$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 Canal Street, 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
496 reviews
New Orleans Saints Trip

Great hotel, excellent central location, friendly staff, very nice in-hotel fitness center with... See full review

  • Mike B
  • Mar 2, 2015
Incredible First Time Visit to New Orleans!

This was absolutely the best hotel to stay! It was so convenient to restaurants, casinos and... See full review

  • Elida R.
  • Feb 20, 2015
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

Starbucks Coffee
Treat yourself to coffees from around the world, specialty espresso beverages, tasty baked goods and selected merchandise.
Roux Bistro
At Roux Bistro you won’t find a Creole menu and we don’t serve Cajun fare. It’s strictly New Orleans cuisine for breakfast and lunch. Out talented chefs guarantee a culinary experience second to none in a city famous for dining.
Pelican Bar
Cap off your night in grand style with a cocktail at the Pelican Bar. Named in honor of Louisiana’s state bird, this beautiful and enchanting bar is reminiscent of a French Quarter courtyard. Relax with your favorite libation or a bite from our menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
496 out of 496
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Apr 30, 2007

Wonderful at the S

I enjoyed everything at the hotel. The room was comfortable and the view was the best. I could see the hole uptown area. The bar area was great. Everyone was friendly. I can't wait to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was in the hotel. There was no need to leave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jan 21, 2008

Great service and perfect location

We went to New Orleans for the weekend and were very pleased with the service at this hotel. Our room had a great view over the river and we were given complimentary continental breakfasts and evening hors d'ouevres.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the amenities of the French quarter within a couple of blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 3, 2008

Fab Location for Mardi Gras & French Quarter

The Sheraton New Orleans is in a wonderful location -- on Canal Street, near the French Quarter but far enough away for a good night's sleep(just a few blocks). The club level rooms are great -- nice amenities and a club lounge that serves a good breakfast and a filling evening reception. The view on the 42nd floor is terrific and the staff were very helpful with directions and advice. During Mardi Gras the hotel controls access to the hotel through the use of wrist bands. It was great to be able to walk out the hotel door and view parades on Canal Street directly in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Dec 9, 2007

Excellent Location, Great Value

The Sheraton New Orleans was an excellent choice for a weekend escapade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

night life and dinning just a short walk away. Bourbon St. and the whole French Quarter a short walk away. Take it easy with Pat O'brien's Hurricanes. The really blow u away. Ask my girlfriend, she's still dizzy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Jun 30, 2007

i left my heart in nola

my stay at he hotel was great. I enjoyed every moment that i was there. the location could not have been better. New Orleans is my home which i have not seen for 26 years. the whole trip was worth every penny. The room was everything i could have hoped for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 21, 2007

Great Business amenities

I had to rewrite and recopy a few pages in a very important presenation document. I used the business center. The two women in that center were very knowledgeable about the services I needed, assisted me in the copy and rebinding of the presentation and were cheerful doing it. Their help realy made the difference in my business meeting and my trip! Thank you Sheraton! p.s. they were even able to print some business cards for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Palace Cafe is an excellent dinner choice, great food and a fantastic atmosphere and is just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Apr 19, 2008

Family Friendly

The Hotel was very nice. We had alot of room to move around.It had a desk, table and 2 chairs. It was very comfortable. It was within walking distance to anywhere you wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, Casino, Nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
City Slickers
Business
Forest Hills, New York
May 11, 2009

Great First-Class Hotel

The Sheraton New Orleans is a first-class act from check-in to check-out. The hotel is also very conveniently located right in the heart of the French Quarter in walking distance to all types of restaurants. We found the service in the hotel to be excellent. The air conditioning was not working to its fullest capacity one evening and a simple call to maintenance resulted in someone coming up to the room within 5 minutes to fix the problem. Shortly thereafter, we received a follow-up phone call from the main desk to inquire whether we were satisfied with the service. Complimentary Continental breakfasts and complimentary late afternoon supperettes were wonderful in a dining room providing fabulous city views. Rooms are pretty, very clean, and well maintained, although not enough comfortable chairs to lounge in. The only problem we encountered was being charged for the mini bar which we never used. However, the charges were immediately removed when we went to the front desk to explain. We would highly recommend the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to anyone traveling to this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
May 24, 2009

Fantasic location and great price for rm

I loved that it's so close to the french quarter and walking distance from the convention center. I went for a conference for my job but still had time to enjoy the sites. It was very helpful to have breakfast and odervs served daily. I enjoyed this trip and the hotel and I'd like to stay with this hotel again on my next trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

French Quarter is just three blocks from this hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saratoga Springs, NY
May 26, 2009

Best location and service ever!!

My trip was purely a relaxation mini vacation. I went site seeing and gambling. The hotel location was perfect and the staff were the most friendly and helpful that I have ever encountered anywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top