$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 Canal Street, 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
506 out of 506
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven, CT
Feb 22, 2010

Good location

Other than the location, which was great, I was not satisfied with this stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, MS
Dec 21, 2009

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Check in service was terrible. 3pm is the check in time we made it to the hotel at 3:32 and our room was not available until 5pm, and we didn't get the room we requested when booking the room. We specifically requested a room with a view of the French Quaters; however, we were on teh 9th floor with view of the boiler room. It was terrbile - just terrible. We have not intentions of staying there ever again. The Lobby area was very unclean the day we arrived. The video check out service was unavailable. We had to wait more than an hour to get our car from Valet upon our departure. People were wrapped around the building and all throughout the Lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Not far from Bourbon Street and the River Walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Corpsman
Business
CT
May 5, 2010

Pricey Mediocrity

Bed was comfortable and check-in was very pleasant but not much to praise thereafter . Room had old, stained, ripped carpeting. Waited 30' @ lobby bar to have anyone take my lunch order. No free WiFi despite expensive room cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the seafood before the oil slick hits!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Turtlesq
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 14, 2008

Not bad - once they actually let you check in.

When we arrived at 1:30pm our room wasn't ready, so we checked our bags and went into the quarter for some lunch. We left our number and were told we'd get a call when the room was ready. Nearly three hours later, still no call. We returned to the hotel and were told they didn't have anything available, still, on the club floor. They did, I have no idea - that took another 20 minutes of complaining and arguing. The beds are comfortable, the location is great, and for the price it's difficult to complain. Don't expect any frills, though. Even the fitness center is extra. They charge over $5 for half an hour of internet access in the business center, as well as for connections in the rooms. The Starbucks, conveniently located off of the lobby, is inconveniently closed after 5pm. Oh - and beware extra charges on your final bill. Apparently the beverages and snacks in the mini-fridge tend to shift about in the night, causing them to accidentally activate the refrigerator sensor which automatically charges your account with convenience items you didn't consume. Spooky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Even in the relatively unscathed Quarter, it's best to look up restaurants and shops in advance and give them a call before you visit. Although a lot have reopened, many have moved.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
May 29, 2011

Nothing special

I was in NOLA for 24 hours and had planned on staying in for my early flight. However, the in room movies weren't working and said it would take days to fix. The shower had rust in it, paint peeling, wallpaper with holes...not very impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can stay at the JW Marriott for a comparable price and have a better experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sonny and Chris
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jan 2, 2014

Cross country Trip

The room assigned to us was nothing like the vitual tour I viewed while booking this hotel . The room was located next to the kitchen area. Every morning at 5 A.M. we were awoken by the sound of carts filled with dishes,glasses, and food being moved accross the hall from elevator to the kitchen. Two drawers in the dresser had rotten fruit left from previous guests. I upgraded to a suite, which this room by my definition was not. The $42 a night parking fee was a bit much, this was not Manhattan NYC. Not impressed!!!! Will not stay there again, or book a suite with search engine sites. They are great for Chain and that type of hotel as I know what to expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dash rip rock
Business
Seattle, wa
Mar 10, 2014

Great mardi gras spot!

Fairly good experience, clean rooms great views! Down side was arrived tired after long day of traveling and we still had to wait 2 hours for the room to be cleaned.?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can't go wrong great food everywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 22, 2007

fitness center

I was surprised to learn that I was charged $10.00 every time I used the fitness center-I was never notified that this was an extra expense-therefore I waqs disappointed and surprised when I was given a bill for the use of the fitness center . Moreover when I asked to spend an additional night they could not give me the rate I had during my stay so I went to another hotel my last night in New orleans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C.
Jun 22, 2009

Great location

Great location, everything in walking distance, friendly staff and fair pricing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Boston Bouncer
Business
Boston, MA
May 29, 2010

Not up to Normal Sheraton standards

Not up to usual Sheraton standards... dirty stained rooms/carpets... mold in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top