$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 Canal Street, 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
552 out of 552
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Sep 22, 2009

Review - New Orleans Trip 9/12-9/14

Upon arrival, wasn't aware of $30/night parking fee to park in hotel garage. Also, staff personnel was rude and argumentative when I asked for a receipt for the $100 cash I gave for incidentials (lost regular debit card, only had temporary).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, RI
Oct 14, 2009

Good, for New Orleans

Very clean and efficient, despite the fact that the UF vs. LSU game was going on and the whole downtown was a madhouse. Unfortunately the adjoining rooms were loaded with drunks (well, it is New Orleans near the French Quarter). Still, the walls could be better sound proofed I think. Despite that, the view was beautiful, the bathroom well-appointed, and the beds comfortable. I'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The streetcar runs right out front; for 1 dollar you can ride down through the Garden District for a great dinner at Superior Bar and Grill (local favorite with the Tulane/Loyola and young professionals crowd).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Mcgillicuddy
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 4, 2009

NOLA 11/1/09

Average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phinman
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 18, 2010

Price is right, you get what you pay for

Location was super convenient, right on Canal a couple of streets from Bourbon St! At check in had wonderful lady help me, very pleasant and upbeat. The check in was fast and efficient and the room was ok. Rooms are not luxurious but will serve the purpose. As soon as I flushed the toilet it decided to malfunction causing a huge flood in the bathroom, I called the front desk and a technician came over pretty quickly and repaired it. I did have to call the front desk a couple of times to get someone to pick up the phone though, but overall response time was reasonable. Had breakfast at the hotel everyday and it was good! Overall I think they did a good job, rooms were clean and lobby is always full of activities. They have fitness facilities on-site and having access to the club floor was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chartes Street has a lot of great places to eat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, MS
Aug 23, 2009

OK Stay

The hotel is beautiful and in a great location close to everything. Upon entering we were informed of the costly $30/day parking fee. This is the most convenient since finding alternative parking was next impossible on a Friday night in this area. Beware, the hotel is not liable for any theft or damages to your vehicle. The service was mediocre to say the least. Not very helpful with directions or dining suggestions. We were given a room with two full beds instead of the deluxe king as requested on Orbitz. Instead of the riverview we got the city view. The view from the ceiling to floor window was incredible but that was the highlight of the stay. Activity in other rooms and hallways could easily be heard. We were disturbed throughout the stay by babies crying, doors slamming, and street traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Pack a light snack. Room service charges an extra 21% plus $4 delivery charge. Landry's is an nice, affordable dining option located on St.Peters St. three blocks away. The food was great with good service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Aug 24, 2010

Hotel Stay 8/19

The hotel was very nice and appealing upon first arriving. When we got to the check-in desk, we were greeted with a warm welcome, but thats where that ended. We asked if our room was ready and he said yes. We are locals and we asked if we could have a room that was on the upper levels so that we can have a view. The guy said, "Let me see what I can do." After this he found a room for us but insisted that the only way he could do it would be for a "tip." He was persistant with letting us know that he didnt charge us for the higher room but that we had to tip him. After this we let it go and were sent off to our room. When arriving to our room we put our bags down and noticed the temperature of the room. The stat on the wall was set to 75 so I adjusted it to 70 so that the room would cool down for us when we arrived back after dinner. Well the room never cooled down and me and my girlfriend we forced to sleep on top of the covers and the room was "sticky." We checked out and left in the morning and didnt think about coming back. Other than the "greedy" host and the warm conditions, everything else about the hotel was nice and I would consider staying here again if my accomodations could be a little better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment, restaurants, and casinos are all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
syj
Business
Madison, WI
Nov 29, 2010

Average, but what a LOCATION!

My boyfriend and I went to New Orleans for a weekend getaway. This hotel is pretty average in appearance, but what a LOCATION! We were right in the middle of everything without being in the middle of the noisy French Quarter. It was reliable like most chains, but forgettable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel has an awesome location. If you want to be close to everything, but want somewhere quiet to go to sleep at night, this is a great bet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denmark
Dec 3, 2010

Smelly room

Kind and efficient staff. The room was smelly, obviously the cleaner has noticed this so when I arrived a 'air cleaner' apparatus was trying to remove the signs of smoking is this non-smoker room. Otherwise the room was nice, beautiful view over the river from the 24th floor. Internet worked ok even on the cheapest rate (6,95/day). Breakfast is also ok but not more that that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Nov 30, 2010

Short trip

Very pricey for a room with no fan in bathroom or didn't replace the towels or washcloths. Personal were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PGA
Business
Boston,Mass
Nov 17, 2009

nothing fancy

great location (French Quarter across the street)Always good food and some fun entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brennan's for the Sunday breakfast(expensive but do it once).Also try several spots in one night doing small plates at each one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top