$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Royal St. Charles

4 stars
135 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
350 reviews
Friendly staff and clean

This hotel is in a safe location within short walking distance to everything. Rooms weren't huge... See full review

  • FLTravelerlady
  • Oct 22, 2013
celebration

close to everthing, no free parking anymore but rate is reasonable to area See full review

  • hbchevelle
  • Mar 28, 2013
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9527 -90.0697
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 14.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Superior King
Superior King Room-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safes
Superior Queen
Superior Queen Room-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safe
Superior Two Doubles
Superior 2 Doubles-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safe
Balcony King
King Balcony Room-balcony with Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Large King Suite Balcony
Large King Suite-Private balcony w-Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Junior Suite King
Junior Suite King-separate lounge area-Modern 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Large Queen Suite Balcony
Large Queen Suite-Private balcony-Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe

Amenities

Dining
Continental breakfast
Services
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Telephone

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (350)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 350
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ruston, LA
Apr 30, 2010

Hotel...out, [...]

It started with my reservation being wrong and one of my rooms not booked. Wehn we got to our rooms 340 minutes later (because the staff was clueless) the rooms smelled like an ashtray, sheets had not been changed and the bathrooms were dirty. I will never go to this hotel again or book through [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 1, 2010

Quiet location but not attractive at all

Would not recommend. Take off list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Erwire
Business
Louisville KY
Feb 24, 2013

Total Experience Was Aweful

The hotel moved my reservation to their "sister" hotel. It was 8 blocks away, dirty and didn't even have hot water. The front desk staff at the Royal was rude and not helpful and they refused to let me speak to a manager. They didn't even offer to cover the cost of transportation to the other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 1, 2010

Quiet location but not attractive at all

Would not recommend. Take off list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ruston, LA
Apr 30, 2010

Hotel...out, [...]

It started with my reservation being wrong and one of my rooms not booked. Wehn we got to our rooms 340 minutes later (because the staff was clueless) the rooms smelled like an ashtray, sheets had not been changed and the bathrooms were dirty. I will never go to this hotel again or book through [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 17, 2010

Poor service, low quality control.

My thoughts: - WiFi and telephone are daily mandatory charges not included in the main booking fee. WiFi speed is rediculously slow, 4KB/s (slower than dial-up). - No restaurant, just a simple cafe with generic coffee and muffins. - Staff aren't enthusiastic about making you feel welcome. I asked where I could get food at 11PM on a Sunday after my arrival and was instructed to just walk around. - My room had no heat and the bathroom vent was non-functional; the weather was cold outside. I informed the staff once the first time; nobody attended to it until the next day after a second complaint. I recieved a call while at the conference, apparently the heater could not be repaired, my belongings were moved to another room, not non-smoking. They immediately booked my previous room without waiting for me to return to empty the safe, so I had to leave the conference early to resolve the issue. - The location was nice, a mile from the convention center and close to many restaurants and bars. No taxi needed, except to get to the airport. - No complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is 3 blocks away. Lots of drinking, clubs/bars and restaurants in the area. Vibrant location.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patrick_mcawesome
Business
Pensacola FL
Apr 1, 2010

Royal St. Charles

I was just staying overnight on my way home from work, the hotel was extremely close to the French Quarter, which was good, but that was the only good thing about it. The staff was very unhelpful ie: I tried to get a TV guide and it took several hours, they promised a safe in the room, and there was none, and the continental breakfast was horrible. The only decent thing they did was call me a cab when it was time to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
painpt
Business
Bethesda, MD
Feb 13, 2011

Room in the Datk

[...] I had reserved a "deluxe suite". The room was a small one-room accommodation without windows (!), a leaking toilet, no dresser with drawers, and a tv remote that worked every now and then. The free wireless internet connection worked very well and the bed was comfortable, but that is about all I liked about this "boutique hotel". My room did not look anything like the pictures of the "suites" on the hotel's website, was not a suite, and was not "spacious". Disappointing hotel in nearly every aspect. I stay in hotels nearly every other week and this one ranked toward the bottom of the list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
painpt
Business
Bethesda, MD
Feb 13, 2011

Room in the Datk

[...] I had reserved a "deluxe suite". The room was a small one-room accommodation without windows (!), a leaking toilet, no dresser with drawers, and a tv remote that worked every now and then. The free wireless internet connection worked very well and the bed was comfortable, but that is about all I liked about this "boutique hotel". My room did not look anything like the pictures of the "suites" on the hotel's website, was not a suite, and was not "spacious". Disappointing hotel in nearly every aspect. I stay in hotels nearly every other week and this one ranked toward the bottom of the list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patrick_mcawesome
Business
Pensacola FL
Apr 1, 2010

Royal St. Charles

I was just staying overnight on my way home from work, the hotel was extremely close to the French Quarter, which was good, but that was the only good thing about it. The staff was very unhelpful ie: I tried to get a TV guide and it took several hours, they promised a safe in the room, and there was none, and the continental breakfast was horrible. The only decent thing they did was call me a cab when it was time to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top