$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
208 reviews
A good hotel

A nice place that was a short walk to the convention center and good restaurants. Staff was helpful... See full review

  • Norwalk G
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great Location!!!!

Staff was extremely friendly and the location was in the middle of everything! See full review

  • HillaryB
  • Oct 8, 2014
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 24, 2011

Find a different hotel!!!

Spacious? Really? The room was tiny. The air conditioner was extremely loud and didn't work well. Walls are paper thin!!! The TV was hard to watch through all the "snow" on every channel. Modern? If you call cigarette burns in the bedding and curtain modern! I do not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in New Orleans
Business
Fl
Jul 20, 2011

PLEASE AVOID THIS HOTEL

Please avoid this hotel at all cost I beg of you. Their equipment i.e. their door malfunctioned to the point that their employees were able to in and steal over 2000 dollars worth of technology!! What makes it worse the general manager could give a rats toe what happened to my best friend and I. We felt like we were less than nothing although we were out 2500 (the cost of our stuff and hotel cost) She did not care to make anything right. Please spend your money at a better hotel with a real name Hilton, Sheraton etc I do not want this to happen to anyone else. Nothing but theives and inconsiderate people its just sad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
McNeese Cowboy Fan
Business
Lake Charles,LA
Oct 16, 2010

Good, bad, and ugly!

Nice contemperary styling, with great coffe shop rift in the lobby. Unfortunately, that's where the compliments end. Tee-tiny rooms make you feel like your staying in a hostel. Awful guest service at the front desk and I hope you don't have any plans the following morning, because you will be asked to call valet 45min. prior to departure(we called 60 min. ahead). Plus spent another 45 min.+ waiting on our vehicle.(no beignets for us) Never seen anything quite like it as far as valet goes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Avoid valet parking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Mar 13, 2011

Royal St Charles

My stay at the hotel came the weekend immediately following the annual Mardi Gras celebration, hence the excuse my husband offered for the dirty hotel rooms and hallways. The hotel personnel were great and very helpful, but that did not compensate for my disappointment. I spent $1500 for three rooms that reminded me of a bad movie. The carpet was soiled throughout the facility and my room smelled like pot. I requested a blanket and I was given some off colored sponge fabric. This was a complete rip off! In the future I will stick with the hotel chains. There was nothing quaint about this boutique hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kickoff
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 11, 2010

Overrated

Desperately in need of updating, took 3 tries before we got a room that was actually prepared when we opened the door, cramped small rooms, definitely overrated, not a 3 star, only 1

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pabmama
Business
Tampa, FL
Feb 9, 2010

Terrible

The pictures of this hotel are nothing like the real thing. I felt like I was shoved in a closet. They do have better rooms, but how are you supposed to know if you are getting the nice one in the pictures or if you are getting the closet?? The hotel was not very clean, parking was a nightmare. I understand that I was there during a very busy time, but then they should have extra help to deal with it. I would never go to this hotel again and would never reccommend it to anyone. The breakfast was a joke to say the least. There is no concierge to help you find or reccommend places to go. Good thing we didn't spend much time in the room, since we were partying on Bourbon street for the superbowl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Charles, LA
Nov 12, 2009

TERRIBLE hotel stay!!!

My experience at this hotel was one I never want to have again!! The staff was very rude, the rooms were uncomfortable and so small you could barely move!!! The worst of it all was parking we had free parking included in our package and when we got to the hotel to check in we were told parking was first come first serve and we ended up having to park 2 miles down the road and pay an extra thirty dollars to park in the garage. I would not recommend anyone stay at this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nerrens
Business
Natchez, MS
Jun 28, 2010

The place is a dump

No room safe as advertised, wall paper peeling, mildew and mold in bathrooms, broken furniture, pillows torn, no dining area, no pool, bed hard as a rock, remotes do not work, filthy bathrooms. 1 bar of soap and 1/2 bottle shampoo in room. Would not refund money back. Would never recommend Nerrens Natchez, MS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 1, 2010

Quiet location but not attractive at all

Would not recommend. Take off list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ruston, LA
Apr 30, 2010

Hotel...out, [...]

It started with my reservation being wrong and one of my rooms not booked. Wehn we got to our rooms 340 minutes later (because the staff was clueless) the rooms smelled like an ashtray, sheets had not been changed and the bathrooms were dirty. I will never go to this hotel again or book through [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top