$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
468 reviews
Wonderful Stay and pleasing views

Great location, stayed on the 44th floor overlooking the river. Right next to all public... See full review

  • Vacationer 8282012
  • Sep 6, 2014
A great deal and a comfortable stay

This is a great hotel - friendly staff and modern. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the... See full review

  • Mplstraveller
  • Sep 3, 2014
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9518 -90.0673
Area served
Avondale, Belle Chasse, Chalmette, Destrehan, Gonzales, Gretna, Hammond, Kenner, La Place, Harvey, Metairie, Mandeville, Marrero, Norco, Ponchatoula, Reserve, Slidell, Thibodaux
Nearby airports
Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 10.00, MI; Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (468)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
468 out of 468
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TwentySomething Traveler
New York, NY
Jul 8, 2012

Not Happy

Our room was not cleaned for three days, despite our numerous complaints. Hotel was old and appeared run down. water pressure was low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Dec 7, 2008

My review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

The Sheraton New Orleans was comfortable and well-located but it took really long to check-in. The pother issue was that the room didn't smell good... It seemed to be a smoking-room and it was assured it wasn't. The beds were really comfortable, but I really believe they should do something about the smelt...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is perfectly located... Short Walk to Bourbon Street but far enough from the noise...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
nyc
May 23, 2011

unimpressed

After moving from the westin, I was bummed to find myself in the Sheraton in a room that was half as nice with twice the number of beds I needed. [...].The room was small, and the shower was crummy as well. The Sheraton on canal st paled in comparison to the westin which was just up the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Cochon. It was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BamaGrad
Madison, Al
Jun 23, 2013

Not what I expected

I was not impressed. The staff was great but the room was not. One of our beds was wet with some kind of liquid. The room location made for a sleepless night (the room was located next to the elevators). The water in the shower leaked and added to the annoying evening sounds. We were credited for our parking fee but I would have preferred a good nights rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Harrah's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kakes
Newville, PA 17241, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Mardi Gras

I found the hotel very disappointing, the bathroom had no exhaust fan, so after showering had to open the bathroom door to let out steam buildup. Everything else was so-so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Turtlesq
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 14, 2008

Not bad - once they actually let you check in.

When we arrived at 1:30pm our room wasn't ready, so we checked our bags and went into the quarter for some lunch. We left our number and were told we'd get a call when the room was ready. Nearly three hours later, still no call. We returned to the hotel and were told they didn't have anything available, still, on the club floor. They did, I have no idea - that took another 20 minutes of complaining and arguing. The beds are comfortable, the location is great, and for the price it's difficult to complain. Don't expect any frills, though. Even the fitness center is extra. They charge over $5 for half an hour of internet access in the business center, as well as for connections in the rooms. The Starbucks, conveniently located off of the lobby, is inconveniently closed after 5pm. Oh - and beware extra charges on your final bill. Apparently the beverages and snacks in the mini-fridge tend to shift about in the night, causing them to accidentally activate the refrigerator sensor which automatically charges your account with convenience items you didn't consume. Spooky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Even in the relatively unscathed Quarter, it's best to look up restaurants and shops in advance and give them a call before you visit. Although a lot have reopened, many have moved.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelMonkey
Business
Alton IL
Mar 22, 2010

What Service???

Called to advise rooms intenet cable was not supplied. After no response for an hour I went down to the front desk. Taken to another room with same issue. Finally someone did a search of other vacant rooms and came up with one. Bathroom plug didn't work and engineering never came by to fix. This will be my last visit to this property. Its popularity is in its location & as convention hotel. Luckily neither I nor my group will be returning to this poor excuse for a modern hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Quin
Monroe LA.
Sep 19, 2011

Too Much for not Enough!

Over priced. Had to pay $37/day to park at the Hotel! No microwave, no refrigerator, the A/C did not keep room cool even after calling and having service man look at it, very few receptacles. Def would not recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Listy
Gulfport,Ms
Aug 9, 2009

The Downfall of the Sheraton on Canal St

We traveled to New Orleans and decided to stay at the Sheraton on Canal Street. We stayed for one night. The hotel and room were extrememly nice. Although, one bad experience ruined our stay. Before going out we walked out to their main valet and asked the bell man for a taxi. He asked where we were going and implied that he knew the place and the area. He informed us that the area was on a certain street and that it was ok for tourists to visit the area. The bell man told the taxi driver the address and the place. The taxi dropped us off but the place was no where to be found, but the taxi had already driven off before we could stop him. The street was not well lit and uncomfortable for us as tourists. We walked to try and find the venue, but ended up having to call the Sheraton for more directions. We spoke with a guest services representative who informed us that we were on the wrong street and that we would have to walk back 12 blocks to another street that was across from the Sheraton. We walked to the street the service rep gave us and we were then told that the venue was no longer open. It had been almost an 1 1/2 before we found this out. Even after speaking to several guest services reps on the phone no one knew this important information about entertainment in the city where they work. For the Sheraton to be a 4 star hotel their employees do not show it. Upon checkout the next morning we told a front desk employee and a concierge employee about our experience and neither one took initiative to do anything about it. They just smiled and apologized. Well, sometimes an apology just isn't enough. While telling the concierge about our night, he informed us that the venue was open but he would not send us there anyways because the area was not for tourists. We had to inform him that it was no longer open. Can you believe that? The concierge did not know! Wow what a 4 star hotel! We felt like no one cared enough to make our stay relaxing and memorable in a good way. Instead, it will be a memorable disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 5, 2011

ီNot up to Sheraton Standard

The door keys were not working properly. Informed front desk to address this problem. Hotel maintenance came and repair it but still the keys didn't work, had to reprogram it again at the front desk. The room was right in front of the elevator lobby at 9th floor, thus so much noise made by the guests using elevator up to early hours. This hotel in New Orleans didn't meet the normal Sheraton Hotel standards in other cities. Very disappointed of the room for the price paid for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search