$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
482 reviews
Very convenient

Enjoyed the health club facilities and the view of the city. Our last day we went on the airboat... See full review

  • Iowa state parent
  • Dec 8, 2014
Service and Excellence

I stayed here last week with a friend. The location is ideal and walkable to everything. It's even... See full review

  • Vic Baltimore
  • Nov 30, 2014
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (482)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 482
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
May 5, 2008

not good

The Sheraton had erratic service. Some staff were amazingly helpful, others incredibly difficult and unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining in hotel, nearby and city of new orleans is great. shopping is convenient, transportation easily available

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
May 21, 2007

Great Location but that's all

If this is a Sheraton I'll eat my hat. Upon check in keys didn't work waited thirty five minutes for maintenance and had to have new keys cut three times **Room- adequate in size and EXTREMELY comfortable beds. However, A/C had two settings either too warm or downright freezing. **Room Service-Ordered coffee for 9 AM delivery all three days we were there it never came **Pool- Is a slab of cement with about 10 lounges. No towels, no vending machines,etc **Fitness Center- $10 charge for a few machines..don't bother. **Charged for Parking ($30 a nite) for each night we were there..we didn't have a car!!! **Concierge-needed maps Concierge was NEVER at desk only a sign saying they would be back later. No maps provided and none provided in the room. Ended up buying one at the convience store across the street. **We paid additional to stay on the Club Level. Great view, Club room served stale breakfast items and charged horrific prices for small drinks. **Check Out-Couldn't do express check out because of the charges on my bill that weren't mine. Spent almost an hour checking out but they did remove the charges after some arguing. *****The good news is if your looking for a hotel with a great location this is it..within walking distance to the French Quarter, Cafe DuMonde, Jackson Square and great shopping. Just don't expect much in the way of service or amenities.*******

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Even if your not a Casino person be sure and walk down to Harrah's. The place is huge and fun to walk through.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Turtlesq
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 14, 2008

Not bad - once they actually let you check in.

When we arrived at 1:30pm our room wasn't ready, so we checked our bags and went into the quarter for some lunch. We left our number and were told we'd get a call when the room was ready. Nearly three hours later, still no call. We returned to the hotel and were told they didn't have anything available, still, on the club floor. They did, I have no idea - that took another 20 minutes of complaining and arguing. The beds are comfortable, the location is great, and for the price it's difficult to complain. Don't expect any frills, though. Even the fitness center is extra. They charge over $5 for half an hour of internet access in the business center, as well as for connections in the rooms. The Starbucks, conveniently located off of the lobby, is inconveniently closed after 5pm. Oh - and beware extra charges on your final bill. Apparently the beverages and snacks in the mini-fridge tend to shift about in the night, causing them to accidentally activate the refrigerator sensor which automatically charges your account with convenience items you didn't consume. Spooky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Even in the relatively unscathed Quarter, it's best to look up restaurants and shops in advance and give them a call before you visit. Although a lot have reopened, many have moved.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CITO
Business
Salt Lake, UT
Oct 7, 2009

Not impressed

The rooms need major renovation. The carpets are what grossed me out. The carpets needed to be stretched, and cleaned. Replaced, really they were in very bad shape. The furniture is banged up a bit, Not terrible but for sure not what you would expect from a sheraton like this. Next time I'll stay at the Marriott across the street (unless of course that has bad reviews as well). Most of the staff was friendly and helpful but I did have to interact with at least two people who were rude and were not happy about their jobs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelMonkey
Business
Alton IL
Mar 22, 2010

What Service???

Called to advise rooms intenet cable was not supplied. After no response for an hour I went down to the front desk. Taken to another room with same issue. Finally someone did a search of other vacant rooms and came up with one. Bathroom plug didn't work and engineering never came by to fix. This will be my last visit to this property. Its popularity is in its location & as convention hotel. Luckily neither I nor my group will be returning to this poor excuse for a modern hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven, CT
Feb 22, 2010

Good location

Other than the location, which was great, I was not satisfied with this stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Corpsman
Business
CT
May 5, 2010

Pricey Mediocrity

Bed was comfortable and check-in was very pleasant but not much to praise thereafter . Room had old, stained, ripped carpeting. Waited 30' @ lobby bar to have anyone take my lunch order. No free WiFi despite expensive room cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the seafood before the oil slick hits!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 22, 2007

fitness center

I was surprised to learn that I was charged $10.00 every time I used the fitness center-I was never notified that this was an extra expense-therefore I waqs disappointed and surprised when I was given a bill for the use of the fitness center . Moreover when I asked to spend an additional night they could not give me the rate I had during my stay so I went to another hotel my last night in New orleans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boston Bouncer
Business
Boston, MA
May 29, 2010

Not up to Normal Sheraton standards

Not up to usual Sheraton standards... dirty stained rooms/carpets... mold in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pottsey
Business
Raleigh NC
Feb 23, 2012

Sheraton Canal Street New Orleans La

The overall space, etc. was good. We were there during Mardi Gras (on business) so there were special considerations. The hotel is older, needs some updating, and the rooms are noisy! You can hear people in the hallways, and rooms next door. You also can hear your neighbors taking showers, flushing toilets, and running water. The location is great if you don't mind city noise. We would not stay in this Sheraton again due to the noise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go during Mardi Gras, keep in mind that many restaurants close on Monday and Tuesday for the end of Mardi Gras.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top