$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Royal St. Charles

4 stars
View map of 135 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryron
Austin, Texas
Jun 27, 2012

Excellent location right by the Quarter

I'm having trouble understanding why this hotel only averages a 3 star rating. The staff was accomodating, the location absolutely perfect, and the room ( a single king) just what I was looking for. Nothing extravagant, but instead just the perfect size to relax after a day (or night) in the French Quarter. I have a feeling that I'll be back here, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petersburg, IN
Feb 17, 2011

Royal St. Charles, New Orleans, LA.

The room was clean, the staff was friendly, the room was very up to date and nice, but the curtains would not close as the rod was bent and the light from the street came in all night. The room was small. The noise from the street was loud all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

To the French Quarter it is a long walk or a short drive which every you would want to do. If you walk and walk to the French Market it over a 4 mile walk.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
$2 Dave
Business
Northvale NJ
Feb 14, 2011

Great Location

The hotel is well located near the French Quarter and Casino and a moderate walk to the Convention Center. The staff was very helpful and the lobby was well appointed. I was on the top floor (10th) and looked forward to a view. The room was small with no window. It might be worth asking for one of the rooms with windows if you stay here or if not getting a low floor as the elevators were very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans
Feb 14, 2011

worst experience of my life

From the moment we arrived it was all disappointment, no parking was avaliable only 5 or 6 first come first serve Valet parking for $29 (which is on the side of the street) the front desk attendants were rude,even the General Manager was rude and no help at all the #7 on one of the elevators was broken. The rooms were small with only the basics bed, tv, and bathroom... no extra amenities...like Hot Water! phone had no label no Tv guide for the televison, no iron, I thought it was no coffee pot but i later found it at the top of the closet because there was no desk or table in the room to lay it on No Bible, no view, the bed didnt sleep well and there's a $8.95 resort fee for what should come with the room for free Internet, telephone usage and the Gym,,, I will never go back this way again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
painpt
Business
Bethesda, MD
Feb 13, 2011

Room in the Datk

[...] I had reserved a "deluxe suite". The room was a small one-room accommodation without windows (!), a leaking toilet, no dresser with drawers, and a tv remote that worked every now and then. The free wireless internet connection worked very well and the bed was comfortable, but that is about all I liked about this "boutique hotel". My room did not look anything like the pictures of the "suites" on the hotel's website, was not a suite, and was not "spacious". Disappointing hotel in nearly every aspect. I stay in hotels nearly every other week and this one ranked toward the bottom of the list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 11, 2011

Rude-al St. Charles

Well it all started off at check in where our room type was changed from 2 doubles to a senior king which consisted of a king bed and sofa bed by being told "It's all we have left." I was then told to give my valet slip to "them" and when I asked "who?" was rudely pointed in the direction of the valet stand. Later, after a night out we returned to our room, pulled out our sofa bed to find one single duvet cover on top with no duvet inside, not a fitted sheet in sight! So, we call down to the desk to request some sheets, pillows and blankets and are informed that the laundry is closed and they will "try". About an hour later we get a knock on the door; it's someone delivering 2 flat sheets! We ended up sleeping 3 in a bed and one poor friend slept wrapped up in a bunch of sheets with a sweater for a blanket. The last and final straw was picking up the cars from the valet at checkout when we went to get our cars, there was no valet in sight. After a few minutes of milling around the desk area (clearly in view of the front desk) we decided to go look outside. Still, no valet. Finally, we return to the front desk to ask where the valet might be only to find out she had our keys all along! And they were returned to us without a word, slapped down on the counter. We definitely will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bennechin african restaurant was amazing and affordable!

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 11, 2011

Rude-al St. Charles

Well it all started off at check in where our room type was changed from 2 doubles to a senior king which consisted of a king bed and sofa bed by being told "It's all we have left." I was then told to give my valet slip to "them" and when I asked "who?" was rudely pointed in the direction of the valet stand. Later, after a night out we returned to our room, pulled out our sofa bed to find one single duvet cover on top with no duvet inside, not a fitted sheet in sight! So, we call down to the desk to request some sheets, pillows and blankets and are informed that the laundry is closed and they will "try". About an hour later we get a knock on the door; it's someone delivering 2 flat sheets! We ended up sleeping 3 in a bed and one poor friend slept wrapped up in a bunch of sheets with a sweater for a blanket. The last and final straw was picking up the cars from the valet at checkout when we went to get our cars, there was no valet in sight. After a few minutes of milling around the desk area (clearly in view of the front desk) we decided to go look outside. Still, no valet. Finally, we return to the front desk to ask where the valet might be only to find out she had our keys all along! And they were returned to us without a word, slapped down on the counter. We definitely will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bennechin african restaurant was amazing and affordable!

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland Ohio
Feb 10, 2011

Cool, no really, cool...nice hotel

Stayed 2 days prior to cruise, excellent location St. Charles line is right out the door, Casino and Bourbon street. walking distant, As for the Basillica and Cafe Monde, nice hike along the river 15 20 minute walk. Easy cab to the port, set fee 7 dollars per person. I thought with the location of the hotel and port I'll walk it, but with rolling luggage its a longerwalk than anticipatd, take a cab.. Need a smoking room dbl. got as requested, but no ashtrays and no tv remote...first night heat didn't work (frozen toes here), but were quickly assigned another room with heat, ashtrays and remote. The second basic room set-up anemities, extras, information, were inconsistant with the first room and the rooms were side by side, odd...Coffee tea pastries and sandwiched availabe in the lobby, including breakfast sandwiches nicely done by and outside coffe shop company. Since its a smaller Hotel, I noticed later check-in guest were disappointed with the room they were given, (thought they were all on the same floor) call 24 hours prior to confirm room type especially if you are a smoker/non smoker. No operable ice machine on floor had to get ice 2 floors up...no big deal, looks like it was in process of being repaired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hop on the St. Charles for a self garden tour...St. Charles turns into Royal street when you cross Canal street, takes you to French Quarter shopping/eateries...For the value [...]were able to get use we made a 2 days stay a mini vacation, prior to the cruise sailng. Oh previous reviews memtioned cold water, well I simply turned the showerhead and walla, warm hot shower...lol

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ponchatoula, LA
Feb 6, 2011

Good value

This was our second stay. It's the perfect location for French Quarter and Bourbon street. Valet parking is way too expensive. $39 for 24 hours. Bathroom was cramped and no stopper in tub. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed in quiet location. Good definitely outweighs the bad. Planning our next stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Feb 2, 2011

Royal St. Charles

The hotel was OK and I like being able to park there. In the end it was $100 a night which was a bit steep also, none of the rooms had windows that opened for fresh air...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LDL
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Feb 1, 2011

NIce hotel in convenient location

Nice hotel. Great central location to the quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top