$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
208 reviews
A good hotel

A nice place that was a short walk to the convention center and good restaurants. Staff was helpful... See full review

  • Norwalk G
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great Location!!!!

Staff was extremely friendly and the location was in the middle of everything! See full review

  • HillaryB
  • Oct 8, 2014
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Franklin, La
Mar 30, 2010

Couples Retreat

My experience at the hotel was disappointing. The hotel was very neat and clean, but the hot water did not work at night. We try to let the sink run to make sure we were not doing something wrong with the shower. We called the front desk and they gave us another room, but the hot water did not work in that room either. We had to take a cold shower before bed, but when we woke up the next morning the water was hot so we took a hot shower that morning. We do not get away much and we were disappointed about the water, but we were very happy with the location being that close to Bourbon Street. We barely stayed in the room we just wanted the room to shower and sleep but we did sleep good because the bed was very comfortable. We did not get to eat at the hotel but we did like the prices of the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PureLoveAnne
Business
Mississippi
Jul 8, 2010

great location is about all i can say

The location was great we were close to shoping, jackson square, and casino. We were also close to trolley, which we heard running all night long. It did'nt keep me awake ONCE I fell asleep. No pool.Vending machines ALL broke.The room was small but the most important thing for me was that it had a clean comfy bed-which it did. The bathroom however a different story, mold was on the shower head and around tub. The water barely got luke warm. Brrr;(... oh by the way, the staff, not mean, however not overly nice either...I don't think friendly is in their vocabulary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north carolina
Jul 4, 2011

okay hotel but great location

the room had a window that faced nothing and was very small. would be comfortable for one person or maybe a couple that doesn't plan on sitting in the room much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

one block from canal st, 2 blocks from bourbon st.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 17, 2010

Poor service, low quality control.

My thoughts: - WiFi and telephone are daily mandatory charges not included in the main booking fee. WiFi speed is rediculously slow, 4KB/s (slower than dial-up). - No restaurant, just a simple cafe with generic coffee and muffins. - Staff aren't enthusiastic about making you feel welcome. I asked where I could get food at 11PM on a Sunday after my arrival and was instructed to just walk around. - My room had no heat and the bathroom vent was non-functional; the weather was cold outside. I informed the staff once the first time; nobody attended to it until the next day after a second complaint. I recieved a call while at the conference, apparently the heater could not be repaired, my belongings were moved to another room, not non-smoking. They immediately booked my previous room without waiting for me to return to empty the safe, so I had to leave the conference early to resolve the issue. - The location was nice, a mile from the convention center and close to many restaurants and bars. No taxi needed, except to get to the airport. - No complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is 3 blocks away. Lots of drinking, clubs/bars and restaurants in the area. Vibrant location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bad Botique
Business
Huntsville, Al
Aug 1, 2010

New Orleans

They gave us wrong room type, dirty floors, bad tub drainage and poor water pressure, poor quality amenities, unfriendly front desk staff. Nice location though and friendly valets. Overpriced for the quality and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Bourbon Street and Canal Street. Wear comfortable shoes cause the streets are uneven and dirty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Katy, TX
Nov 10, 2009

Great location

Very clean and nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler123
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 15, 2010

Mardi Gras 2010

This hotel was in a great location for Mardi Gras. The girl who checked us in - curly brunette - was really sweet but everyone else after that seemed uninterested and unfriendly at best. The room served its purpose, to give us a place to stay during mardi gras. However, the carpet was gross, the beds seemed old, there were stains on the walls, and the toilet handle was broken, among other things. We also randomly found hairs in the towels and sheets. This hotel just seemed old and kind of gross. With the money they inevitably make during Mardi Gras, you'd think they could spring for an upgrade. It wasn't the worst place I've stayed though..it was solidly average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
purvis mississippi
May 18, 2010

great location, grat price

We had a blast, walking distance to everything! Staff was great, look forward to visiting again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Slidell, LA
Jun 8, 2010

Great Location

The desk personnel was very friendly and helpful. The valet could have been more helpful. All the parking places were taken and we didn't know what to do with our car. He was talking on the phone and didn't acknowledge our presence and we had to wait to ask him...even then he wasn't particularly helpful. The valet that brought our car back at the end of our stay was friendlier and prompt. We've stayed all over New Orleans and the stay was average. I would recommend this hotel for the price. It was a cute little room, but not well maintained. There were stains on the walls and furniture and a little mold around the bathtub. We loved the location as it was within walking distance of everything we wanted to do and was on the street car route for when we didn't want to walk too far, but the street car made our room very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the street car to the museums. It is a pretty long walk and I wouldn't recommend walking it after dark.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Professor R
Business
Monroe, LA
Nov 29, 2010

Not so great

The room was really tiny and the second person had to crawl to get into the bed. If that was a queen-sized bed, they must have started making them smaller. The door to the bathroom would hardly swing shut and clear the toilet. However, the staff in the lobby were friendly and helpful. Having half off on valet parking isn't much good when it is "full."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay away when there is a major event going on in the city, or alternatively don't bring a car. We were tied up in traffic for hours to go about 6 blocks, and also found many streets blocked off making it nearly impossible to return to the hotel after going out for an event. Access to the streetcars is very convenient, and the French Quarter is just across Canal Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top