$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 Canal Street, 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
446 reviews
GREAT HOTEL GREAT LOCATION

Great hotel just walking distance from bourbon street and everything else and away from all the... See full review

  • jopee22
  • Jul 17, 2015
Very comfortable

I loved the beds, they were like sleeping on clouds! See full review

  • KEKE G.
  • Apr 13, 2015

The Sheraton New Orleans Hotel in New Orleans features 1,110 fully renovated guest rooms, including 53 suites. Each of the rooms boasts the plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, and the hotel is equipped with more than 100,000 square feet of revitalized event and meeting space.

Guests are welcome to relax in the Sheraton Club Lounge, break a sweat with the Sheraton Fitness program by Core Performance or enjoy a meal at one of three dining outlets. The hotel is proud to be an environmentally friendly and green facility that boasts eco-friendly linens, shower heads, paint, incandescent lighting and motion sensor HVAC controls.

Location
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Highlights

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is nestled in the heart of the Big Easy and centrally located on the celebrated parade route. Within walking distance, guests can cross historic Canal Street to enter the French Quarter, which is home to famous nightclubs and restaurants, shopping, live music, historic sites and museums.

Also nearby are the Aquarium of Americas, Harrah's New Orleans Casino and the National D-Day Museum. Popular shopping destinations in the neighborhood include JAX Brewery, Riverwalk Marketplace and Canal Place.

The hotel is dog-friendly, and you can take advantage of room service if you would rather unwind on-site. On-site dining options include Roux Bistro, featuring New Orleans-inspired cuisine, and Pelican Bar.

Policies
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Sitting area
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

Pelican Bar
Cap off your night in grand style with a cocktail at the Pelican Bar. Named in honor of Louisiana’s state bird, this beautiful and enchanting bar is reminiscent of a French Quarter courtyard. Relax with your favorite libation or a bite from our menu.
Roux Bistro
At Roux Bistro you won’t find a Creole menu and we don’t serve Cajun fare. It’s strictly New Orleans cuisine for breakfast and lunch. Out talented chefs guarantee a culinary experience second to none in a city famous for dining.
Starbucks Coffee
Treat yourself to coffees from around the world, specialty espresso beverages, tasty baked goods and selected merchandise.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
446 out of 446
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
We are a hoot
Business
The Woodlands, TX
Jan 6, 2014

Great Christmas trip

Staff was always helpful, the hotel was clean and well maintained. The location was perfect right across the French Quarter. They gave us a room with an amazing view. We really enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for dinner to the Chophouse Club on Magazine Street. It is a great place to eat.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYElizabeth
Business
New York
Feb 19, 2014

Quick and Easy trip

The hotel was awesome. Check in was a breeze, restaurant/bar on site made it very easy to grab a quick snack before heading out to party. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had a small issue when the toilet backed up but housekeeping and maintenance were up within 10 minutes to fix it and apologize. I would definitely go back to this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check out the visitor's guides located in the information center. There are some great coupons in there that can save you a lot! We got free dinners, souvenirs, discounts off of tours which we never would have tried.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen Executive Director
Business
Baltimore, MD
Feb 23, 2014

Great conference setting

We had a comfortable room .with a great view of the city. I had everything I needed to make a good cup of Starbucks coffee when I woke up. The staff were very helpful and we were so convenient for streetcars to city park and the garden district and the French Quarter and the Waterfront. I highly recommend it. Lots of nice rooms for our conference. Beautiful weather, great food and great jazz

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
loli
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Apr 29, 2014

Weekend getaway

Do I have to explain someone what sheraton is?? I don't think so. Location was amazing!! All the rest .. Lovely weekend and definitely I'll come back and stay at the same hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is a must do!!! So much live... Artists playing music o performance on almost every corner! Beautiful.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
We are a hoot
Business
The Woodlands, TX
May 5, 2014

Christmas Getaway

The hotel was very clean, the room was excellent with a great view. Staff were very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chophouse Club. Very short walk from the hotel and amazing food!

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
milwaukeerph
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Girl time in New Orleans

Great locaion, friendly service and starbucks in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vannotrain
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Great hotel Clean, Great Service and Location

Hotel is a few min walk from bourbon st and the river walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
miplan
Business
St Clair Shores MI
Mar 4, 2012

Great place and location

nice clean hotel, amenities good, food/bar good, wish the pool was open - not sure why, that was one of the reasons we picked this hotel was for the pool. A reason of the door lock does not work is silly. I really wanted to lay out at the pool to relax besides seeing the parades. Even if it was temporarityt, we should have know aboutg it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat during week before 8 pm, restaurants close early.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sadie lou
Business
houma, louisiana
Mar 4, 2012

Get Away

Great experience. Hotel was clean and staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired Educator
Business
Louisville, KY
Jun 17, 2012

Excellent Location

Great place to stay. Friendly staff, nice rooms, and excellent location to access the French Quarter, resturants, and about everything else. On busy Canal Street, which made us feel safer at night. Going through some renovations but did not hear any noise where we stayed. Excellent fitness center and availiable pool. We hope to stay here again on our next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at The Ruby Slipper. Great food, service, and price.

Back to menu Return to top