Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
740 reviews
Great place to stay

Clean, comfortable room. Close to everything we wanted to do. The tour desk right there in the... See full review

  • ebs210
  • Jul 17, 2014
Sheraton New Orleans Meets the Standard

Staff was welcoming; rooms newly renovated, good water pressure, and comfortable beds. No TV guide... See full review

  • ScottK
  • Jun 26, 2014
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Hotel Map

29.9518 -90.0673
Area served
Avondale, Belle Chasse, Chalmette, Destrehan, Gonzales, Gretna, Hammond, Kenner, La Place, Harvey, Metairie, Mandeville, Marrero, Norco, Ponchatoula, Reserve, Slidell, Thibodaux
Nearby airports
Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 10.00, MI; Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (740)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
740 out of 740
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MB on 25th
Milwaukee Area
Apr 10, 2009

Get there early!

We were completely dissappointed with the Sheraton. Prior to leaving our home, I called the Sheraton to check on and ensure our room and reservation would be ready, and that we would be a late arrival that day. They assured me that our room was set. When we arrived, they told us that pre-paid rooms are NOT guarrenteed, and that we would have to settle for a lesser room until our room type opened up. That happened the next day. All others that were checking in (which was around 9pm) were dealing with the same thing. Also after we settled for a lesser room, we went to the Pelican Bar for a quick drink and a little advise. We asked the bartender where we should eat at, she told us it was too late and eating at the hotel was our best bet. She seemed nice and spent time talking to us. Not ever being in New Orleans before we concurred. After sitting at the table for a 1/2 hour, I had to ask the bartender where a waitress was, she had to force a waitress in our direction. Our food showed up 20 mins later, and was cold. We left for Bourbon Street after, and found all types of highly rated restaurants still open. Oh and by the way, enjoy the $54.00 breakfast, which included 2 coffees, 2 OJs, 2 ham and cheese omlets, and cold fried potatoes. We were really dissappointed in a otherwise wonderful trip. Sheratons are normally better than this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants in every direction, don't eat at the Sheraton.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mo city mover
Missouri city tx
Nov 4, 2013

poor service

room was not cleaned floors were dirty did not leave enough water or towels or coffee after the first day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
upset dude
new orleans
Oct 12, 2012

dont go there at this time

did i have a 4 star experience hotel,not at all!! construction started at 9am sharp,the sounds of hammering and jack hammers and electric saws thruout the building was not a nice way to wake up every morning after a night out in NEW ORLEANS!!! room service was a half an hour late and my wife was sick and couldn't eat the soup it tasted that bad! and to top it all off, i had to kill a cockroach in the bathroom!! so you tell me if i had a 4 star exceriece??!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Superman07
Natchez, Ms
Jun 30, 2014

Not Happy!!

Hotel was nice in looks alone. Our room did not get cleaned, we had to ask for more towels. Some of the staff was not that friendly. and we were lied to about the cost of parking. The parking was outrageous! We will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Apr 27, 2010

Worst Stay EVER!

This was my fisrt stay at the Sheraton in New Orleans. I lived in the area in past and travel back to the area quite frequently. First night, at 3 am water was began pouring from the ceiling in the bathroom. I called the front desk and they assured me that someone would be up immediately. Two hours later the water had stopped, but no one ever came. We were up all night and no one ever came or called. This is totally unacceptable. The next morning, no one knew what to tell me. Did I need to move rooms? Don't know. Is the problem solved? Don't know. The next night the hot water handle fell off the faucet in the bathroom. Called, again no response. [...] Anyway, this is not the place to stay in New Orleans. I moved hotels and was extremely pleased with the Bienville House. I recommend not picking this Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Apr 27, 2010

Worst Stay EVER!

This was my fisrt stay at the Sheraton in New Orleans. I lived in the area in past and travel back to the area quite frequently. First night, at 3 am water was began pouring from the ceiling in the bathroom. I called the front desk and they assured me that someone would be up immediately. Two hours later the water had stopped, but no one ever came. We were up all night and no one ever came or called. This is totally unacceptable. The next morning, no one knew what to tell me. Did I need to move rooms? Don't know. Is the problem solved? Don't know. The next night the hot water handle fell off the faucet in the bathroom. Called, again no response. [...] Anyway, this is not the place to stay in New Orleans. I moved hotels and was extremely pleased with the Bienville House. I recommend not picking this Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
May 5, 2008

not good

The Sheraton had erratic service. Some staff were amazingly helpful, others incredibly difficult and unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining in hotel, nearby and city of new orleans is great. shopping is convenient, transportation easily available

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MB on 25th
Milwaukee Area
Apr 10, 2009

Get there early!

We were completely dissappointed with the Sheraton. Prior to leaving our home, I called the Sheraton to check on and ensure our room and reservation would be ready, and that we would be a late arrival that day. They assured me that our room was set. When we arrived, they told us that pre-paid rooms are NOT guarrenteed, and that we would have to settle for a lesser room until our room type opened up. That happened the next day. All others that were checking in (which was around 9pm) were dealing with the same thing. Also after we settled for a lesser room, we went to the Pelican Bar for a quick drink and a little advise. We asked the bartender where we should eat at, she told us it was too late and eating at the hotel was our best bet. She seemed nice and spent time talking to us. Not ever being in New Orleans before we concurred. After sitting at the table for a 1/2 hour, I had to ask the bartender where a waitress was, she had to force a waitress in our direction. Our food showed up 20 mins later, and was cold. We left for Bourbon Street after, and found all types of highly rated restaurants still open. Oh and by the way, enjoy the $54.00 breakfast, which included 2 coffees, 2 OJs, 2 ham and cheese omlets, and cold fried potatoes. We were really dissappointed in a otherwise wonderful trip. Sheratons are normally better than this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants in every direction, don't eat at the Sheraton.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
urfin
Columbus, OH
Apr 29, 2013

Good Location, overpriced for its services

Pro: great lobby with fountain, food/drink services, and excellent musician on weekend nights. Cons: greediness - they charge you for things that are free in other hotels: no free breakfast, no free wifi, no microwave or refrigerator. Rooms are tiny, with a lot of unnecessary furniture. Everything is additonal charge. Conclusion: OK for business trip stay. Not good for family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2009

Overpriced, Bad Service, Bad Rooms

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton on Canal during Jazz Fest 2009. I had done a fair amount of research on hotels in the French Quarter. First our issues We arrived and when I walked to the reception, the 4 people looked at me like I was from another planet, until I asked "is this where you check in?" Following that, the desk clerk was very polite. It was all going well, until we arrived at the handicapped accessible room by the elevator. The room smelled of smoke, and the bathroom looked awful. We returned to the desk (now it is nearly 10:30pm) where one clerk asked my wife if she had read "A Lesson Before Dying" and would she like to write his book report. This should give you some idea about the level of competence. The clerk helping us did not seem to understand that giving us a Club Level Parlor room with no bed, just a sleeper sofa, was a ridiculous idea. Instead of unleashing my discontent, I suggested he get a manager while I was out to a late dinner. After returning, the manager offered us another room and some modest compensation. She was quite pleasant and helpful. Our experience in the new room was slightly better, but my wife did ask me to get some Lysol prior to taking a shower. The walls are paper thin, as we heard everyone coming home from their night out. We both enjoy a good party, but were hoping to go to sleep before 5am. I stay in a lot of hotels, and this is below average. NOT Recommended, Good Location though!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top