$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
209 reviews
A good hotel

A nice place that was a short walk to the convention center and good restaurants. Staff was helpful... See full review

  • Norwalk G
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great Location!!!!

Staff was extremely friendly and the location was in the middle of everything! See full review

  • HillaryB
  • Oct 8, 2014
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryron
Austin, Texas
Jun 27, 2012

Excellent location right by the Quarter

I'm having trouble understanding why this hotel only averages a 3 star rating. The staff was accomodating, the location absolutely perfect, and the room ( a single king) just what I was looking for. Nothing extravagant, but instead just the perfect size to relax after a day (or night) in the French Quarter. I have a feeling that I'll be back here, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOLA Kinda girl
Business
Indianapolis
Oct 26, 2010

ROYAL ST. CHARLES

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days and ended up having several issues. There was no phone or clock in the room. The ice machine on our floor was broken and ended up not getting repaired the whole time we were there so we had to go to another floor to get ice. Some of the staff were nice but then some were rude and short with us if we asked questions about the area. We did not always get hot water for our showers. The only thing that was good about this hotel was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is alot of walking involved to get to all the lovely places in the area so bring at lease one pair of wearable shoes. Keep a map with you so you can get to the great dining spots but a word of caution don`t use it when going out on Bourbon St at night. There are so many good things to eat and so little time. But I do always go to Jonnys for my po-boys when I am in town. Last but not least be smart about partying, know your limit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 11, 2011

Rude-al St. Charles

Well it all started off at check in where our room type was changed from 2 doubles to a senior king which consisted of a king bed and sofa bed by being told "It's all we have left." I was then told to give my valet slip to "them" and when I asked "who?" was rudely pointed in the direction of the valet stand. Later, after a night out we returned to our room, pulled out our sofa bed to find one single duvet cover on top with no duvet inside, not a fitted sheet in sight! So, we call down to the desk to request some sheets, pillows and blankets and are informed that the laundry is closed and they will "try". About an hour later we get a knock on the door; it's someone delivering 2 flat sheets! We ended up sleeping 3 in a bed and one poor friend slept wrapped up in a bunch of sheets with a sweater for a blanket. The last and final straw was picking up the cars from the valet at checkout when we went to get our cars, there was no valet in sight. After a few minutes of milling around the desk area (clearly in view of the front desk) we decided to go look outside. Still, no valet. Finally, we return to the front desk to ask where the valet might be only to find out she had our keys all along! And they were returned to us without a word, slapped down on the counter. We definitely will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bennechin african restaurant was amazing and affordable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Erwire
Business
Louisville KY
Feb 24, 2013

Total Experience Was Aweful

The hotel moved my reservation to their "sister" hotel. It was 8 blocks away, dirty and didn't even have hot water. The front desk staff at the Royal was rude and not helpful and they refused to let me speak to a manager. They didn't even offer to cover the cost of transportation to the other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Texas Knight
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 27, 2010

Poor value for the money

This is a small hotel about a block off Canal street in downtown. The staff was not friendly nor helpful, it gave us the feeling of being in the way rather than guests. We interrupted the front desk staff's personal phone calls each time we had a question. The room was fairly clean, but very small...no chair or loveseat for sitting and no desk area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deanie's restaurant is a short walk down Royal Street and the fried artichoke hearts should not be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans
Feb 14, 2011

worst experience of my life

From the moment we arrived it was all disappointment, no parking was avaliable only 5 or 6 first come first serve Valet parking for $29 (which is on the side of the street) the front desk attendants were rude,even the General Manager was rude and no help at all the #7 on one of the elevators was broken. The rooms were small with only the basics bed, tv, and bathroom... no extra amenities...like Hot Water! phone had no label no Tv guide for the televison, no iron, I thought it was no coffee pot but i later found it at the top of the closet because there was no desk or table in the room to lay it on No Bible, no view, the bed didnt sleep well and there's a $8.95 resort fee for what should come with the room for free Internet, telephone usage and the Gym,,, I will never go back this way again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chubby Checker
Business
Tupelo MS
Nov 30, 2010

bayou classic football weekend

The whole experience from start to finish was bad. The desk clerk was not very freindly. When entering the room,the bedding looked as though someone had slept on it and the carpeting was very soiled. The heating never worked in the room. I don't plan to stay there again and would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed from DC
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 18, 2010

Won't stay there again

Stayed here a few years back for work and just went again for pleasure. Last time my only complaint was slow service at the desk and with the valet. This time nearly everything was a huge disappointment except the location. While the location can't be beat, the place has gotten really shabby. Honestly, I would describe it as a dump. On arrival we were given a room that was almost no bigger than the bed. After agreeing to pay extra we were upgraded to a room that was marginally bigger, but hadn't yet been cleaned. Our third room was a nice size, so we stuck with it. However, it had plenty of problems. Cigarette burns on the carpet, a drawer missing from the dresser, dangling wires where the smoke detector once was, no toilet paper holder (just a roll set on the back of the tank), paint or spackle spread around on the bathroom wallpaper, parts of the bed frame sticking out on one side of the bed where we tripped on them. If not for the fact that we didn't want to have to argue to get out of our pre-payment and the fact that it was a busy weekend for hotels in New Orleans, we would've checked out and gone somewhere else. We stayed and had a nice weekend whenever we weren't in our room. If I were a college kid in town for Mardi Gras I might stay here for the location & the price, but the Royal St, Charles is in no way a "boutique" hotel. (Unless "boutique" is now french for "dump".)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Oct 25, 2010

Not very impressed

Room service was horrible. The carpet in the room was wet throughout the stay. WiFi did not work half the time and the "in the room safe" was broken. They still charge you for the WiFi and the usage of the safe box.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus OH
Jan 4, 2010

Never again

Dirty, noisy, just overall bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to lots of stuff in the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 7, 2010

parking nightmare

Upon arrival, there was no parking to check in. Had to park in the road, wait an hour for the valet to take my car to the parking lot that is 7 blocks away. Went to room, found out it is the size of a match box. The next morning called the front desk to get my car. Valet could not find my car, and all together waited two hours for them to bring my car to me. I was not the only one waiting though, the lobby was filled with upset guests. I would not recommend this hotel, although it was a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top