$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 Canal Street, 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
448 reviews
Great Trip Shereton New Orleans

We enjoyed our stay. It was a great visit to the City. It would be a suggestion if there were... See full review

  • Robin S.
  • Jul 27, 2015
GREAT HOTEL GREAT LOCATION

Great hotel just walking distance from bourbon street and everything else and away from all the... See full review

  • jopee22
  • Jul 17, 2015

The Sheraton New Orleans Hotel in New Orleans features 1,110 fully renovated guest rooms, including 53 suites. Each of the rooms boasts the plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, and the hotel is equipped with more than 100,000 square feet of revitalized event and meeting space.

Guests are welcome to relax in the Sheraton Club Lounge, break a sweat with the Sheraton Fitness program by Core Performance or enjoy a meal at one of three dining outlets. The hotel is proud to be an environmentally friendly and green facility that boasts eco-friendly linens, shower heads, paint, incandescent lighting and motion sensor HVAC controls.

Location
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Highlights

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is nestled in the heart of the Big Easy and centrally located on the celebrated parade route. Within walking distance, guests can cross historic Canal Street to enter the French Quarter, which is home to famous nightclubs and restaurants, shopping, live music, historic sites and museums.

Also nearby are the Aquarium of Americas, Harrah's New Orleans Casino and the National D-Day Museum. Popular shopping destinations in the neighborhood include JAX Brewery, Riverwalk Marketplace and Canal Place.

The hotel is dog-friendly, and you can take advantage of room service if you would rather unwind on-site. On-site dining options include Roux Bistro, featuring New Orleans-inspired cuisine, and Pelican Bar.

Policies
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

Starbucks Coffee
Treat yourself to coffees from around the world, specialty espresso beverages, tasty baked goods and selected merchandise.
Roux Bistro
At Roux Bistro you won’t find a Creole menu and we don’t serve Cajun fare. It’s strictly New Orleans cuisine for breakfast and lunch. Out talented chefs guarantee a culinary experience second to none in a city famous for dining.
Pelican Bar
Cap off your night in grand style with a cocktail at the Pelican Bar. Named in honor of Louisiana’s state bird, this beautiful and enchanting bar is reminiscent of a French Quarter courtyard. Relax with your favorite libation or a bite from our menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 448
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
upset dude
Business
new orleans
Oct 12, 2012

dont go there at this time

did i have a 4 star experience hotel,not at all!! construction started at 9am sharp,the sounds of hammering and jack hammers and electric saws thruout the building was not a nice way to wake up every morning after a night out in NEW ORLEANS!!! room service was a half an hour late and my wife was sick and couldn't eat the soup it tasted that bad! and to top it all off, i had to kill a cockroach in the bathroom!! so you tell me if i had a 4 star exceriece??!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
urfin
Business
Columbus, OH
Apr 29, 2013

Good Location, overpriced for its services

Pro: great lobby with fountain, food/drink services, and excellent musician on weekend nights. Cons: greediness - they charge you for things that are free in other hotels: no free breakfast, no free wifi, no microwave or refrigerator. Rooms are tiny, with a lot of unnecessary furniture. Everything is additonal charge. Conclusion: OK for business trip stay. Not good for family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Superman07
Business
Natchez, Ms
Jun 30, 2014

Not Happy!!

Hotel was nice in looks alone. Our room did not get cleaned, we had to ask for more towels. Some of the staff was not that friendly. and we were lied to about the cost of parking. The parking was outrageous! We will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY,NY
Dec 26, 2010

Only fair

Hotel is tired looking with limited services. Had problem getting TV remote fixed. Staff was very nice and tried hard but we would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Blues

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Quin
Business
Monroe LA.
Sep 19, 2011

Too Much for not Enough!

Over priced. Had to pay $37/day to park at the Hotel! No microwave, no refrigerator, the A/C did not keep room cool even after calling and having service man look at it, very few receptacles. Def would not recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Dec 7, 2008

My review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

The Sheraton New Orleans was comfortable and well-located but it took really long to check-in. The pother issue was that the room didn't smell good... It seemed to be a smoking-room and it was assured it wasn't. The beds were really comfortable, but I really believe they should do something about the smelt...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is perfectly located... Short Walk to Bourbon Street but far enough from the noise...

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TamTar
Business
Roseville, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Nice place

I had a view of the French Quarters from my room. It was within walking distance to Bourbon Street and easy access to the parades. The staff recommended a breakfast place we love. Overall, most the staff was knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rita D
Business
Coopertown (Nashville Area), TN
Jan 1, 2011

Nice Facility,Lousy Service & Housekeepi

I had a great daily rate for this hotel. Mom and I spent 5 nights here. The facility was nice, the elevators quick, and the front desk staff friendly and courteous. However, on a number of occasions I called down for needed items and was told it would be taken care of - it never was. Each day housekeeping failed to do something (leave coffee one day, leave no cups on another day). I would stay there again, if the price is right (priced less than similar type hotels) because: 1. Great location - walking distance to French Quarters, Bus and Boat excursions, and the casino. 2. Nice facility. 3. Walgreens (2 locations), CVS, McDonalds (2 - 3 locations), Arbys, Popeye's Chicken, and I-Hop are all within 5 blocks, most are 1 and 2 blocks from hotel. I found Walgreens convenient for yogurt, snacks, and water since the neighboring mini-marts charged 4 times the going rate for yogurt.It also has sandwiches and salads. 4. Request a fridge and pay a very small fee for its use for the length of your stay. I hate to get up and go out for breakfast. The restaurant breakfast price was steep for my budget. While there mom and I enjoyed: 1. Mother's Restaurant (the Jambalaya was the BEST) 2. Royal Deli at Royal and St Ann (the chocolate cake and everything we ate was DELICIOUS). One night I had to leave the hotel and walk back for more cake. 3. Johnny Po Boy - A menu with a large selection of Po Boys and other items. Delicious! Don't forget the bread pudding. 4. Grayline's Katrina/City bus tour and the steam boat cruise. I was hesitant about the value of riding on the river, but it was a very nice and informative trip.The tour guides for both excursions were very personable and informative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Johnny Po Boys was a great value because it's menu had New Orleans cuisine as well as many traditional dishes such as spaghetti, meat and potatoes, all with vegetables. This was a nice option if one tires of too many days of the New Orleans cuisine. The price for most of the menu items was not much more than your fast food restaurants.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, RI
Oct 14, 2009

Good, for New Orleans

Very clean and efficient, despite the fact that the UF vs. LSU game was going on and the whole downtown was a madhouse. Unfortunately the adjoining rooms were loaded with drunks (well, it is New Orleans near the French Quarter). Still, the walls could be better sound proofed I think. Despite that, the view was beautiful, the bathroom well-appointed, and the beds comfortable. I'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The streetcar runs right out front; for 1 dollar you can ride down through the Garden District for a great dinner at Superior Bar and Grill (local favorite with the Tulane/Loyola and young professionals crowd).

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hialeah, Florida
Jul 1, 2010

Good

The people is nice, but the room service was not good. I have to ask for things to make coffee in the room. This happened a few times. Even though I had room service every day, it was not done appropriately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Something I didn't like was that the Gym did not belong to the hotel service. I belongs to the city so I had to pay for it.

Back to menu Return to top