$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
482 reviews
Very convenient

Enjoyed the health club facilities and the view of the city. Our last day we went on the airboat... See full review

  • Iowa state parent
  • Dec 8, 2014
Service and Excellence

I stayed here last week with a friend. The location is ideal and walkable to everything. It's even... See full review

  • Vic Baltimore
  • Nov 30, 2014
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (482)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
482 out of 482
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FBGordon
Business
Destin, FL, USA
Dec 25, 2012

All good but the parking.

The room rate, location and hotel itself was wonderful and at a great value. This hotel is clean, comfortable and modern, while being located at the Western edge of the French Quarter in the center of some of the greatest bars and restaurants in all of New Orleans. The staff was very helpful, as well. My only real complaint was the unbelievable charge of $42.50 per night to park in the parking lot of the hotel WHILE I WAS STAYING THERE. That completely negated the value of the room rate. I have no idea why a four-star hotel would do that while 2-star hotels are happy to let you park at their places for free. Were it not for that, I wouldn't have had a single negative thing to say about my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to eat at Green Goddess on Exchange Place, just down from the corner of Royal and Bienville. It is truly some of the best food offered in the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M.Jones
Business
California
Dec 23, 2012

Booking agent Fail

I booked through "Obtz", secured rooms on the upper level of the hotel, and when I showed up I was given a room on the lower level, because the hotel had blocked off all of the upper level rooms and I wasn't notified until I checked in. The hotel was undergoing a lot of repair & maintenance, so there was much noise around our room during the morning or late afternoon. The staff was amazing and did everything they could to accommodate me, and the situation, unfortunately it wasn't until my last night in the hotel did they open the upper levels and called me to offer an upper level room. "Obtz" has certainly raised some concerns with me about the service they offer after this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Most everything to see and do in New Orleans is within a short walking distance from this hotel. Call the hotel and book through them instead of "Obtz" to ensure you get an honest answer and know what you are walking into.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZAP77
Business
NJ
Dec 18, 2012

AWESOME STAY!!

GREAT CENTRAL LOCATION, UPSCALE HOTEL! ONLY ISSUE WAS OUR ROOM WASNT CLEANED ONE DAY AND WE WERE GONE FROM 7 AM TO 7PM! ALSO IF YOU RE PAYING EXTRA FOR THE CLUB ROOM, RECONSIDER, THE AMENITIES U PAY EXTRA FOR ARE NOT REALLY WITH IT.. BUT PERFECT LOCATION! WALKING DISTANCE TO EVERYTHING!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

MR. B'S BISTRO

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cajun Mom 4
Business
Abbeville, LA
Dec 17, 2012

Family Getaway

We love staying at the Sheraton when we visit New Orleans. The location is perfect and the views are incredible. Our only complaint would be the check-in process which is entirely too slow. The lines moved slowly, no one was at the Starwood Guest desk and the other personnel behind the desk kept leaving the desk while people were waiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes to experience New Orleans. Taking cabs do not allow you to see the most impressive parts of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juicy Jen
Business
Lafayete, La
Dec 17, 2012

Great place to stay

Great location, very clean and staff friendly. Rooms looked newly remodeled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maggie3207
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 3, 2012

Great place to stay in New Orleans

clean, comfortable , and great location. Staff was great, two blocks from Bourbon St. Right on Canal. In the heart of the quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
upset dude
Business
new orleans
Oct 12, 2012

dont go there at this time

did i have a 4 star experience hotel,not at all!! construction started at 9am sharp,the sounds of hammering and jack hammers and electric saws thruout the building was not a nice way to wake up every morning after a night out in NEW ORLEANS!!! room service was a half an hour late and my wife was sick and couldn't eat the soup it tasted that bad! and to top it all off, i had to kill a cockroach in the bathroom!! so you tell me if i had a 4 star exceriece??!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the roach
Business
Oceanside,CA
Oct 9, 2012

Renovation!!!

ok...most hotels in New Orleans are being renovated for the SuperBowl that is happening shortly. But, a citywide water shortage caused some stress on the day that we were to leave. The bar staff is excellent and met some really cool people but when we came back from the game to get a drink at 11pm...they were closing! The elevator situation is confusing. I stayed at this hotel 8 years ago and it has gone through some changes...I know I will give it another chance though....the location is great...steps from the French Qtr. and walking distance to the Superdome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

K-Pauls had the most delicious fall sample with roasted pumpkins seeds and goat cheese. And Sobou is an excellent restuarant with blackened redfish and yellowfin tuna with mirlitons. Get the cherries jubilee and share it if you must! These are both on St. Charles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rjduppy
Business
Laguna Woods, Californai
Oct 9, 2012

Sheraton Canal Street New Orleans

This hotel has very gracious and professional staff. It proved, you can go home again. ( I was born in that city but live in California.) The view from my room was beautiful. The beds were extremely comfortable. The location was perfect for the purposes of this visit. I was walking distance from two favorite restaurants and places important for this visit were easily assessable. I'd, happily, use the hotel again. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Directly across the street: The Palace Cafe. Outstanding!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
7Oct
Business
Atlanta
Oct 8, 2012

Great Location!

Close to the main attractions. Clean and good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top