$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 Canal Street, 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
496 reviews
New Orleans Saints Trip

Great hotel, excellent central location, friendly staff, very nice in-hotel fitness center with... See full review

  • Mike B
  • Mar 2, 2015
Incredible First Time Visit to New Orleans!

This was absolutely the best hotel to stay! It was so convenient to restaurants, casinos and... See full review

  • Elida R.
  • Feb 20, 2015
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

Starbucks Coffee
Treat yourself to coffees from around the world, specialty espresso beverages, tasty baked goods and selected merchandise.
Roux Bistro
At Roux Bistro you won’t find a Creole menu and we don’t serve Cajun fare. It’s strictly New Orleans cuisine for breakfast and lunch. Out talented chefs guarantee a culinary experience second to none in a city famous for dining.
Pelican Bar
Cap off your night in grand style with a cocktail at the Pelican Bar. Named in honor of Louisiana’s state bird, this beautiful and enchanting bar is reminiscent of a French Quarter courtyard. Relax with your favorite libation or a bite from our menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 496
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drews1
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Nice visit

All was as expected. Would return and stay again. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drews1
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

Nice visit

All was as expected. Would return and stay again. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hedi hobby farmer
Business
west lafayette, in
Aug 5, 2014

wonderful vacation spot

Very helpful staff, beautiful accomodations, very relaxed atmosphere, excellent food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Orleans Newb
Business
Mansfield, Texas
Jun 3, 2014

Looks good on paper!

I really liked that the hotel was right in the middle of everything and easily accessible by walking. I also liked being on the 31st floor. What I did not like is that my room was right next to the elevator and the whole trip that is all I heard...the elevators travelling up and down 35+ floors opening and closing doors. I requested a complimentary movie for my inconvenience with the elevator noise and received a credit to my room...however at check out there was no mention of a room credit and they initially were set to charge my card, but we did handle the situation resulting in a zero balance. I also woke up the morning of my departure to workers power washing the side of the building...right outside of my window. My comforter also had blood and urine (I think it was urine...it was yellow) stains though the pillows and mattress were comfortable. The final event of my trip was one night when another guest came into the hotel so intoxicated he fell in the entrance and almost passed out...his friends had to literally carry him upstairs...my problem was the fact that the elevator checker/attendant asked me to show her my room key (for security purposes I'm assuming) however she failed to ask the intoxicated guests for theirs I'm sure they had more probable cause than I did...everyone should be checked not just the guests that go by when the attendant happens to be sitting at her booth and not across the hotel talking to another employee..im just saying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must try Huck Finn's I ate there twice during my stay...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Apa ini
Business
Okinawa, Japan
Apr 21, 2014

Close to everything

The hotel is in a great spot that is walking distance to just about everywhere you might want to be. The only gripes I have is they charge you for internet access and the shower is close to something you'd find at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MB OKC
Business
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Aug 29, 2013

Excellent New Orleans Stay

I just returned from New Orleans staying at the Sheraton New Orleans. I had a great time. My room was on the 37th floor at the end of the elevator lobby. I had some concerns about noise from elevators, at first, but they quickly dissipated as I could hear nothing. The room was well appointed with a great view of the French Quarter and Lake Pontchartrain in the far distance. If there is anything to grip about it would be the shower and the weak water pressure and unpredictable temperature control. That aside, all the hotel employees were nice and accommodating. One late night, I ordered room service and it was prompt and the food was correct temperature. The room was cleaned everyday when I got back from seeing the sights. Comfortable bed. I truly enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rjduppy
Business
Laguna Woods, Californai
Oct 9, 2012

Sheraton Canal Street New Orleans

This hotel has very gracious and professional staff. It proved, you can go home again. ( I was born in that city but live in California.) The view from my room was beautiful. The beds were extremely comfortable. The location was perfect for the purposes of this visit. I was walking distance from two favorite restaurants and places important for this visit were easily assessable. I'd, happily, use the hotel again. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Directly across the street: The Palace Cafe. Outstanding!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stogiemann
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Don't forget the cost of parking

To park is $36 a night and you don't want to leave your car on the streets of New Orleans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeeJay10
Business
New York
Jan 5, 2012

Great stay

Highly recommend. Walking distance to French Quarter, Superdome, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bL38
Business
MARIETTA, GA
Jan 2, 2012

New Orleans Trip

Very nice hotel. Walking distance to French Quarter and River Front Walk. Valet Parking is $37 day which they don`t advertise. You will find that out the following day..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top