$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
739 reviews
Sheraton New Orleans Meets the Standard

Staff was welcoming; rooms newly renovated, good water pressure, and comfortable beds. No TV guide... See full review

  • ScottK
  • Jun 26, 2014
Excellent Business Trip Stay

The hotel was clean and most of the staff was very friendly. I stayed in a king size room and... See full review

  • Marissa1012
  • Jun 9, 2014
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9518 -90.0673
Area served
Avondale, Belle Chasse, Chalmette, Destrehan, Gonzales, Gretna, Hammond, Kenner, La Place, Harvey, Metairie, Mandeville, Marrero, Norco, Ponchatoula, Reserve, Slidell, Thibodaux
Nearby airports
Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 10.00, MI; Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (739)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 739
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZAP77
NJ
Dec 18, 2012

AWESOME STAY!!

GREAT CENTRAL LOCATION, UPSCALE HOTEL! ONLY ISSUE WAS OUR ROOM WASNT CLEANED ONE DAY AND WE WERE GONE FROM 7 AM TO 7PM! ALSO IF YOU RE PAYING EXTRA FOR THE CLUB ROOM, RECONSIDER, THE AMENITIES U PAY EXTRA FOR ARE NOT REALLY WITH IT.. BUT PERFECT LOCATION! WALKING DISTANCE TO EVERYTHING!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MR. B'S BISTRO

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
weezie
New Orleans, LA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Birthday Weekend, Tourist At Home

The location was extremely convenient; however, there were some renovations going on that prevented me from utilizing the fitness center they normally offer. While I applaud the growth, I wish the front desk would have communicated this to me upon arrival. When I inquired about the location of the gym, they did not volunteer the information then either. The staff was relatively friendly and accommodating, however, the bathroom was not as clean as it should have been therefore I wiped the entire area down before using the restroom. Overall the hotel needs updating. Finally, when I went to check out the one attraction the hotel bragged on - the in house Starbucks - it was randomly closed at noon on a Sunday without warning. The city and the location has so much to offer, these minor disappointments did not impact my trip; however, I would not return to this hotel given the variety of choices in downtown New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
weezie
New Orleans, LA, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Birthday Weekend, Tourist At Home

The location was extremely convenient; however, there were some renovations going on that prevented me from utilizing the fitness center they normally offer. While I applaud the growth, I wish the front desk would have communicated this to me upon arrival. When I inquired about the location of the gym, they did not volunteer the information then either. The staff was relatively friendly and accommodating, however, the bathroom was not as clean as it should have been therefore I wiped the entire area down before using the restroom. Overall the hotel needs updating. Finally, when I went to check out the one attraction the hotel bragged on - the in house Starbucks - it was randomly closed at noon on a Sunday without warning. The city and the location has so much to offer, these minor disappointments did not impact my trip; however, I would not return to this hotel given the variety of choices in downtown New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 25, 2011

Good location, friendly

Had a great stay just 1 night before a cruise. Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms. Ate at a great local place just SW of hotel called "Mothers" - highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's, 401 Poydras Street

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 25, 2011

Good location, friendly

Had a great stay just 1 night before a cruise. Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms. Ate at a great local place just SW of hotel called "Mothers" - highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's, 401 Poydras Street

Back to menu Return to top