$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Royal St. Charles

4 stars
View map of 135 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
229 reviews
A good hotel

A nice place that was a short walk to the convention center and good restaurants. Staff was helpful... See full review

  • Norwalk G
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great Location!!!!

Staff was extremely friendly and the location was in the middle of everything! See full review

  • HillaryB
  • Oct 8, 2014
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay
  • Self-parking fee is $20 per day plus tax. Parking is located 3 blocks from the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Superior King
Superior King Room-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safes
Balcony King
King Balcony Room-balcony with Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Junior Suite King
Junior Suite King-separate lounge area-Modern 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Superior Queen
Superior Queen Room-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safe
Large Two Queen Suite Balcony
Large 2 Queen -Private balcony-Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Superior Two Doubles
Superior 2 Doubles-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safe
Large King Suite Balcony
Large King Suite-Private balcony w-Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

PJs Coffee
The Royal St. Charles Hotel proudly brews PJs Coffee daily in its very own PJs Coffee cafe. The location features ample seating for guests and visitors to relax and unwind while enjoying some of the savory New Orleans coffee served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 229
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katelyn B.
Business
Aurora
Dec 17, 2014

Great weekend trip

We had a great time at this hotel. We had called the night before we arrived and asked if we could have a room with a balcony. When we arrived we couldn't quite yet check in and the hotel took our bags and stored them for us and parked the car. We went back after eating and were welcomed by friendly staff. Our room was typical size hotel room with a very nice balcony. The bathroom was quite small but it was not an issue. Our biggest complaint was there is not a fitted sheet on the bed, just a regular sheet that continued to come off when we slept. The location is Great- just a few blocks to Bourbon street but quite enough to let us sleep. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Dress Run
Business
Visitor
Aug 12, 2014

Good

Good bed. Very small room, and were only 2 people. had all the basics including hair dryer, nothing out of the ordinary. 36$/night for valet. average price, good location, close to walk to lots of places including bourbon/magazine/FQ/Jackson Square, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Gravy Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coco and tio
Business
Houma louisiana
Aug 7, 2014

Patents night out

This hotel is very conveniently located. Was great for a quick stay! Pjs coffee downstairs came in handy with a Late check in and early check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oysters

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ibolo
Business
Dallas
Jul 18, 2014

Great stay in New Orleans

Hotel staff is very corteous, and really willing to help. The hotel is great under many aspects, it s very clean is stylish, but most of all is in a great spot and nottoo pricy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terrell Wood
Business
Royla St.Charles Hotel New Orleans
Jul 16, 2014

Birthday getaway with the wife

Good location walk outside in 3 mins you at location get staff very clean hotel will come back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

had a blast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chanda Happy Customer
Business
Alexandria, Louisiana
Jul 5, 2014

Very Clean

The staff was SUPER nice. . . .friendly, smiling faces and greeted us each time we walked in the lobby. This is a good location and easy to walk to everything. It is a clean hotel. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

We arrived in town around 10:30 a.m. The hotel staff recommended that we check-in even though the room wasn't available yet. We left our luggage with them and they valet parked the car. We headed out for lunch and the French Quarters. When we came back around 3:30 it was so easy to pick up our bags and head to the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
starryerin night
Business
Mobile,Al
Jun 26, 2014

excellent place to lay your head

Checking in was short, sweet, and organized. The rooms were shockingly small, but this was not a prob for us as we only used the room for sleeping. But even though the room was small, it was cozy, and the bed was a vacation in itself. I loved the decor, and I will be staying here next time we go to New Orleans as it was within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. Overall, great place to have a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rubyred6
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jan 16, 2014

Great Location

The hotel was in a great location. Just one block from Canal Street, which means one block away from the start of the French Quarter. There is a street car that runs right by the hotel. The street car is noisy, but if you are tired from walking and used to big city high traffic road noise you won't mind it. Even though it's noisy, it is a great and cheap mode of transportation right next to the hotel. After all, the hotel is nice and clean. It has a coffee shop downstairs, and the staff was really nice and helpful. I had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarieTraveler
Business
Northeast
Nov 22, 2013

Good Deal for NOLA

Front desk was very helpful and the location is great.. super close to french quarter and bourbon st, etc. Also, close to street cars. Biggest thing I didn't like was the size of the room.. TINY! I don't think I've ever stayed in a room quite so small. However, if you're there to have fun, you won't be in your room much, so it does not really matter. I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New Orleans traveler
Business
Lafayette la
Aug 2, 2013

Good price and great location

We come to NOLA several times a year and the Royal Saint Charles has become our "go to choice". In a safe neighborhood right across canal from bourbon and the quarter. An easy walk away for the noise of Bourbon for a quiet nights sleep when your fun is over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top