$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
463 reviews
Great time in a great city

The Sheraton provided fantastic amenities in a great location. We enjoyed three nights in a lovely... See full review

  • The Hurricane.3
  • Aug 24, 2014
Awesome Service

We stayed two days at the Sheraton on Canal St and while we weren't in our room much we really... See full review

  • natbug728
  • Aug 18, 2014
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9518 -90.0673
Area served
Avondale, Belle Chasse, Chalmette, Destrehan, Gonzales, Gretna, Hammond, Kenner, La Place, Harvey, Metairie, Mandeville, Marrero, Norco, Ponchatoula, Reserve, Slidell, Thibodaux
Nearby airports
Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 10.00, MI; Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (463)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
463 out of 463
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
We are a hoot
The Woodlands, TX
May 5, 2014

Christmas Getaway

The hotel was very clean, the room was excellent with a great view. Staff were very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Chophouse Club. Very short walk from the hotel and amazing food!

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
loli
Miami, FL, USA
Apr 29, 2014

Weekend getaway

Do I have to explain someone what sheraton is?? I don't think so. Location was amazing!! All the rest .. Lovely weekend and definitely I'll come back and stay at the same hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is a must do!!! So much live... Artists playing music o performance on almost every corner! Beautiful.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
caribbeanGirlTraveller
Florida
Apr 21, 2014

great location

We were close to everything. The staff was courteous and helpful. The only con would be that you hear everything going on in the room next door and in the hall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Apa ini
Okinawa, Japan
Apr 21, 2014

Close to everything

The hotel is in a great spot that is walking distance to just about everywhere you might want to be. The only gripes I have is they charge you for internet access and the shower is close to something you'd find at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dash rip rock
Seattle, wa
Mar 10, 2014

Great mardi gras spot!

Fairly good experience, clean rooms great views! Down side was arrived tired after long day of traveling and we still had to wait 2 hours for the room to be cleaned.?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Can't go wrong great food everywhere!

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen Executive Director
Business
Baltimore, MD
Feb 23, 2014

Great conference setting

We had a comfortable room .with a great view of the city. I had everything I needed to make a good cup of Starbucks coffee when I woke up. The staff were very helpful and we were so convenient for streetcars to city park and the garden district and the French Quarter and the Waterfront. I highly recommend it. Lots of nice rooms for our conference. Beautiful weather, great food and great jazz

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYElizabeth
New York
Feb 19, 2014

Quick and Easy trip

The hotel was awesome. Check in was a breeze, restaurant/bar on site made it very easy to grab a quick snack before heading out to party. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had a small issue when the toilet backed up but housekeeping and maintenance were up within 10 minutes to fix it and apologize. I would definitely go back to this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check out the visitor's guides located in the information center. There are some great coupons in there that can save you a lot! We got free dinners, souvenirs, discounts off of tours which we never would have tried.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rchan11
Saskatoon, SK
Jan 20, 2014

Great location on Canal and room was comfortable

Hotel was right on Canal St and a 3 minute walk to the heart of Bourbon St. It was quite fancy and comfortable. Parking was a little expensive and they didn't not offer self parking. Rooms were a little noisy as we could hear the washroom of the next room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super RT
Virginia Beach, Va
Jan 8, 2014

Great location!

We stayed here 3 nights, and it exceeded my expectations. The room was spacious, great view of the river, comfy bed and pillows. Away from all of the French Quarter noise, but close enough to walk to all of the bars, restaurants, and entertainment. Was disappointed that the room didn't have a mini fridge to keep beverages in. The hotel restaurant is not worth it, overpriced. We were crunched for time, and decided to eat a quick breakfast there because it was convenient. Won't do that again. Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Great service! Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Red Slipper cafe, a block away and very convenient for breakfast. Cable cars available right outside front of hotel. Great way to get around for cheap.

Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
We are a hoot
The Woodlands, TX
Jan 6, 2014

Great Christmas trip

Staff was always helpful, the hotel was clean and well maintained. The location was perfect right across the French Quarter. They gave us a room with an amazing view. We really enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for dinner to the Chophouse Club on Magazine Street. It is a great place to eat.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search