$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 Canal Street, 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
452 reviews
Good value for the price

Clean rooms, friendly staff and nice amenities . We were on vacation and enjoyed sitting in the... See full review

  • Victoria
  • Aug 9, 2015
Convinent location

Very nice, clean. All service was great. Great location. Fast service. See full review

  • Adrienne J.
  • Aug 4, 2015

The Sheraton New Orleans Hotel in New Orleans features 1,110 fully renovated guest rooms, including 53 suites. Each of the rooms boasts the plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, and the hotel is equipped with more than 100,000 square feet of revitalized event and meeting space.

Guests are welcome to relax in the Sheraton Club Lounge, break a sweat with the Sheraton Fitness program by Core Performance or enjoy a meal at one of three dining outlets. The hotel is proud to be an environmentally friendly and green facility that boasts eco-friendly linens, shower heads, paint, incandescent lighting and motion sensor HVAC controls.

Location
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Highlights

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is nestled in the heart of the Big Easy and centrally located on the celebrated parade route. Within walking distance, guests can cross historic Canal Street to enter the French Quarter, which is home to famous nightclubs and restaurants, shopping, live music, historic sites and museums.

Also nearby are the Aquarium of Americas, Harrah's New Orleans Casino and the National D-Day Museum. Popular shopping destinations in the neighborhood include JAX Brewery, Riverwalk Marketplace and Canal Place.

The hotel is dog-friendly, and you can take advantage of room service if you would rather unwind on-site. On-site dining options include Roux Bistro, featuring New Orleans-inspired cuisine, and Pelican Bar.

Policies
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$139
4.2 / 5 59 reviews
★★★★
$80
4.0 / 5 365 reviews
★★★★
$89
4.4 / 5 19 reviews
★★★
$80
3.9 / 5 214 reviews
★★★★
$118
4.0 / 5 205 reviews
★★★★
$129
3.9 / 5 228 reviews
★★★★
$118
4.3 / 5 130 reviews
★★★★
$144
4.3 / 5 290 reviews
★★★★★
$159
4.4 / 5 299 reviews

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

Starbucks Coffee
Treat yourself to coffees from around the world, specialty espresso beverages, tasty baked goods and selected merchandise.
Roux Bistro
At Roux Bistro you won’t find a Creole menu and we don’t serve Cajun fare. It’s strictly New Orleans cuisine for breakfast and lunch. Out talented chefs guarantee a culinary experience second to none in a city famous for dining.
Pelican Bar
Cap off your night in grand style with a cocktail at the Pelican Bar. Named in honor of Louisiana’s state bird, this beautiful and enchanting bar is reminiscent of a French Quarter courtyard. Relax with your favorite libation or a bite from our menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 452
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
May 5, 2008

not good

The Sheraton had erratic service. Some staff were amazingly helpful, others incredibly difficult and unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining in hotel, nearby and city of new orleans is great. shopping is convenient, transportation easily available

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CITO
Business
Salt Lake, UT
Oct 7, 2009

Not impressed

The rooms need major renovation. The carpets are what grossed me out. The carpets needed to be stretched, and cleaned. Replaced, really they were in very bad shape. The furniture is banged up a bit, Not terrible but for sure not what you would expect from a sheraton like this. Next time I'll stay at the Marriott across the street (unless of course that has bad reviews as well). Most of the staff was friendly and helpful but I did have to interact with at least two people who were rude and were not happy about their jobs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelMonkey
Business
Alton IL
Mar 22, 2010

What Service???

Called to advise rooms intenet cable was not supplied. After no response for an hour I went down to the front desk. Taken to another room with same issue. Finally someone did a search of other vacant rooms and came up with one. Bathroom plug didn't work and engineering never came by to fix. This will be my last visit to this property. Its popularity is in its location & as convention hotel. Luckily neither I nor my group will be returning to this poor excuse for a modern hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven, CT
Feb 22, 2010

Good location

Other than the location, which was great, I was not satisfied with this stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Corpsman
Business
CT
May 5, 2010

Pricey Mediocrity

Bed was comfortable and check-in was very pleasant but not much to praise thereafter . Room had old, stained, ripped carpeting. Waited 30' @ lobby bar to have anyone take my lunch order. No free WiFi despite expensive room cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the seafood before the oil slick hits!

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Turtlesq
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 14, 2008

Not bad - once they actually let you check in.

When we arrived at 1:30pm our room wasn't ready, so we checked our bags and went into the quarter for some lunch. We left our number and were told we'd get a call when the room was ready. Nearly three hours later, still no call. We returned to the hotel and were told they didn't have anything available, still, on the club floor. They did, I have no idea - that took another 20 minutes of complaining and arguing. The beds are comfortable, the location is great, and for the price it's difficult to complain. Don't expect any frills, though. Even the fitness center is extra. They charge over $5 for half an hour of internet access in the business center, as well as for connections in the rooms. The Starbucks, conveniently located off of the lobby, is inconveniently closed after 5pm. Oh - and beware extra charges on your final bill. Apparently the beverages and snacks in the mini-fridge tend to shift about in the night, causing them to accidentally activate the refrigerator sensor which automatically charges your account with convenience items you didn't consume. Spooky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Even in the relatively unscathed Quarter, it's best to look up restaurants and shops in advance and give them a call before you visit. Although a lot have reopened, many have moved.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
justme48
Business
Lansing, Michigan
Sep 12, 2012

Not real clean, undergoing renovations, great staff

*dirty towel from prior guest was left hanging on bathroom door *the bathtub faucet dripped continuously *room service: my glass of ice water had globs of mustard on the outside of it - nothing on my tray contained mustard *My dinner tray that I put outside my door around 8:30 pm was still there at 7am the following morning *the hotel was undergoing rennovations - was not told this when I made the reservations. there was a jackhammer going beneath my room from at least 7pm to 9:30 pm that evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Mcgillicuddy
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 4, 2009

NOLA 11/1/09

Average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon St.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phinman
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 18, 2010

Price is right, you get what you pay for

Location was super convenient, right on Canal a couple of streets from Bourbon St! At check in had wonderful lady help me, very pleasant and upbeat. The check in was fast and efficient and the room was ok. Rooms are not luxurious but will serve the purpose. As soon as I flushed the toilet it decided to malfunction causing a huge flood in the bathroom, I called the front desk and a technician came over pretty quickly and repaired it. I did have to call the front desk a couple of times to get someone to pick up the phone though, but overall response time was reasonable. Had breakfast at the hotel everyday and it was good! Overall I think they did a good job, rooms were clean and lobby is always full of activities. They have fitness facilities on-site and having access to the club floor was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chartes Street has a lot of great places to eat!

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denmark
Dec 3, 2010

Smelly room

Kind and efficient staff. The room was smelly, obviously the cleaner has noticed this so when I arrived a 'air cleaner' apparatus was trying to remove the signs of smoking is this non-smoker room. Otherwise the room was nice, beautiful view over the river from the 24th floor. Internet worked ok even on the cheapest rate (6,95/day). Breakfast is also ok but not more that that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top