$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 Canal Street, 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
553 reviews
Great hotel

Great hotel! Just a short walk to French Quarter. Beautiful Hotel and friendly staff! See full review

  • Jamie L.
  • May 19, 2015
Great location

This hotel is clean, nice and very close to the french quarter so all in all is was the perfect... See full review

  • Lori R.
  • Apr 27, 2015
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

Pelican Bar
Cap off your night in grand style with a cocktail at the Pelican Bar. Named in honor of Louisiana’s state bird, this beautiful and enchanting bar is reminiscent of a French Quarter courtyard. Relax with your favorite libation or a bite from our menu.
Roux Bistro
At Roux Bistro you won’t find a Creole menu and we don’t serve Cajun fare. It’s strictly New Orleans cuisine for breakfast and lunch. Out talented chefs guarantee a culinary experience second to none in a city famous for dining.
Starbucks Coffee
Treat yourself to coffees from around the world, specialty espresso beverages, tasty baked goods and selected merchandise.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 553
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lbroussard
Business
New Orleans la
Mar 8, 2011

The worst hotel stay of our entire lives

Check in was at 3pm. We had to stay in lobby with luggage for 3 hours until room was ready. We missed out on parades, dining and sight seeing. We were charged twice for our room, plus things they make you pay for that they don't tell you when you originally book. We had to leave by 7am next day in order to be out by check out time. This hotel is way too expensive for the way that we were treated from the tine we walked in the doors. Never again will any of the people we vacationed with ever stay at another Sheraton hotel. They charge for a bottle of eater and coffee they provide in the rooms.Parking was outrageous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
upset dude
Business
new orleans
Oct 12, 2012

dont go there at this time

did i have a 4 star experience hotel,not at all!! construction started at 9am sharp,the sounds of hammering and jack hammers and electric saws thruout the building was not a nice way to wake up every morning after a night out in NEW ORLEANS!!! room service was a half an hour late and my wife was sick and couldn't eat the soup it tasted that bad! and to top it all off, i had to kill a cockroach in the bathroom!! so you tell me if i had a 4 star exceriece??!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
urfin
Business
Columbus, OH
Apr 29, 2013

Good Location, overpriced for its services

Pro: great lobby with fountain, food/drink services, and excellent musician on weekend nights. Cons: greediness - they charge you for things that are free in other hotels: no free breakfast, no free wifi, no microwave or refrigerator. Rooms are tiny, with a lot of unnecessary furniture. Everything is additonal charge. Conclusion: OK for business trip stay. Not good for family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Superman07
Business
Natchez, Ms
Jun 30, 2014

Not Happy!!

Hotel was nice in looks alone. Our room did not get cleaned, we had to ask for more towels. Some of the staff was not that friendly. and we were lied to about the cost of parking. The parking was outrageous! We will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lbroussard
Business
New Orleans la
Mar 8, 2011

The worst hotel stay of our entire lives

Check in was at 3pm. We had to stay in lobby with luggage for 3 hours until room was ready. We missed out on parades, dining and sight seeing. We were charged twice for our room, plus things they make you pay for that they don't tell you when you originally book. We had to leave by 7am next day in order to be out by check out time. This hotel is way too expensive for the way that we were treated from the tine we walked in the doors. Never again will any of the people we vacationed with ever stay at another Sheraton hotel. They charge for a bottle of eater and coffee they provide in the rooms.Parking was outrageous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY,NY
Dec 26, 2010

Only fair

Hotel is tired looking with limited services. Had problem getting TV remote fixed. Staff was very nice and tried hard but we would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

House of Blues

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Quin
Business
Monroe LA.
Sep 19, 2011

Too Much for not Enough!

Over priced. Had to pay $37/day to park at the Hotel! No microwave, no refrigerator, the A/C did not keep room cool even after calling and having service man look at it, very few receptacles. Def would not recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Dec 7, 2008

My review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

The Sheraton New Orleans was comfortable and well-located but it took really long to check-in. The pother issue was that the room didn't smell good... It seemed to be a smoking-room and it was assured it wasn't. The beds were really comfortable, but I really believe they should do something about the smelt...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is perfectly located... Short Walk to Bourbon Street but far enough from the noise...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TamTar
Business
Roseville, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Nice place

I had a view of the French Quarters from my room. It was within walking distance to Bourbon Street and easy access to the parades. The staff recommended a breakfast place we love. Overall, most the staff was knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rita D
Business
Coopertown (Nashville Area), TN
Jan 1, 2011

Nice Facility,Lousy Service & Housekeepi

I had a great daily rate for this hotel. Mom and I spent 5 nights here. The facility was nice, the elevators quick, and the front desk staff friendly and courteous. However, on a number of occasions I called down for needed items and was told it would be taken care of - it never was. Each day housekeeping failed to do something (leave coffee one day, leave no cups on another day). I would stay there again, if the price is right (priced less than similar type hotels) because: 1. Great location - walking distance to French Quarters, Bus and Boat excursions, and the casino. 2. Nice facility. 3. Walgreens (2 locations), CVS, McDonalds (2 - 3 locations), Arbys, Popeye's Chicken, and I-Hop are all within 5 blocks, most are 1 and 2 blocks from hotel. I found Walgreens convenient for yogurt, snacks, and water since the neighboring mini-marts charged 4 times the going rate for yogurt.It also has sandwiches and salads. 4. Request a fridge and pay a very small fee for its use for the length of your stay. I hate to get up and go out for breakfast. The restaurant breakfast price was steep for my budget. While there mom and I enjoyed: 1. Mother's Restaurant (the Jambalaya was the BEST) 2. Royal Deli at Royal and St Ann (the chocolate cake and everything we ate was DELICIOUS). One night I had to leave the hotel and walk back for more cake. 3. Johnny Po Boy - A menu with a large selection of Po Boys and other items. Delicious! Don't forget the bread pudding. 4. Grayline's Katrina/City bus tour and the steam boat cruise. I was hesitant about the value of riding on the river, but it was a very nice and informative trip.The tour guides for both excursions were very personable and informative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Johnny Po Boys was a great value because it's menu had New Orleans cuisine as well as many traditional dishes such as spaghetti, meat and potatoes, all with vegetables. This was a nice option if one tires of too many days of the New Orleans cuisine. The price for most of the menu items was not much more than your fast food restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top