$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
741 reviews
Great place to stay

Clean, comfortable room. Close to everything we wanted to do. The tour desk right there in the... See full review

  • ebs210
  • Jul 17, 2014
Sheraton New Orleans Meets the Standard

Staff was welcoming; rooms newly renovated, good water pressure, and comfortable beds. No TV guide... See full review

  • ScottK
  • Jun 26, 2014
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9518 -90.0673
Area served
Avondale, Belle Chasse, Chalmette, Destrehan, Gonzales, Gretna, Hammond, Kenner, La Place, Harvey, Metairie, Mandeville, Marrero, Norco, Ponchatoula, Reserve, Slidell, Thibodaux
Nearby airports
Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 10.00, MI; Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Storyville: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.2 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (741)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
741 out of 741
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazz Fest Travelers
Chicago
May 11, 2010

Location, location, location.

Hotel is in a great location. The rooms are basic but clean and they have Starbucks! The pool is nice, too chilly to swim when we were there but it was fine and would have laid by it if we could. The view from up there is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toast and Qua
Biloxi, MS
May 11, 2010

Fun weekend!

I have lived in the South my whole life. I visit the French Quarter regularly...at least once a month. I have always wanted to stay in the Sheraton on Canal St. We had an AWESOME view of the river, the room was spotless, and the staff was very friendly. Our room was right across from the ice machine and right by the elevators, so it was a little noisy, other than that, great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jazz Fest Travelers
Chicago
May 11, 2010

Location, location, location.

Hotel is in a great location. The rooms are basic but clean and they have Starbucks! The pool is nice, too chilly to swim when we were there but it was fine and would have laid by it if we could. The view from up there is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toast and Qua
Biloxi, MS
May 11, 2010

Fun weekend!

I have lived in the South my whole life. I visit the French Quarter regularly...at least once a month. I have always wanted to stay in the Sheraton on Canal St. We had an AWESOME view of the river, the room was spotless, and the staff was very friendly. Our room was right across from the ice machine and right by the elevators, so it was a little noisy, other than that, great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Corpsman
Business
CT
May 5, 2010

Pricey Mediocrity

Bed was comfortable and check-in was very pleasant but not much to praise thereafter . Room had old, stained, ripped carpeting. Waited 30' @ lobby bar to have anyone take my lunch order. No free WiFi despite expensive room cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the seafood before the oil slick hits!

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Corpsman
Business
CT
May 5, 2010

Pricey Mediocrity

Bed was comfortable and check-in was very pleasant but not much to praise thereafter . Room had old, stained, ripped carpeting. Waited 30' @ lobby bar to have anyone take my lunch order. No free WiFi despite expensive room cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the seafood before the oil slick hits!

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Apr 27, 2010

Worst Stay EVER!

This was my fisrt stay at the Sheraton in New Orleans. I lived in the area in past and travel back to the area quite frequently. First night, at 3 am water was began pouring from the ceiling in the bathroom. I called the front desk and they assured me that someone would be up immediately. Two hours later the water had stopped, but no one ever came. We were up all night and no one ever came or called. This is totally unacceptable. The next morning, no one knew what to tell me. Did I need to move rooms? Don't know. Is the problem solved? Don't know. The next night the hot water handle fell off the faucet in the bathroom. Called, again no response. [...] Anyway, this is not the place to stay in New Orleans. I moved hotels and was extremely pleased with the Bienville House. I recommend not picking this Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Apr 27, 2010

Worst Stay EVER!

This was my fisrt stay at the Sheraton in New Orleans. I lived in the area in past and travel back to the area quite frequently. First night, at 3 am water was began pouring from the ceiling in the bathroom. I called the front desk and they assured me that someone would be up immediately. Two hours later the water had stopped, but no one ever came. We were up all night and no one ever came or called. This is totally unacceptable. The next morning, no one knew what to tell me. Did I need to move rooms? Don't know. Is the problem solved? Don't know. The next night the hot water handle fell off the faucet in the bathroom. Called, again no response. [...] Anyway, this is not the place to stay in New Orleans. I moved hotels and was extremely pleased with the Bienville House. I recommend not picking this Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn
Apr 26, 2010

Hotel rez does not match [...]

At check-in hotel did not have a king bed avail and gave me room with 2 full size beds. When I asked for a king they asked me how I reserved and when I told them [...] they said that bed type is not guaranteed. Next time I'll book directly with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn
Apr 26, 2010

Hotel rez does not match [...]

At check-in hotel did not have a king bed avail and gave me room with 2 full size beds. When I asked for a king they asked me how I reserved and when I told them [...] they said that bed type is not guaranteed. Next time I'll book directly with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top