$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
View map of 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
209 reviews
A good hotel

A nice place that was a short walk to the convention center and good restaurants. Staff was helpful... See full review

  • Norwalk G
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great Location!!!!

Staff was extremely friendly and the location was in the middle of everything! See full review

  • HillaryB
  • Oct 8, 2014
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bach Man
Business
New Orleans, LA
Apr 19, 2010

Kind of a Dump

The stay at the hotel was far from enjoyable. The only positive I could find was the location. The rooms were very small with very little accomodations. The staff was very difficult to work with and couldn't seem to understand the slightest requests. Next time I will spend a little extra and go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bender
Business
Munich, Germany
Jun 12, 2010

"Nice hotel but expensive valet parking"

the rooms been very clean and cheap, but very petty. The location was good. But for valet parking we had to pay 29Dollar/night insolently!!And also they remodeled the breaksfast area. so we must eat our breakfast in the lobby without seats. The breakfast self was awful.Just muffins and coffee. Nothing else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Jun 20, 2011

there was no windows in the room

i really enjoyed my trip,just coming back to a hotel with no windows was not good,the bath room tub needs refacing,but other then that i wont stay there again,but i am going back for two weeks in sept or dec

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

it was a nice place called dannies or danna sea food was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ERHQ
Business
Birmingham, AL, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Weekend Trip

The hotel was not what I expected being in the heart of the french quarter, It was too expensive for the ammenities it had. It is close to most of the activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JonieSue
Business
California
May 8, 2012

Great location, good staff

The location is great. Most of the staff was nice. But: the rooms are SMALL. First room, so small we asked for a new one. Second room, slightly bigger, but it smelled like cigarette smoke, very strong and bad. A whole bottle of freshener plus what the maid used and it was still stinky. My unworn clothes smelled when I unpacked. The whole hotel is non-smoking, by the way. Third room was a better size, but we were there 12 days and didn't move in until day 9. The elevators were fast and plentiful. We never waited. The bathrooms were nice, enough room mostly and functional. The staff was accomodating for the most part. We did buy a noise generator on our first day, due to noisy neighbors. The lobby is industrial--no place to sit. The exercise bike was broken. Internet was OK in the room, but we could not print from a website in the "business center"--one PC and one printer. There was a $9 charge for the fitness center and internet, too.The room furniture was all broken, delaminating. All in all, I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The American Sector restaurant in the WWII Museum is awesome. A John Besh restaurant, with great food. The Museum is good, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Morter
Business
Lafayette, LA
Nov 13, 2012

Worst in New Orleans I've ever stayed so far...

The locations is the only good thing going on for this Hotel, The room was freezing cold, and we couldn't change the temperature no matter what. The room was small and awkardly arranged. Our bed was pretty much in a corner, and the staff seemed to be in their own world. Took me about an hour just to check in, and there were only two of us trying to get our keys. On top of that they charge you a mandatory extra fee to use the internet connection, which doesn't even work!!! For that price a night you'd at least expect some breakfast, or something! We left pretty dissappointed, and swore never to stay there again. Ever!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sweetsoutherntraveler
Business
Jackson, Mississippi
Nov 26, 2012

Worst Hotel Stay

I planned a trip to New Orleans recently and chose the Royal St. Charles Hotel, and now wish I would have just stayed at a major chain hotel. It lacked southern hospitality, or any hospitality at all and nothing made it stand out. First off, the hotel itself was hard to find, then the valet was nowhere to be found and no one was at the desk to help me figure out where to park or to check in. Then finally when staff members did show up, they were rude, unwelcoming and unhelpful and did not apologize for the wait. Only one person was working the desk for check in time on the weekend of a Saints game and the parking was double the price it normally is whcih wsa not told to me before I got there. When I called to ask for extra pillows and blankets, the lady seemed put off by my request. The room was nothing special and was quite small. The shower was a small trickle and the water was not hot. Upon checkout, it took 45 minutes for the valet to retrieve my car and the lady at the front test was again rude and did not even thank me for my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JerryinAL
Business
Dothan, AL, USA
May 13, 2013

is it okay?

Is it okay to charge for the internet and long distance calls if the customer does not use them? In this hotel they charge for it. Room was small, the bathroom was even smaller, simply tiny, not enough space for two. Best thing is location and cleanness of the room, I can't complain about these.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JerryinAL
Business
Dothan, AL, USA
Nov 27, 2013

hidden charges

They charge for a valet parking 32 dollars which is about the highest in this part of New Orleans. They also charge "added value" of 10 dollars per night for internet. Many people don't use internet, so it is definitely not fair, but is it legal? That is a question!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patrick_mcawesome
Business
Pensacola FL
Apr 1, 2010

Royal St. Charles

I was just staying overnight on my way home from work, the hotel was extremely close to the French Quarter, which was good, but that was the only good thing about it. The staff was very unhelpful ie: I tried to get a TV guide and it took several hours, they promised a safe in the room, and there was none, and the continental breakfast was horrible. The only decent thing they did was call me a cab when it was time to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top