$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 Canal Street, 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
506 out of 506
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Quin
Business
Monroe LA.
Sep 19, 2011

Too Much for not Enough!

Over priced. Had to pay $37/day to park at the Hotel! No microwave, no refrigerator, the A/C did not keep room cool even after calling and having service man look at it, very few receptacles. Def would not recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelMonkey
Business
Alton IL
Mar 22, 2010

What Service???

Called to advise rooms intenet cable was not supplied. After no response for an hour I went down to the front desk. Taken to another room with same issue. Finally someone did a search of other vacant rooms and came up with one. Bathroom plug didn't work and engineering never came by to fix. This will be my last visit to this property. Its popularity is in its location & as convention hotel. Luckily neither I nor my group will be returning to this poor excuse for a modern hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 5, 2011

ီNot up to Sheraton Standard

The door keys were not working properly. Informed front desk to address this problem. Hotel maintenance came and repair it but still the keys didn't work, had to reprogram it again at the front desk. The room was right in front of the elevator lobby at 9th floor, thus so much noise made by the guests using elevator up to early hours. This hotel in New Orleans didn't meet the normal Sheraton Hotel standards in other cities. Very disappointed of the room for the price paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Dec 7, 2008

My review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

The Sheraton New Orleans was comfortable and well-located but it took really long to check-in. The pother issue was that the room didn't smell good... It seemed to be a smoking-room and it was assured it wasn't. The beds were really comfortable, but I really believe they should do something about the smelt...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is perfectly located... Short Walk to Bourbon Street but far enough from the noise...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ken and Terrie
Business
Memphis, Tennessee
Nov 30, 2010

Unfortunate weekend of total chaos

First let me say that the hotel is located in a convenient area and the room was not bad. The staff was mostly very polite and helpful, but extremely disorganized. Unfortunately, the website gave no clue that we would be in the middle of a mainly college age bunch from the Bayou Classic football game. It was like being in a wild frat house. We were required to wear arm bands to enter the elevators, which could have been a good security thing if it wasn't so badly handled. We were not given arm bands with our room key and had to wade back in to the melee to try to get some before we could even get to our room. It took almost 2 hours to get in to park and nearly an hour to get out of the garage. If it had not been a non-refundable trip, we probably would have left after the first night. There was basically nothing the hotel could do for us since they were full to the brink. We have actually been at the Marriott across the street during the Sugar Bowl when the hotel was hosting a University team. It was much quieter and nothing like this experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Jul 18, 2011

Not impressed!!!

The hotel elevators were malfunctioning making the ride as long as 45+ mins. Our room smelled like smoke. The hotel has a great location and a nice lobby. Waited over 30 minutes for the valet to return our vehicle. Probably will not stay here again unless it's a great bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Nov 15, 2010

Some good, some bad

I'm a frequent visitor to NOLA and have stayed at this hotel twice. Its main strength is the location on Canal and Magazine. You can walk to the Quarter and points downtown easily. The rooms are decent and the valet parking (you pay additional) was efficient. The main problem was that they didn't clean our room after we made three separate phone calls during different parts of the day (including two in the afternoon) requesting housekeeping service. They eventually came up, but only after our fourth call and after they tried to convince us that we didn't need housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
opp,al
Aug 27, 2010

Lots of surprises

Hotel was in a great location. The shower only had scalding hot water and even after several calls was not fixed before we left. The parking policy online was misleading and turned out to be very expensive. Other than that, the place was very nice.The hotel was very clean. You didn't have any trouble hearing what was going on in the next room though. For the money I believe you can certainly do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The crazy lobster down at riverwalk was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
weezie
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Birthday Weekend, Tourist At Home

The location was extremely convenient; however, there were some renovations going on that prevented me from utilizing the fitness center they normally offer. While I applaud the growth, I wish the front desk would have communicated this to me upon arrival. When I inquired about the location of the gym, they did not volunteer the information then either. The staff was relatively friendly and accommodating, however, the bathroom was not as clean as it should have been therefore I wiped the entire area down before using the restroom. Overall the hotel needs updating. Finally, when I went to check out the one attraction the hotel bragged on - the in house Starbucks - it was randomly closed at noon on a Sunday without warning. The city and the location has so much to offer, these minor disappointments did not impact my trip; however, I would not return to this hotel given the variety of choices in downtown New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
May 23, 2011

unimpressed

After moving from the westin, I was bummed to find myself in the Sheraton in a room that was half as nice with twice the number of beds I needed. [...].The room was small, and the shower was crummy as well. The Sheraton on canal st paled in comparison to the westin which was just up the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Cochon. It was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top