$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
468 reviews
Wonderful Stay and pleasing views

Great location, stayed on the 44th floor overlooking the river. Right next to all public... See full review

  • Vacationer 8282012
  • Sep 6, 2014
A great deal and a comfortable stay

This is a great hotel - friendly staff and modern. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the... See full review

  • Mplstraveller
  • Sep 3, 2014
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9518 -90.0673
Area served
Avondale, Belle Chasse, Chalmette, Destrehan, Gonzales, Gretna, Hammond, Kenner, La Place, Harvey, Metairie, Mandeville, Marrero, Norco, Ponchatoula, Reserve, Slidell, Thibodaux
Nearby airports
Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 10.00, MI; Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (468)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
468 out of 468
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY Nan
Cold Spring, NY
Sep 18, 2012

Enjoyable stay

We stayed three nights and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The gym was fantastic. The pool was a bit small and could use a face lift but we enjoyed it. The parking arrangement was very easy and the fancy high speed elevators were great - we were on the 39th floor and had a great view of the city. The soda machine on our floor was broken. Overall it was a very nice stay and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
justme48
Business
Lansing, Michigan
Sep 12, 2012

Not real clean, undergoing renovations, great staff

*dirty towel from prior guest was left hanging on bathroom door *the bathtub faucet dripped continuously *room service: my glass of ice water had globs of mustard on the outside of it - nothing on my tray contained mustard *My dinner tray that I put outside my door around 8:30 pm was still there at 7am the following morning *the hotel was undergoing rennovations - was not told this when I made the reservations. there was a jackhammer going beneath my room from at least 7pm to 9:30 pm that evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jtmkma7
Jakson MS
Aug 27, 2012

Not a 4star hotel

This hotel is undergoing some renovation, but at present is showing its age.I was inline to check in for over 30 minutes. When I finally got to my room and got the a/c going, it was clear this room had not been updated in a while. I requested a wheelchair accessible room, and there was barely enough room to maneuver comfortably. The bathroom had a tub instead of a roll in shower, and it took 16 hours to get a shower bench up to my room. The coffee service was a total joke, but the real kicker was no hot water for a shower. I was told by maintenance that since I was on the 24th floor, the hot water takes a while to reach that high up. So spend a little more and get a decent room at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamaw Peggy
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 18, 2012

Wonderful getaway with daughter, great bonding experience

The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. It was great to go sight seeing and then come back and relax. The staff was very helpful with directions, tours, etc. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teen
NY
Jul 10, 2012

essence music festival getaway

I found everything at the Sheraton to be wonderful. I would definitely refer this hotel to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TwentySomething Traveler
New York, NY
Jul 8, 2012

Not Happy

Our room was not cleaned for three days, despite our numerous complaints. Hotel was old and appeared run down. water pressure was low.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired Educator
Louisville, KY
Jun 17, 2012

Excellent Location

Great place to stay. Friendly staff, nice rooms, and excellent location to access the French Quarter, resturants, and about everything else. On busy Canal Street, which made us feel safer at night. Going through some renovations but did not hear any noise where we stayed. Excellent fitness center and availiable pool. We hope to stay here again on our next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at The Ruby Slipper. Great food, service, and price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC Travelers
NYC
Apr 23, 2012

A quick vacation

We really enjoyed New Orleans and plan on returning. The hotel was centrally located which was an advantage. We had to switch rooms upon arrival because the bathroom faucet was obviously broken. We believe that the hotel staff should have reported this internally and not assign the room until it was fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I would highly recommend taking the city bus tour. It visits many different sections of the city. It enables you to map out the various sites that you would want to revisit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tall2
Virginia
Apr 13, 2012

Good choice

Great view! Staff was nice and room was very comfortable. Some renovations going on and definitely needed in places, but overall I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Streetcar pass for $3.00 lets one ride all day and get on & off wherever and whenever you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emcline
Franklin, IN, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Close to everything!

This is a nice, affordable hotel that was in walking distance to everything we wanted to do. The room was clean and comfortable, although maybe a bit noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search