$91 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
352 reviews
Birthday getaway with the wife

Good location walk outside in 3 mins you at location get staff very clean hotel will come back again See full review

  • Terrell Wood
  • Jul 16, 2014
Friendly staff and clean

This hotel is in a safe location within short walking distance to everything. Rooms weren't huge... See full review

  • FLTravelerlady
  • Oct 22, 2013
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9527 -90.0697
Area served
New Orleans French Quarter
Nearby airports
MSY-New Orleans
Area description
From I-10 WEST (Airport): Take I-10 toward Westbank (US 90), exit St Charles/Carondelet Street. Continue to the 3rd light, turn left on Camp Street. Go through 7 lights, turn left on Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is one block up on the right. From I-10 EAST: Take I-10 toward the "Central Business District" (CBD), take the Canal Street Exit. At the light take a right on to Canal Street. Go approximately one mile and take a right on St. Charles Avenue. Take the first right at Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel entrance is on the right

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (352)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
352 out of 352
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Morter
Lafayette, LA
Nov 13, 2012

Worst in New Orleans I've ever stayed so far...

The locations is the only good thing going on for this Hotel, The room was freezing cold, and we couldn't change the temperature no matter what. The room was small and awkardly arranged. Our bed was pretty much in a corner, and the staff seemed to be in their own world. Took me about an hour just to check in, and there were only two of us trying to get our keys. On top of that they charge you a mandatory extra fee to use the internet connection, which doesn't even work!!! For that price a night you'd at least expect some breakfast, or something! We left pretty dissappointed, and swore never to stay there again. Ever!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bad Botique
Huntsville, Al
Aug 1, 2010

New Orleans

They gave us wrong room type, dirty floors, bad tub drainage and poor water pressure, poor quality amenities, unfriendly front desk staff. Nice location though and friendly valets. Overpriced for the quality and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Bourbon Street and Canal Street. Wear comfortable shoes cause the streets are uneven and dirty.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Franklin, La
Mar 30, 2010

Couples Retreat

My experience at the hotel was disappointing. The hotel was very neat and clean, but the hot water did not work at night. We try to let the sink run to make sure we were not doing something wrong with the shower. We called the front desk and they gave us another room, but the hot water did not work in that room either. We had to take a cold shower before bed, but when we woke up the next morning the water was hot so we took a hot shower that morning. We do not get away much and we were disappointed about the water, but we were very happy with the location being that close to Bourbon Street. We barely stayed in the room we just wanted the room to shower and sleep but we did sleep good because the bed was very comfortable. We did not get to eat at the hotel but we did like the prices of the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hattiesburg, Ms
Mar 17, 2010

Below average stay

The hotel is located in a perfect area for traveling about the French Quarters. The valet parking was very unorganized,it was frustrating to find a parking spot. The hotel was not very clean. The room furniture was out dated and the sofa was dirty, the carpet was dirty, and the mattress was old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ocean Grille

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Out of State Holiday Traveler
Jacksonville, Florida
Mar 9, 2010

Not as exiciting as you'd think

This was our first stay at the Royal St. Charles. Although the website for the hotel made it seem rather nice, staff at check-in (and other times) were not very helpful. When it came time to park the car, the "free valet parking" that is supposed to be part of the cost of the hotel (and is listed as an "amenity" on their site) is actually "first come, first served" so anyone checking in late will not be able to park. The room was also incredibly small with only 3 feet of clearance to get around. No place to put your luggage, thus no chairs or seating area save for the beds. Incredibly small and cramped for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JerryinAL
Dothan, AL, USA
Nov 27, 2013

hidden charges

They charge for a valet parking 32 dollars which is about the highest in this part of New Orleans. They also charge "added value" of 10 dollars per night for internet. Many people don't use internet, so it is definitely not fair, but is it legal? That is a question!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
north carolina
Jul 4, 2011

okay hotel but great location

the room had a window that faced nothing and was very small. would be comfortable for one person or maybe a couple that doesn't plan on sitting in the room much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

one block from canal st, 2 blocks from bourbon st.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 17, 2010

Poor service, low quality control.

My thoughts: - WiFi and telephone are daily mandatory charges not included in the main booking fee. WiFi speed is rediculously slow, 4KB/s (slower than dial-up). - No restaurant, just a simple cafe with generic coffee and muffins. - Staff aren't enthusiastic about making you feel welcome. I asked where I could get food at 11PM on a Sunday after my arrival and was instructed to just walk around. - My room had no heat and the bathroom vent was non-functional; the weather was cold outside. I informed the staff once the first time; nobody attended to it until the next day after a second complaint. I recieved a call while at the conference, apparently the heater could not be repaired, my belongings were moved to another room, not non-smoking. They immediately booked my previous room without waiting for me to return to empty the safe, so I had to leave the conference early to resolve the issue. - The location was nice, a mile from the convention center and close to many restaurants and bars. No taxi needed, except to get to the airport. - No complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is 3 blocks away. Lots of drinking, clubs/bars and restaurants in the area. Vibrant location.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bad Botique
Huntsville, Al
Aug 1, 2010

New Orleans

They gave us wrong room type, dirty floors, bad tub drainage and poor water pressure, poor quality amenities, unfriendly front desk staff. Nice location though and friendly valets. Overpriced for the quality and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Bourbon Street and Canal Street. Wear comfortable shoes cause the streets are uneven and dirty.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dude the Traveler
Detroit, MI
Feb 20, 2010

Don't bother.

Checked in monday before Mardi Gras, forced to wear a wristband for 2 days to keep street people out. Forced to pay additional $8 a day for phone/internet service, not optional per management. If you rent a car, expect another $30/day to park it there. small room with dubiously small "queen" sized bed, made even worse with a twin sized comforter. We had no maid service tuesday ( possibly due to Mardi Gras ), and maid showed up after 4pm on weds and thurs. walls are paper thin, so all neighboring tv, party, hallway activity heard easily. If you are heavy sleeper, not so bad, but creaky, squeeky streetcar passed our room six floors below from dawn to dusk and you could hear it plainly. When maid did come room was tidied fine. Continental breakfast was an asst. of Costco mini muffins and coffee in the lobby, no place to sit and eat. You are on parade route, but early in route. This means if you happen to be on other side of Canal street when any of multiple parades start, you are barricaded from your hotel unless you fight the crowds for 3 or more blocks to where parade u-turns, then fight same crowds 3 or more blocks back to your hotel. Staff seemed nice, but you really don't interact unless you are checking in or out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast is a difficult task in the French Quarter, outside of your hotel or Cafe Du Monde, and one can only eat so many fried doughnuts and live to tell the tale. Find a hotel with some kind of dining/breakfast establishment, you will find plenty of places for lunch and dinner. And really consider going car free, all the French Quarter hotels were over $25 a day premium for guest parking, versus a cab that has a flat $33 fare to or from airport and hotel.

Back to menu Return to top