$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
209 reviews
A good hotel

A nice place that was a short walk to the convention center and good restaurants. Staff was helpful... See full review

  • Norwalk G
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great Location!!!!

Staff was extremely friendly and the location was in the middle of everything! See full review

  • HillaryB
  • Oct 8, 2014
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW TX
Oct 23, 2010

Pleasant and Accomadating - GREAT Loc!!

the hotel was in an excellent location directly in the heart of the French Quarter, VERY close to the street car stops. when i first arrived, i was asked to carry my own bags up to my room, and i objected and asked for a bellhop with a luggage cart....and they were accomadating. when i got to my room, it was VERY small. so small that there wasn't even enough room to open the doors on the TV armoir. i called down to front desk and ask them to move me to a more comfortable room... and they were very accomadating to do so. the rooms were VERY clean - and were cleaned every day with fresh towels. the ambiance of the rooms/hotel itself were pretty average...but not low quality in the slightest. the matresses could truly use an upgrade...they didn't have very much padding. our new room had HUGE bay windows with a gorgeous view of the Quarter. loved that! the bathrooms had hairdryers, marble counter tops, stone floors, and built in facial/makeup mirrors. a nice touch i thought. the bathtubs/showers were pretty small and made it difficult for a couple. for some reason they keep the hallways of the hotel extremely FRIDGED... so wear a sweater when traveling from your room to the elevator. on the day of checkout - they allowed one hour later for late checkout, and when i asked for a bellhop to help carry our bags down... again i was told i would have to do it myself because the bellhop was busy doing valet. that is my only complaint. anything else i found unsatisfactory, they were quick to remedy. i had a very pleasant vacation! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Bistro at the Ritz Carlton, only one block from the Royal St. Charles, has some of the BEST food in the French Quarter. i HIGHLY recommend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ponchatoula, LA
Feb 6, 2011

Good value

This was our second stay. It's the perfect location for French Quarter and Bourbon street. Valet parking is way too expensive. $39 for 24 hours. Bathroom was cramped and no stopper in tub. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed in quiet location. Good definitely outweighs the bad. Planning our next stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pascagoula, MS
Dec 9, 2010

just okay

Visited for the Bayou Classic & walked on Bourbon & Canal. The lobby is very nice, the first room we had was a one star. The second room was much better. The desk clerk lied when I requested a specific room but gave me what i asked for after I called to complain & she was rude. I was not satisfied like I wanted to be!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to Bourbon & Canal but not too close. The coffee in the lobby was also great!! The clerk had a attitude when I asked for another room..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baz
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
May 24, 2010

Decent hotel for the price

The hotel was nice except had some drunk bums hanging out on the sidewalk out front. The room was nice but the bathroom was small...think leg touching toilet as you're brushing your teeth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jan 20, 2010

The Good & the Bad

We travelled to NO the see a game at the Super Dome and visit the French Quarter. The Hotel location is a block off the end of Bourbon street which was nice. We were about a 15 min walk to french market and 20 min. to the dome. Not too bad. Trollies don't help here. My main problem was the noise. I wasn't thinking when they asked if i would like a 2nd floor balcony room. The DJay thumped his tunes late into the night (this is Nawlins ya know) and then the party seemed to move right outside my balcony after. Low shower pressure and $29 vallet per day. The valets park 5 blks away so you must give them time. Could have been worse but for $91 a day not bad. Just get a higher room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unimpressed College Student
Business
Lafayette, LA
Nov 29, 2010

Good enough

Not too bad. It sufficed, but the the front desk workers were a bit rude and short tempered.But for the price it is what expected, plus we didn't spend any time at all in the actual hotel so I can't complain too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
French Quarter tourist
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 1, 2010

Great Central Location

While not the fanciest or cleanest hotel in New Orleans, the Royal St Charles is a fine choice for the practical traveler. For the price, it's hard to beat the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fam to fiesta tx
Business
houston tx
Feb 22, 2010

Unbeatable lacation for the price

We went for Mardigras and had a great time. The location is walking distance from everywhere we wanted to go. Also the tram helped to get to a bit further places. The staff was polite and helpful. This Hotel is in a great location the rooms are a bit small but for the price it cant be beat If your looking for4 star service and rooms then stay at the Mariot or a place like that. If your looking for reasnable pricing and great location then this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jan 20, 2010

[...]

I have been to New Orleans many times, this time it was a business trip. There are many, many hotels close to the French Quarter and I picked the hotel for it's discount price. The good: The room was clean, the staf was friendly,unless you needed something, and the bed was very comfortable. They are redoing the hotel and they asked me to change rooms during my stay. This was not an issue for me, except for the strong smell of fresh paint in the new room. The bad: They just don't get it. Sure, there is a light "breakfast", where they set out 3 large pots of coffee. But all 3 are empty and no one is in a hurry to make more.(It was 7 AM) They offer free parking, if there is space left. If not, then good luck to you finding a place to park on the street- it's not their problem. Sure you can use the "business center" (one computer) to print your boarding pass, it's just that the printer is broken and has no paper. The really bad: They slap an $8 per day fee on your bill (internet access charge- I didn't bring my computer) [...] How quaint! Overall the hotel was ok. I might go back someday. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dothan, Alabama
Feb 20, 2011

Good location but with little problems

Service was very good, hotel is clean, but they have plenty of extra charges that increase the cost. I don't know about other rooms, but in my room I could hear everything that my neighbors were talking about. Luckily they fell asleep, so I could rest, too, otherwise I was close to ask for another room. I would expect a little bit more comfort in the room that is called "De luxe", for example not enough room on both sides of the bed, so if you are travelling with your wife, you might find difficult getting up at night. Probably other rooms have better relationships between walls beds and furniture. I think 75 dollars is the top price I can pay for the room like that, nevertheless I enjoyed the stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top