however at check out there was no mention of a room credit and they initially were set to charge my card, but we did handle the situation resulting in a zero balance. I also woke up the morning of my departure to workers power washing the side of the building...right outside of my window. My comforter also had blood and urine (I think it was urine...it was yellow) stains though the pillows and mattress were comfortable. The final event of my trip was one night when another guest came into the hotel so intoxicated he fell in the entrance and almost passed out...his friends had to literally carry him upstairs...my problem was the fact that the elevator checker/attendant asked me to show her my room key (for security purposes I'm assuming) however she failed to ask the intoxicated guests for theirs I'm sure they had more probable cause than I did...everyone should be checked not just the guests that go by when the attendant happens to be sitting at her booth and not across the hotel talking to another employee..im just saying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must try Huck Finn's I ate there twice during my stay...

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bL38
MARIETTA, GA
Jan 2, 2012

New Orleans Trip

Very nice hotel. Walking distance to French Quarter and River Front Walk. Valet Parking is $37 day which they don`t advertise. You will find that out the following day..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vonn
Owings Mills, MD
Sep 2, 2010

Sheraton New Orleans

I called the hotel to confirm my reservation and they informed me that I had been issued a double bed occupancy. They said I needed to call [...] to change the order since I made the reservations with them. So I did, the associate said she contacted the hotel and they would send me another reservation # with a single bed. I didn't have time to check my emails for the new # so when I arrived at the hotel and was given the key before I walked away I asked if this was a single bed and to much dismay it wasn't. I explained the call between [...] and the hotel and none of that information was passed on. With this said I don't know which place dropped the ball. I just know as a customer is wasn't a good look. The only issue I had with the hotel is my room was next to the elevators which had plenty of traffic from peoople coming and going. Would I go there again, Yes - However, I would request a room that wasn't near the elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear flat shoes, most of the places are walking distance from the hotel and the sides streets are not very good. A lot of holes in the sidewalks.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Feb 27, 2011

Great location.

Lovely hotel is in great location within walking distance of most places of interest, restaurants, and shopping. Felt especially safe as a lone traveler on vacation. Also, able to easily plan tours of New Orleans with Concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
May 21, 2007

good place to stay

The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right on Canal Street so within walking distance to everything.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search