$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
468 reviews
Wonderful Stay and pleasing views

Great location, stayed on the 44th floor overlooking the river. Right next to all public... See full review

  • Vacationer 8282012
  • Sep 6, 2014
A great deal and a comfortable stay

This is a great hotel - friendly staff and modern. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the... See full review

  • Mplstraveller
  • Sep 3, 2014
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9518 -90.0673
Area served
Avondale, Belle Chasse, Chalmette, Destrehan, Gonzales, Gretna, Hammond, Kenner, La Place, Harvey, Metairie, Mandeville, Marrero, Norco, Ponchatoula, Reserve, Slidell, Thibodaux
Nearby airports
Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 10.00, MI; Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (468)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
468 out of 468
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYElizabeth
New York
Feb 19, 2014

Quick and Easy trip

The hotel was awesome. Check in was a breeze, restaurant/bar on site made it very easy to grab a quick snack before heading out to party. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had a small issue when the toilet backed up but housekeeping and maintenance were up within 10 minutes to fix it and apologize. I would definitely go back to this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check out the visitor's guides located in the information center. There are some great coupons in there that can save you a lot! We got free dinners, souvenirs, discounts off of tours which we never would have tried.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rchan11
Saskatoon, SK
Jan 20, 2014

Great location on Canal and room was comfortable

Hotel was right on Canal St and a 3 minute walk to the heart of Bourbon St. It was quite fancy and comfortable. Parking was a little expensive and they didn't not offer self parking. Rooms were a little noisy as we could hear the washroom of the next room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super RT
Virginia Beach, Va
Jan 8, 2014

Great location!

We stayed here 3 nights, and it exceeded my expectations. The room was spacious, great view of the river, comfy bed and pillows. Away from all of the French Quarter noise, but close enough to walk to all of the bars, restaurants, and entertainment. Was disappointed that the room didn't have a mini fridge to keep beverages in. The hotel restaurant is not worth it, overpriced. We were crunched for time, and decided to eat a quick breakfast there because it was convenient. Won't do that again. Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Great service! Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Red Slipper cafe, a block away and very convenient for breakfast. Cable cars available right outside front of hotel. Great way to get around for cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grammycat
St. Louis, Missouri
Jan 6, 2014

Location, Location, Location

The view from the 33rd floor full-length window of the bend of the Mississippi (and of all-lit-up Canal Street at night) is fabulous. Also, being right on the boundary of the French Quarter makes walking very feasible. Our room was comfortable. The elevators were exceptionally efficient. Food --pretty so-so. Wine --excellent. I knew going in that there was a fee for valet parking. I hadn't consider the wait involved in getting your car. There were also a fairly long wait at the front desk when I was trying to check out. I am annoyed by the big hotels that don't have free wi-fi when everyone else does. The maid service was good, but the timing was inexplicable. One morning, they banged around starting at 7 am. The next day, they were as quiet as mice and cleaned just fine. The day after that, they showed up at 6:30 in the evening when I was taking a nap. Still, I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
We are a hoot
The Woodlands, TX
Jan 6, 2014

Great Christmas trip

Staff was always helpful, the hotel was clean and well maintained. The location was perfect right across the French Quarter. They gave us a room with an amazing view. We really enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for dinner to the Chophouse Club on Magazine Street. It is a great place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sonny and Chris
Tampa, Florida
Jan 2, 2014

Cross country Trip

The room assigned to us was nothing like the vitual tour I viewed while booking this hotel . The room was located next to the kitchen area. Every morning at 5 A.M. we were awoken by the sound of carts filled with dishes,glasses, and food being moved accross the hall from elevator to the kitchen. Two drawers in the dresser had rotten fruit left from previous guests. I upgraded to a suite, which this room by my definition was not. The $42 a night parking fee was a bit much, this was not Manhattan NYC. Not impressed!!!! Will not stay there again, or book a suite with search engine sites. They are great for Chain and that type of hotel as I know what to expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KellyBell
Mobile, al
Dec 31, 2013

Great location, but be careful with the fees.

This hotel was so nice.! We stayed on the 40th floor and had the most amazing view of the city. Literally two blocks from burbon st. And just a few blocks from the superdome. Everything we wanted to do was no more than 15 min away max. Room was clean and beds were so comfortable. Very friendly staff. Only cons were there wasn't a micowave in the room and apparently none in the whole building. But that wasnt big deal. Please Beware of parking fees!!, parking was way go expenisive. over $40/night! And I took about 15-20 minutes for the valet attendant to retrieve the car. And for that price I expected it to be more convenient than that. But overall, even with parking fees I'd stay here again. Just work the fees into your budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Port of Call. Great burgers great huge drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VicRiv
Albuquerque, NM
Dec 31, 2013

Christmas Vacation

Wonderful experience. Staff was great bar was interesting. Hotel food was good. It was great to see dog child were welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sls123
Boston, MA
Dec 30, 2013

Great location, nice rooms

Great location on Canal, a block from the French Quarter. Rooms are very comfortable. Nice lobby with computers available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CrazyChemist
Business
Naugatuck, CT
Nov 15, 2013

Go green...

The Sheraton Canal St. is a luxurious hotel, but I had one gripe with it: Although I have not been made aware of it, I was enrolled in the "Go green" program so my room was not cleaned but I instead received a $5 coupon for the Restaurant at the hotel. I have no need to have towels changed every day or have the bed made each day, but this also meant that they did not replenish the coffee and the bottled water. Also, they do not offer in-room complimentary Wifi and the breakfast buffet in the restaurant is somewhat overpriced ($21.95) and mediocre. The location is great (just minuted from French Quarter) and the bed was comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search