$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
482 reviews
Very convenient

Enjoyed the health club facilities and the view of the city. Our last day we went on the airboat... See full review

  • Iowa state parent
  • Dec 8, 2014
Service and Excellence

I stayed here last week with a friend. The location is ideal and walkable to everything. It's even... See full review

  • Vic Baltimore
  • Nov 30, 2014
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (482)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
482 out of 482
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 14, 2009

Great location for the price

Great hotel for the price. Room was very nice for a quick getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
May 24, 2009

Great Hotel

Great hotel, great beds, clean, great location, wishes valet has more workers; other than that i will be staying here everytime i come to new orleans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The World
May 27, 2009

Great Hotel compared to the rest

Very nice hotel with a nice view. Good location, very close to french quarter. Staff were nice. After doing a bit of research this was the cheapest we could find without staying at a dive. New Orleans hotels aren't cheap, but its a great city to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acme Seafood House is amazing! Get the char grilled oysters, they are unbelievable. We had them for lunch and dinner on the same day, also their Po-Boy Sandwiches are great. Its just off Bourbon st, short walk from the hotel. Prices are pretty reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Washington, MD
Jul 19, 2009

Great location for the price

Our visit to the New Oleans was for a sad occasion. We were there for funeral. While our stay at the Hotel was great. The location is accessible to the casino, french quarter, water walk, and other sites and activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

River Walk, Casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxford, MS
Aug 10, 2009

Convenient location at a good price.

This was my second time to stay at the Sheraton on Canal. It is a busy hotel in a good location. I have stayed at numerous other hotels in New Orleans and the Sheraton and the Royal Sonesta are my two favorites. I requested two double beds but got one king. The hotel provided a cot for us with no extra fee and it was deliverd to the room within 15 minutes of us checking in. The guest services called both rooms to ensure the cots had been delivered and there was nothing else we needed. The concierge service was very good. The bar in the lobby is nice. It is great to have a Starbucks on site. The rooms are clean and modern. The beds are comfortable. The views are great out of the floor to ceiling windows. Check in and out was easy and quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 20, 2009

New Orleans, Union Meeting

warm and freindly atmosphere, close to casino, lots of good places to eat nearby, walking distance to everything that was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dereksung
Business
New York
Oct 4, 2009

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel. Double room.

We arrived late for check in (approximately midnight). [...]we had reserved a king room with a riverview. Unfortunately, they had run out, and the only thing they could offer was a double room. Not the end of the world, but still irritating that they didn't suggest an upgrade, but a downgrade instead. The room itself was fine, although the double beds were a bit small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sheraton New Orleans is right on the edge of the French Quarter. Don't waste your time on Bourbon Street, Royal, Chartres, and the perpendicular alleys are where it's at. Found a phenomenal alleyway on our evening walk where the Pelican Bar is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ's Dad
Business
Upstate NY
Nov 16, 2009

Good Stay

Overall very good location, near Burbon St. and waterfront. Good service with good price compare to Hilton down the block.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try not to take the shuttle. It turns out it's only $18 flat rate to go to airport. My shuttle came and picked me up at 4AM for my 7AM flight. I had no bag to check and I had a boarding pass already. I ended up sitting in the airport for another two and half hours. Next time, I'll take a cab one hour before I take off and catch more Z's...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teddy the big stuffer
Business
Queens, New York
Dec 31, 2009

The best ever wedding anniversary, my wi

The reception desk was very courteous and prompt to each and every question I had. The housekeeping staff was very quick and detailed in stocking our room every day. If my wife and I ever visit New Orleans again we will definitely stay at The Sheraton, only 5 to 10 floors higher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
Feb 1, 2010

Great Location for good price!

I have stayed at numerous Starwood properties and was very happy with the Sheraton New Orleans. It is on par with many of the other Sheraton locations nationwide and by far one of the best locations. The staff was very helpful, courteous and professional. My room was nicely appointed (slightly better than a Marriott Courtyard)but could use a facelift (specifically the bathrooms). That said, my room was very clean, had highspeed internet, and in room Starbucks Coffee (a +). Everything is walking distance, with great dining and lots to see and do. Also, my room rate was exceptional [...] There are plenty of great places to stay off, but this was by far the best location for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of great options in the quarter, but try some of the local haunts outside the quarter like Cochon off of Tschoupitoulas. Great Cajun / Southern food and extensive Bourbon list!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top