$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 Canal Street, 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
552 reviews
Great location

This hotel is clean, nice and very close to the french quarter so all in all is was the perfect... See full review

  • Lori R.
  • Apr 27, 2015
Very comfortable

I loved the beds, they were like sleeping on clouds! See full review

  • KEKE G.
  • Apr 13, 2015
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

Pelican Bar
Cap off your night in grand style with a cocktail at the Pelican Bar. Named in honor of Louisiana’s state bird, this beautiful and enchanting bar is reminiscent of a French Quarter courtyard. Relax with your favorite libation or a bite from our menu.
Roux Bistro
At Roux Bistro you won’t find a Creole menu and we don’t serve Cajun fare. It’s strictly New Orleans cuisine for breakfast and lunch. Out talented chefs guarantee a culinary experience second to none in a city famous for dining.
Starbucks Coffee
Treat yourself to coffees from around the world, specialty espresso beverages, tasty baked goods and selected merchandise.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 552
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
May 29, 2011

Nothing special

I was in NOLA for 24 hours and had planned on staying in for my early flight. However, the in room movies weren't working and said it would take days to fix. The shower had rust in it, paint peeling, wallpaper with holes...not very impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can stay at the JW Marriott for a comparable price and have a better experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mass traveler ex-pat
Business
Western Massachusetts
Mar 17, 2010

OK not Great

The location on Canal St. makes it hard to drive out at certain times of day, and Canal is always slow. The public areas were run down, like the aging paper sign saying that a bank of elevator keys was out of order. Some staff were quite friendly, but some (including concierge) did not focus well on customer service. The room was very small, though the view was spectacular

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nomad Girl
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 3, 2009

New Orleans = Amazing!!!!; Sheraton = OK

FANTASTIC location, great city, amazing view, good staff beautiful hotel...BUT 30 dollar a night parking fee (better then the 33 dollar marriot down the street) they tell you $9.95 internet but its really for 512 kb, to get fast speeds you have to spend at least 14.95. IF you order roomservice (which is already super expensive), read the fine print, because they're going to tack on a 21% gratuity and $4 dollar delivery charge So in summary, sleep in your hotel room but do nothing else cause you dont know how much it will cost, and enjoy the spectacular views on the riverside and comfy comfy mattresses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The french quarter shopping district is right outside your doors! But don't get up too early! Most of the cool stores and shops don't open until 10/11. But totally go to Cafe Dumond for those beignets, they are stellar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Sep 6, 2009

Good service - Small noisy rooms

The staff at the hotel are great. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms (at least mine) had thread bare damaged carpets, walls and stains. They were very noisy and you could here all activity in the hallways and other rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco ca
May 31, 2010

Was there for a wedding

Went to a friend's wedding at a nearby hotel. This hotel was a cheaper option that was blocks from all the wedding events. It was easy to get around by foot. Also liked that room service was 24 hours! My room was right by the elevator so it was noisy but it had such an amazing view of the French Quarter I decided not to switch. It was great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Found this store that sold awesome voodoo dolls called Jamie Hayes gallery. I got a bunch of unique presents. It was like five blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Apa ini
Business
Okinawa, Japan
Apr 21, 2014

Close to everything

The hotel is in a great spot that is walking distance to just about everywhere you might want to be. The only gripes I have is they charge you for internet access and the shower is close to something you'd find at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 21, 2007

good place to stay

The room was clean and comfortable. Staff was helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right on Canal Street so within walking distance to everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
Feb 1, 2010

Great Location for good price!

I have stayed at numerous Starwood properties and was very happy with the Sheraton New Orleans. It is on par with many of the other Sheraton locations nationwide and by far one of the best locations. The staff was very helpful, courteous and professional. My room was nicely appointed (slightly better than a Marriott Courtyard)but could use a facelift (specifically the bathrooms). That said, my room was very clean, had highspeed internet, and in room Starbucks Coffee (a +). Everything is walking distance, with great dining and lots to see and do. Also, my room rate was exceptional [...] There are plenty of great places to stay off, but this was by far the best location for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of great options in the quarter, but try some of the local haunts outside the quarter like Cochon off of Tschoupitoulas. Great Cajun / Southern food and extensive Bourbon list!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vonn
Business
Owings Mills, MD
Sep 2, 2010

Sheraton New Orleans

I called the hotel to confirm my reservation and they informed me that I had been issued a double bed occupancy. They said I needed to call [...] to change the order since I made the reservations with them. So I did, the associate said she contacted the hotel and they would send me another reservation # with a single bed. I didn't have time to check my emails for the new # so when I arrived at the hotel and was given the key before I walked away I asked if this was a single bed and to much dismay it wasn't. I explained the call between [...] and the hotel and none of that information was passed on. With this said I don't know which place dropped the ball. I just know as a customer is wasn't a good look. The only issue I had with the hotel is my room was next to the elevators which had plenty of traffic from peoople coming and going. Would I go there again, Yes - However, I would request a room that wasn't near the elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear flat shoes, most of the places are walking distance from the hotel and the sides streets are not very good. A lot of holes in the sidewalks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Slidell, LA
Sep 3, 2010

Great Hotel!!!!

I enjoyed my stay here. The hotel had very friendly service. You have to pay extra for parking and it's valet only. I wasn't really impressed with that. I feel parking should be included in a hotel stay. Other than that I had no complaints at all. They aren't the only hotel. It's a common for this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is a very short walk to Bourbon Street and the Riverwalk. It really was a perfect location. They were also filming a movie right around the corner while I was there. I thought that was pretty cool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top