$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
205 reviews
Birthday getaway with the wife

Good location walk outside in 3 mins you at location get staff very clean hotel will come back again See full review

  • Terrell Wood
  • Jul 16, 2014
Friendly staff and clean

This hotel is in a safe location within short walking distance to everything. Rooms weren't huge... See full review

  • FLTravelerlady
  • Oct 22, 2013
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9527 -90.0697
Area served
New Orleans French Quarter
Nearby airports
MSY-New Orleans
Area description
From I-10 WEST (Airport): Take I-10 toward Westbank (US 90), exit St Charles/Carondelet Street. Continue to the 3rd light, turn left on Camp Street. Go through 7 lights, turn left on Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is one block up on the right. From I-10 EAST: Take I-10 toward the "Central Business District" (CBD), take the Canal Street Exit. At the light take a right on to Canal Street. Go approximately one mile and take a right on St. Charles Avenue. Take the first right at Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel entrance is on the right

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (205)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bach Man
New Orleans, LA
Apr 19, 2010

Kind of a Dump

The stay at the hotel was far from enjoyable. The only positive I could find was the location. The rooms were very small with very little accomodations. The staff was very difficult to work with and couldn't seem to understand the slightest requests. Next time I will spend a little extra and go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ERHQ
Birmingham, AL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Weekend Trip

The hotel was not what I expected being in the heart of the french quarter, It was too expensive for the ammenities it had. It is close to most of the activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patrick_mcawesome
Business
Pensacola FL
Apr 1, 2010

Royal St. Charles

I was just staying overnight on my way home from work, the hotel was extremely close to the French Quarter, which was good, but that was the only good thing about it. The staff was very unhelpful ie: I tried to get a TV guide and it took several hours, they promised a safe in the room, and there was none, and the continental breakfast was horrible. The only decent thing they did was call me a cab when it was time to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
north carolina
Aug 26, 2010

great value

great location. valet parking price was included. small note said subject to availabilty. was able to get parking only with a big tip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to bourburn street. great price. great location. parking worth 25$ mikn/day included. also voucher for river cruise included. great coffe shop/.Staff mostly unfriendly untrained. bathroom very small. 8$ internet compulsary pkg good value

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Always want to be on a vacation
Chicago, IL
May 12, 2011

Decent Hotel but nothing great

Decent hotel with a decent looking lobby. When we got to the room, much smaller than I expected. Had stayed there before and had a bigger room previously. The phone didn't work at all so couldn't get a wake up call which they came and fixed in the morning when we checked out. Also the cable had gone out for the hotel. They did however refund our $8 fee for things like wifi, cable tv, access to work center, etc. Cheap for the area though and you get what you pay for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PureLoveAnne
Mississippi
Jul 8, 2010

great location is about all i can say

The location was great we were close to shoping, jackson square, and casino. We were also close to trolley, which we heard running all night long. It did'nt keep me awake ONCE I fell asleep. No pool.Vending machines ALL broke.The room was small but the most important thing for me was that it had a clean comfy bed-which it did. The bathroom however a different story, mold was on the shower head and around tub. The water barely got luke warm. Brrr;(... oh by the way, the staff, not mean, however not overly nice either...I don't think friendly is in their vocabulary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JonieSue
California
May 8, 2012

Great location, good staff

The location is great. Most of the staff was nice. But: the rooms are SMALL. First room, so small we asked for a new one. Second room, slightly bigger, but it smelled like cigarette smoke, very strong and bad. A whole bottle of freshener plus what the maid used and it was still stinky. My unworn clothes smelled when I unpacked. The whole hotel is non-smoking, by the way. Third room was a better size, but we were there 12 days and didn't move in until day 9. The elevators were fast and plentiful. We never waited. The bathrooms were nice, enough room mostly and functional. The staff was accomodating for the most part. We did buy a noise generator on our first day, due to noisy neighbors. The lobby is industrial--no place to sit. The exercise bike was broken. Internet was OK in the room, but we could not print from a website in the "business center"--one PC and one printer. There was a $9 charge for the fitness center and internet, too.The room furniture was all broken, delaminating. All in all, I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The American Sector restaurant in the WWII Museum is awesome. A John Besh restaurant, with great food. The Museum is good, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
painpt
Business
Bethesda, MD
Feb 13, 2011

Room in the Datk

[...] I had reserved a "deluxe suite". The room was a small one-room accommodation without windows (!), a leaking toilet, no dresser with drawers, and a tv remote that worked every now and then. The free wireless internet connection worked very well and the bed was comfortable, but that is about all I liked about this "boutique hotel". My room did not look anything like the pictures of the "suites" on the hotel's website, was not a suite, and was not "spacious". Disappointing hotel in nearly every aspect. I stay in hotels nearly every other week and this one ranked toward the bottom of the list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Plaquemine, la
Feb 1, 2010

No parking!

There is no parking near the hotel except for along the side of the street which is usually always full. We spent about 40 minutes riding around the block trying to find a parking spot which ended up three blocks from the hotel. The hotel will take your vehicle to there parking garage and park it for you free of charge. The kicker is finding a parking spot in front of the hotel. This parking catastrophie caused our checkin to take over an hour to get checked in and have the hotel park my vechicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Charles, La
Jun 30, 2011

Great location not so great atmosphere.

The hotel seemed a bit expensive for what you got. The room wasn't very clean, there were stains on the floor, & our 'queen' bed was definitely only a full. But it was a short walking distance to bourbon st so the location made up for what it lacked in comfort & luster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a short walk to Bourbon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search