$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
View map of 500 Canal Street, 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
452 out of 452
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kschulz
Couples
Seattle
Nov 30, 2014

Great Spot

Loved staying here. Close to everything in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vic Baltimore
Friends
Baltimore
Nov 30, 2014

Service and Excellence

I stayed here last week with a friend. The location is ideal and walkable to everything. It's even close to the trolley car is you want to see a little more of the city. The rooms were gorgeous. We were on the 43rd floor with a nice view of Canal street. The beds were super comfy- pillows excellent. Furnishings were perfect. But what really set this stay apart was the customer service. On Tuesday the city of New Orleans was doing water work and shut off supply to the hotel. The hotel left notes under all guest room doors, but we were so busy we did not notice. When we came back to the room, we discovered the situation. I had dinner reservations at Commander's Palace, but needed to shower and get dressed. Water was supposed to be restored at 3, but did not come back on until closer to 5. Despite the fact that was the city's fault and not the hotel, when I ended up canceling my reservation, Simone, the manager offered me free dinner in the hotel restaurant or room service. What a lovely gesture. I had the room service and the gumbo was tasty! I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time NOLA
Couples
Baltimore, MD
Nov 28, 2014

Good Location

Location was perfect. We went down for a football game. We were walking distance from everything we wanted to do. Bourbon St is just a coutlet blocks away. The mall, casino, Mississippi River, and much more we walked to. The superdome was also in walking distance. Would stay here again. Rooms were clean beds comfortable. They didn't leave shampoos & soaps our first night or third night. They also allow dogs so we could hear a dog bark every once in a while usually coming in at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
russidi
Couples
Chicago
Nov 27, 2014

expensive for the service

The location is good - very close to French quarter. But for the price it does not offer anything else, even the internet is not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gerry R
Couples
Brookline, Mass
Oct 12, 2014

Probably never stay again

This was the 3rd year in a row we have stayed at the Sheraton New Orleans because we have always enjoyed it in the past. When we arrived on Sunday, the room was obviously dusty with the shades noticeably dirty. Since it was a Sunday, we chose not to complain. On Monday we were out of our room early and returned to an unmade room at 3:00. Since there was a cleaning cart in the hallway, we assumed they were slow cleaning so we went out again. When we returned at 5:00, there was no cart and the room was never cleaned. I called housekeeping and they told me I had elected "The Green Choice" which gives you a $5.00 certificate for food in the hotel if you elect not to have your room cleaned. I told them I had not made this choice. Meanwhile, my wife went down to the lobby , found the woman who had checked us in the previous day, and she confirmed we had not elected "The Green Choice." Housekeeping said the room would be cleaned in about 15 minutes later. We left the room 2 hours later and it was still not made. On the way out, we talked to the manager and he said it would be cleaned before we returned that evening and it finally was! I also requested wake-up calls on 2 days and neither of them was made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of fantastic restaurants outside the French Quarter.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sid Danger
Business
Richmond, va
Oct 10, 2014

A convenient convention.

Stayed for 3 nights. Smart elevators minimize the waiting. Food at hotel is good, if a little pricey. Not all hotel eateries are available all day. Starbucks in room and on site a plus. Breakfast buffet in bistro is as expensive as ordering off the menu. Great room views, with huge windows. Walking distance to more food and entertainment than you can shake your beads at. Convention halls on site. Late night bar. Prebooked king bed, got two doubles. Got the standard room. Was still nice, but I wanted the higher floor and king bed with more stuff. Oh well. One free water in room, other is not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bon Ton Cafe. Authentic. Short menu, get anything. It's all good.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beer convention guy
Business
ohio
Oct 3, 2014

An oasis of clean

The Sheraton New Orleans is a very nice hotel. Clean with nice bedding etc. Rooms are very comfortable. Front desk seemed slow - nothing happens quickly when 10 people in line to check in. Starbucks runs out of nearly all food items by 10 am. It took me a minute to figure out that you can't just board the elevators - have to pick your floor first, which is new to me. Extremely well positioned if you plan to stumble back from Bourbon street. New Orleans is not the cleanest place to visit, but this hotel is an oasis of clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C. Adan R.
Couples
Corpus Christi, texas
Sep 22, 2014

First New Orleans Trip

Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Flight was canceled the first night and my first night room charge was reimbursed with no issues. Very nice location, close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LL Wine
Couples
Seattle, Washington
Sep 22, 2014

Quieter, Yet Convenient

The location is very convenient for walking around the French Quarter and CBD. It's quieter than staying near Bourbon, but still very convenient. The lobby and lounge area is huge, with a lot going on at all times, but there is good security. The rooms are comfortable and modern.. Comfortable bed and pillows. Low water pressure in shower and ours didn't drain well. The heavy room doors slam shut -- a major problem for light sleepers in a city like New Orleans where people are coming and going in the middle of the night. The pool area is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great upscale dining - Emeril's and August - are within easy walking distance.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barb DL
Family
Seattle WA
Sep 16, 2014

Family vacation

Excellent location, close to French Qtr, Bourbon St., the canal. The staff was very polite and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We'll come back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top