$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Royal St. Charles

4 stars
View map of 135 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JerryinAL
Business
Dothan, AL, USA
Nov 27, 2013

hidden charges

They charge for a valet parking 32 dollars which is about the highest in this part of New Orleans. They also charge "added value" of 10 dollars per night for internet. Many people don't use internet, so it is definitely not fair, but is it legal? That is a question!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PureLoveAnne
Business
Mississippi
Jul 8, 2010

great location is about all i can say

The location was great we were close to shoping, jackson square, and casino. We were also close to trolley, which we heard running all night long. It did'nt keep me awake ONCE I fell asleep. No pool.Vending machines ALL broke.The room was small but the most important thing for me was that it had a clean comfy bed-which it did. The bathroom however a different story, mold was on the shower head and around tub. The water barely got luke warm. Brrr;(... oh by the way, the staff, not mean, however not overly nice either...I don't think friendly is in their vocabulary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north carolina
Jul 4, 2011

okay hotel but great location

the room had a window that faced nothing and was very small. would be comfortable for one person or maybe a couple that doesn't plan on sitting in the room much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

one block from canal st, 2 blocks from bourbon st.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 17, 2010

Poor service, low quality control.

My thoughts: - WiFi and telephone are daily mandatory charges not included in the main booking fee. WiFi speed is rediculously slow, 4KB/s (slower than dial-up). - No restaurant, just a simple cafe with generic coffee and muffins. - Staff aren't enthusiastic about making you feel welcome. I asked where I could get food at 11PM on a Sunday after my arrival and was instructed to just walk around. - My room had no heat and the bathroom vent was non-functional; the weather was cold outside. I informed the staff once the first time; nobody attended to it until the next day after a second complaint. I recieved a call while at the conference, apparently the heater could not be repaired, my belongings were moved to another room, not non-smoking. They immediately booked my previous room without waiting for me to return to empty the safe, so I had to leave the conference early to resolve the issue. - The location was nice, a mile from the convention center and close to many restaurants and bars. No taxi needed, except to get to the airport. - No complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is 3 blocks away. Lots of drinking, clubs/bars and restaurants in the area. Vibrant location.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bad Botique
Business
Huntsville, Al
Aug 1, 2010

New Orleans

They gave us wrong room type, dirty floors, bad tub drainage and poor water pressure, poor quality amenities, unfriendly front desk staff. Nice location though and friendly valets. Overpriced for the quality and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Bourbon Street and Canal Street. Wear comfortable shoes cause the streets are uneven and dirty.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patrick_mcawesome
Business
Pensacola FL
Apr 1, 2010

Royal St. Charles

I was just staying overnight on my way home from work, the hotel was extremely close to the French Quarter, which was good, but that was the only good thing about it. The staff was very unhelpful ie: I tried to get a TV guide and it took several hours, they promised a safe in the room, and there was none, and the continental breakfast was horrible. The only decent thing they did was call me a cab when it was time to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Always want to be on a vacation
Business
Chicago, IL
May 12, 2011

Decent Hotel but nothing great

Decent hotel with a decent looking lobby. When we got to the room, much smaller than I expected. Had stayed there before and had a bigger room previously. The phone didn't work at all so couldn't get a wake up call which they came and fixed in the morning when we checked out. Also the cable had gone out for the hotel. They did however refund our $8 fee for things like wifi, cable tv, access to work center, etc. Cheap for the area though and you get what you pay for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dude the Traveler
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 20, 2010

Don't bother.

Checked in monday before Mardi Gras, forced to wear a wristband for 2 days to keep street people out. Forced to pay additional $8 a day for phone/internet service, not optional per management. If you rent a car, expect another $30/day to park it there. small room with dubiously small "queen" sized bed, made even worse with a twin sized comforter. We had no maid service tuesday ( possibly due to Mardi Gras ), and maid showed up after 4pm on weds and thurs. walls are paper thin, so all neighboring tv, party, hallway activity heard easily. If you are heavy sleeper, not so bad, but creaky, squeeky streetcar passed our room six floors below from dawn to dusk and you could hear it plainly. When maid did come room was tidied fine. Continental breakfast was an asst. of Costco mini muffins and coffee in the lobby, no place to sit and eat. You are on parade route, but early in route. This means if you happen to be on other side of Canal street when any of multiple parades start, you are barricaded from your hotel unless you fight the crowds for 3 or more blocks to where parade u-turns, then fight same crowds 3 or more blocks back to your hotel. Staff seemed nice, but you really don't interact unless you are checking in or out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast is a difficult task in the French Quarter, outside of your hotel or Cafe Du Monde, and one can only eat so many fried doughnuts and live to tell the tale. Find a hotel with some kind of dining/breakfast establishment, you will find plenty of places for lunch and dinner. And really consider going car free, all the French Quarter hotels were over $25 a day premium for guest parking, versus a cab that has a flat $33 fare to or from airport and hotel.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plaquemine, la
Feb 1, 2010

No parking!

There is no parking near the hotel except for along the side of the street which is usually always full. We spent about 40 minutes riding around the block trying to find a parking spot which ended up three blocks from the hotel. The hotel will take your vehicle to there parking garage and park it for you free of charge. The kicker is finding a parking spot in front of the hotel. This parking catastrophie caused our checkin to take over an hour to get checked in and have the hotel park my vechicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hattiesburg, Ms
Mar 17, 2010

Below average stay

The hotel is located in a perfect area for traveling about the French Quarters. The valet parking was very unorganized,it was frustrating to find a parking spot. The hotel was not very clean. The room furniture was out dated and the sofa was dirty, the carpet was dirty, and the mattress was old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ocean Grille

Back to menu Return to top