$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Royal St. Charles

4 stars
135 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
350 reviews
Friendly staff and clean

This hotel is in a safe location within short walking distance to everything. Rooms weren't huge... See full review

  • FLTravelerlady
  • Oct 22, 2013
celebration

close to everthing, no free parking anymore but rate is reasonable to area See full review

  • hbchevelle
  • Mar 28, 2013
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9527 -90.0697
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 14.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Superior King
Superior King Room-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safes
Superior Queen
Superior Queen Room-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safe
Superior Two Doubles
Superior 2 Doubles-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safe
Balcony King
King Balcony Room-balcony with Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Large King Suite Balcony
Large King Suite-Private balcony w-Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Junior Suite King
Junior Suite King-separate lounge area-Modern 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Large Queen Suite Balcony
Large Queen Suite-Private balcony-Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe

Amenities

Dining
Continental breakfast
Services
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Telephone

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (350)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 350
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bachelor Party NOLA
Birmingham, AL
May 19, 2014

One Night Stay

The hotel was good value for the location. The rooms are somewhat small but adequate for a one night stay and the location was great. I would stay again or recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thelma1234
Tampa, FL
Jan 24, 2014

Good location, nice staff, but average

Great location on canal street just outside the french quarter and a couple blocks from Bourbon street. Quiet hotel. Could never get room temp quite right. Thermostat stuck on cold and the electrician came to fix and said it was 58 degrees in the room! Also, they did not make up the room during our 2 night stay. Nice friendly staff, though and PJs coffee located in the lobby is a plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JerryinAL
Dothan, AL, USA
Nov 27, 2013

hidden charges

They charge for a valet parking 32 dollars which is about the highest in this part of New Orleans. They also charge "added value" of 10 dollars per night for internet. Many people don't use internet, so it is definitely not fair, but is it legal? That is a question!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnnyBlaze
Mobile AL
Nov 5, 2013

Halloween and Voodoo Fest Weekend

This was my second stay at this hotel. It has been updated since my last stay. Good location, only a block from Canal and Bourbon St. and close enough for a walk to the French quarter or Riverwalk. Parking is always an issue in N.O., but they have valet if you want to wait and pay the $36 or so, or park yourself for around $17 a day. My room was on the St. Charles St. side, so the noise from the streetcar was noticeable, even on the 7th floor. Small, tight quarters in the room, but clean and comfortable. No fridges in the rooms or vending on the floors, so you have to visit the coffee shop in the lobby for anything. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, a good value for a close location in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FLTravelerlady
Florida
Oct 22, 2013

Friendly staff and clean

This hotel is in a safe location within short walking distance to everything. Rooms weren't huge but we fit 4 people in a room with 2 queen beds and it was still comfortable. The staff here is super friendly and made our stay very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JerryinAL
Dothan, AL, USA
May 13, 2013

is it okay?

Is it okay to charge for the internet and long distance calls if the customer does not use them? In this hotel they charge for it. Room was small, the bathroom was even smaller, simply tiny, not enough space for two. Best thing is location and cleanness of the room, I can't complain about these.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in New Orleans
Fl
Jul 20, 2011

PLEASE AVOID THIS HOTEL

Please avoid this hotel at all cost I beg of you. Their equipment i.e. their door malfunctioned to the point that their employees were able to in and steal over 2000 dollars worth of technology!! What makes it worse the general manager could give a rats toe what happened to my best friend and I. We felt like we were less than nothing although we were out 2500 (the cost of our stuff and hotel cost) She did not care to make anything right. Please spend your money at a better hotel with a real name Hilton, Sheraton etc I do not want this to happen to anyone else. Nothing but theives and inconsiderate people its just sad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in New Orleans
Fl
Jul 20, 2011

PLEASE AVOID THIS HOTEL

Please avoid this hotel at all cost I beg of you. Their equipment i.e. their door malfunctioned to the point that their employees were able to in and steal over 2000 dollars worth of technology!! What makes it worse the general manager could give a rats toe what happened to my best friend and I. We felt like we were less than nothing although we were out 2500 (the cost of our stuff and hotel cost) She did not care to make anything right. Please spend your money at a better hotel with a real name Hilton, Sheraton etc I do not want this to happen to anyone else. Nothing but theives and inconsiderate people its just sad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Charles, La
Jun 30, 2011

Great location not so great atmosphere.

The hotel seemed a bit expensive for what you got. The room wasn't very clean, there were stains on the floor, & our 'queen' bed was definitely only a full. But it was a short walking distance to bourbon st so the location made up for what it lacked in comfort & luster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a short walk to Bourbon.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Charles, La
Jun 30, 2011

Great location not so great atmosphere.

The hotel seemed a bit expensive for what you got. The room wasn't very clean, there were stains on the floor, & our 'queen' bed was definitely only a full. But it was a short walking distance to bourbon st so the location made up for what it lacked in comfort & luster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a short walk to Bourbon.

Back to menu Return to top