$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
741 reviews
Great place to stay

Clean, comfortable room. Close to everything we wanted to do. The tour desk right there in the... See full review

  • ebs210
  • Jul 17, 2014
Sheraton New Orleans Meets the Standard

Staff was welcoming; rooms newly renovated, good water pressure, and comfortable beds. No TV guide... See full review

  • ScottK
  • Jun 26, 2014
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9518 -90.0673
Area served
Avondale, Belle Chasse, Chalmette, Destrehan, Gonzales, Gretna, Hammond, Kenner, La Place, Harvey, Metairie, Mandeville, Marrero, Norco, Ponchatoula, Reserve, Slidell, Thibodaux
Nearby airports
Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 10.00, MI; Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (741)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
741 out of 741
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport, RI
Oct 14, 2009

Good, for New Orleans

Very clean and efficient, despite the fact that the UF vs. LSU game was going on and the whole downtown was a madhouse. Unfortunately the adjoining rooms were loaded with drunks (well, it is New Orleans near the French Quarter). Still, the walls could be better sound proofed I think. Despite that, the view was beautiful, the bathroom well-appointed, and the beds comfortable. I'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The streetcar runs right out front; for 1 dollar you can ride down through the Garden District for a great dinner at Superior Bar and Grill (local favorite with the Tulane/Loyola and young professionals crowd).

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Aug 24, 2010

Hotel Stay 8/19

The hotel was very nice and appealing upon first arriving. When we got to the check-in desk, we were greeted with a warm welcome, but thats where that ended. We asked if our room was ready and he said yes. We are locals and we asked if we could have a room that was on the upper levels so that we can have a view. The guy said, "Let me see what I can do." After this he found a room for us but insisted that the only way he could do it would be for a "tip." He was persistant with letting us know that he didnt charge us for the higher room but that we had to tip him. After this we let it go and were sent off to our room. When arriving to our room we put our bags down and noticed the temperature of the room. The stat on the wall was set to 75 so I adjusted it to 70 so that the room would cool down for us when we arrived back after dinner. Well the room never cooled down and me and my girlfriend we forced to sleep on top of the covers and the room was "sticky." We checked out and left in the morning and didnt think about coming back. Other than the "greedy" host and the warm conditions, everything else about the hotel was nice and I would consider staying here again if my accomodations could be a little better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment, restaurants, and casinos are all within walking distance.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mass traveler ex-pat
Western Massachusetts
Mar 17, 2010

OK not Great

The location on Canal St. makes it hard to drive out at certain times of day, and Canal is always slow. The public areas were run down, like the aging paper sign saying that a bank of elevator keys was out of order. Some staff were quite friendly, but some (including concierge) did not focus well on customer service. The room was very small, though the view was spectacular

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lil Rock
Hugo, OK
Feb 23, 2012

Great location for parades

Location was great for parade watching, dining and events. Staff was generally helpful and willing to provide information. Our room was right next to the elevator and it ran non-stop, we should have requested to move because we didn't get much rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay off Bourbon Street on Fat Tuesday, losts of other streets in the area to enjoy night life, eating and entertainment.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hialeah, Florida
Jul 1, 2010

Good

The people is nice, but the room service was not good. I have to ask for things to make coffee in the room. This happened a few times. Even though I had room service every day, it was not done appropriately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Something I didn't like was that the Gym did not belong to the hotel service. I belongs to the city so I had to pay for it.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans
Mar 24, 2010

GIRLFRIEND WEEKEND

REALLY NICE STAY CONSIDERING WE HAD TO MOVE TO ANOTHER ROOM BECAUSE OF "OVERFLOWING OF COMMODE" PLUS THE NEXT DAY THEY CHANGED OUR KEY BECAUSE THEY THOUGHT WE HAD CHECKED OUT. AFTER A LONG DAY WE WERE EXHAUSTED AND HAD TO WAIT TO CLEAR THAT PROBLEM UP. ALL IN ALL THOUGH - THEY WERE GREAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Oyster Bar

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jul 5, 2009

Okay, not the best four star hotel

The Sheraton NO Hotel is in a good location, but I thought the quality of the hotel would be better considering it is a four star hotel and a brand chain. The bathroom could do with some upgrades. Everything else was okay. The hotel was very noisy as it was the Essence Music Festival weekend and the cost of food and drinks are very expensive at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phinman
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 18, 2010

Price is right, you get what you pay for

Location was super convenient, right on Canal a couple of streets from Bourbon St! At check in had wonderful lady help me, very pleasant and upbeat. The check in was fast and efficient and the room was ok. Rooms are not luxurious but will serve the purpose. As soon as I flushed the toilet it decided to malfunction causing a huge flood in the bathroom, I called the front desk and a technician came over pretty quickly and repaired it. I did have to call the front desk a couple of times to get someone to pick up the phone though, but overall response time was reasonable. Had breakfast at the hotel everyday and it was good! Overall I think they did a good job, rooms were clean and lobby is always full of activities. They have fitness facilities on-site and having access to the club floor was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chartes Street has a lot of great places to eat!

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
orlando fl
Dec 23, 2010

sherton in new orleans

the hotel was ok. but they double charged me, i had already paid with [...]$700) then after we left the charged me again ($700) 2 weeks before christmas.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco ca
May 31, 2010

Was there for a wedding

Went to a friend's wedding at a nearby hotel. This hotel was a cheaper option that was blocks from all the wedding events. It was easy to get around by foot. Also liked that room service was 24 hours! My room was right by the elevator so it was noisy but it had such an amazing view of the French Quarter I decided not to switch. It was great for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Found this store that sold awesome voodoo dolls called Jamie Hayes gallery. I got a bunch of unique presents. It was like five blocks from the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top