$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4 stars
500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
475 reviews
First New Orleans Trip

Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Flight was canceled the first night and my first... See full review

  • C. Adan R.
  • Sep 22, 2014
Wonderful Stay and pleasing views

Great location, stayed on the 44th floor overlooking the river. Right next to all public... See full review

  • Vacationer 8282012
  • Sep 6, 2014
A New Orleans attraction in its own right, the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel features intriguing sculptures, paintings and exquisite glass-blown creations, while several of the rooms have decadent features like floor-to-ceiling windows, dining areas and parlors. Business and event spaces are of the highest caliber, while culinary innovations can be enjoyed at the Roux Bistro or the Pelican Bar - which is also perfect for sipping fruity cocktails amid flowing fountains and French-themed interiors.

Both business and leisure travelers are catered for at the Sheraton, and whether you simply want to relax or you are looking to hold conference meetings with clients, this hotel has some excellent facilities - it has even appeared in lists of the Top 100 Meeting Hotels in the USA. 
Key facts
  • 1110 guest rooms, 53 suites with the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed
  • 49 floors
  • 54 conference/event spaces
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • 2 Restaurants and coffee shop
  • Gift shop
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and room service
  • Pet policy; pet beds available for dogs under 80 lbs
Neighborhood
Set on Canal Street in a historic part of New Orleans, which divides European colonial architecture from the all - American Central Business District, the hotel is just four blocks from some of the city's major attractions including the French Quarter, Harrah's Casino and the Mississippi River.

Retail therapy can be enjoyed at The Shops at Canal Place - a mall containing individual boutiques plus luxurious brands, such as Tiffany & Co. and French Connection - and The Outlet Collection at Riverwalk. Eating out is also easy in this part of the city, and if you want to dine outside of the hotel, Bourbon Street houses everything from indulgent seafood restaurants to casual Cajun and Creole creations.
Hints and tips
Book a room on the upper floors for fantastic views, use the concierge facilities for up-to-the-minute city information and reservations, and leave time to sample the restaurant's tasty homemade chips!

When you are ready to leave and catch a flight, simply print your boarding passes in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9518 -90.0673
Area served
Avondale, Belle Chasse, Chalmette, Destrehan, Gonzales, Gretna, Hammond, Kenner, La Place, Harvey, Metairie, Mandeville, Marrero, Norco, Ponchatoula, Reserve, Slidell, Thibodaux
Nearby airports
Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 10.00, MI; Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton New Orleans Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (475)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
475 out of 475
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AshleyJo22
Columbus, OH
Jan 2, 2013

Excellent location, had everything we were looking for!

My husband and I are chose to stay here for a New Years getaway. The location is great and the staff was wonderful. We stayed on the club level and couldn't have been happier with that decision. The access to the food, drinks and staff was quite nice. There was always someone available in the lounge area to get us anything that we needed. We were nothing less than impressed with the entire stay. We'll definitely be staying here again on our next trip to New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Definitely choose the club level!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gerry R
Business
Brookline, Mass
Oct 12, 2014

Probably never stay again

This was the 3rd year in a row we have stayed at the Sheraton New Orleans because we have always enjoyed it in the past. When we arrived on Sunday, the room was obviously dusty with the shades noticeably dirty. Since it was a Sunday, we chose not to complain. On Monday we were out of our room early and returned to an unmade room at 3:00. Since there was a cleaning cart in the hallway, we assumed they were slow cleaning so we went out again. When we returned at 5:00, there was no cart and the room was never cleaned. I called housekeeping and they told me I had elected "The Green Choice" which gives you a $5.00 certificate for food in the hotel if you elect not to have your room cleaned. I told them I had not made this choice. Meanwhile, my wife went down to the lobby , found the woman who had checked us in the previous day, and she confirmed we had not elected "The Green Choice." Housekeeping said the room would be cleaned in about 15 minutes later. We left the room 2 hours later and it was still not made. On the way out, we talked to the manager and he said it would be cleaned before we returned that evening and it finally was! I also requested wake-up calls on 2 days and neither of them was made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of fantastic restaurants outside the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sid Danger
Business
Richmond, va
Oct 10, 2014

A convenient convention.

Stayed for 3 nights. Smart elevators minimize the waiting. Food at hotel is good, if a little pricey. Not all hotel eateries are available all day. Starbucks in room and on site a plus. Breakfast buffet in bistro is as expensive as ordering off the menu. Great room views, with huge windows. Walking distance to more food and entertainment than you can shake your beads at. Convention halls on site. Late night bar. Prebooked king bed, got two doubles. Got the standard room. Was still nice, but I wanted the higher floor and king bed with more stuff. Oh well. One free water in room, other is not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bon Ton Cafe. Authentic. Short menu, get anything. It's all good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beer convention guy
Business
ohio
Oct 3, 2014

An oasis of clean

The Sheraton New Orleans is a very nice hotel. Clean with nice bedding etc. Rooms are very comfortable. Front desk seemed slow - nothing happens quickly when 10 people in line to check in. Starbucks runs out of nearly all food items by 10 am. It took me a minute to figure out that you can't just board the elevators - have to pick your floor first, which is new to me. Extremely well positioned if you plan to stumble back from Bourbon street. New Orleans is not the cleanest place to visit, but this hotel is an oasis of clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C. Adan R.
Business
Corpus Christi, texas
Sep 22, 2014

First New Orleans Trip

Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Flight was canceled the first night and my first night room charge was reimbursed with no issues. Very nice location, close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LL Wine
Business
Seattle, Washington
Sep 22, 2014

Quieter, Yet Convenient

The location is very convenient for walking around the French Quarter and CBD. It's quieter than staying near Bourbon, but still very convenient. The lobby and lounge area is huge, with a lot going on at all times, but there is good security. The rooms are comfortable and modern.. Comfortable bed and pillows. Low water pressure in shower and ours didn't drain well. The heavy room doors slam shut -- a major problem for light sleepers in a city like New Orleans where people are coming and going in the middle of the night. The pool area is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great upscale dining - Emeril's and August - are within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barb DL
Business
Seattle WA
Sep 16, 2014

Family vacation

Excellent location, close to French Qtr, Bourbon St., the canal. The staff was very polite and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. We'll come back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christie S.
Business
Farmville, NC
Sep 16, 2014

New Orleans

My husband and I had a one night stay before getting on the cruise ship the following morning. This is a great location; close to Bourbon Street but not on it. The rooms were very nice and very clean. The only problem I had was with the restaurant inside the hotel. Once you sit down they offer you coffee or juice then later tell you it is $4.00 for each coffee and juice. You can get the breakfast buffet for $22 pp and the drink comes with it or you can get a simple breakfast for $16 pp but have to pay $4 for each drink. We went with the buffet and everything was cold. When we told the staff that the items at the buffet were cold they apologized but did not do anything to compensate for it. Expensive cold food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not eat the breakfast buffet at the hotel. Went to the Oceania Restaurant a short walk away for dinner and although it was a little spendy, it is well worth it. Excellent food at the Oceania.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sardonic
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Sep 10, 2014

Close to everything

Close to French Quarter and safe . Good gym. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DR . E
Business
Richmond , Virginia
Sep 8, 2014

Gastronomic , lots of fun

Very good , staff do everything possible to accommodate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place to hang out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josephinil
Business
Champaign Illinois
Sep 7, 2014

Great stay!

My friends and I, stayed in this hotel for southern decadence, and this is my third time at this hotel. I love the location and service. The mattress was a little hard for me, and the parking is $42.00 a day with taxes! ! But I will be back, hint 5 blocks north is a parking garage, we parked for $60.00/week! Can't wait to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park elsewhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top