$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Royal St. Charles

4 stars
View map of 135 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tinav
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Great stay excellant service

I had and leave the hotel to go baton rouge family emergency I was donr about one in the morning and I was able to go back to my room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
South Carolina
Jan 24, 2011

New Orleans - RSC

The location is what kept us there, honestly. The rooms were not extraordinary and the girl working the night we checked in was rude and very short with us. The first room we were given had not been cleaned (bed was unmade). We had to request another room. After spending all day walking around and shopping, we arrived back to our room for an afternoon nap (4PM) only to find our bed still unmade and no clean towels. There was also an additional fee charged when we checked in ($8.95/night) which is listed in the small print on the website, my fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Lake Charles, La
Jan 21, 2011

Weekday Getaway

Spent time with friends; visiting French Quarter and sight seeing downtown New Orleans. Deluxe Queen felt more like economy. Room was small, no mini fridge, but did have TV, coffee pot. Location was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to great local cuisine and casino buffet.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pretty happy
Couples
independence, la
Jan 16, 2011

better then i thought

wonderful location, PJ's coffee downstairs, friendly staff to me and very updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Greensboro, North CArolina
Jan 12, 2011

Great for the price!

Like an old European Hotel, beautifully decorated, small but cozy rooms and relatively inexpensive. 2 blocks from French Quarter a real plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to French quarter and other local sites

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
akseabird
Couples
Greenville, NC
Jan 11, 2011

Great location, great hotel, great value

We were only in town overnight and basically needed a place to crash on a road trip from Austin to Greenville, NC...but thought we might as well spend a bit of time in NOLA since it was on the way. I booked this hotel because it was cheap compared to all the other hotels near the French Quarter, but we ended up loving the place! Not only is it in a great location, totally accessible to all the French Quarter sites on foots, or the street car to other parts of town, but it's also a beautiful, well appointed and comfortable hotel at a really great price! Plus we got free parking! We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder, CO
Jan 9, 2011

Great Location

Overall the experience was good. Hotel has easy access and within walking distance of a number of great locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Minneapolis
Jan 8, 2011

Not worth the value

Thin walls. Plumbing problems made sleeping intollerable. They decided to cover up the only window in the room with a tv that you weren't able to view from the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Albuquerque, NM
Dec 30, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

I didn't stay a long time at the hotel because there was lots of things to do in New Orleans, but the room was really comfortable and the location is almost perfect. One block from bourbon street and a couple from the mississippi river and also with a trolley stop right on the corner of the hotel! Good Stuff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fernanda Cruz
Single
São Paulo, Brazil
Dec 18, 2010

Well located!

The hotel is very well located, near to the main attractions of New Orleans. Although breakfast is not included, they offered vouchers ($2 per day).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Walking tour to the Garden District. Beautiful architecture and historical sites, such as Lafayette's Cemetery and Anne Rice's former home, in which the "Witching Hour" was based on.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
texas
Dec 10, 2010

Royal st charles trip NEW ORLEANS

small, clean, great great location . exceed my expectations for the price...much more expensive hotels right next dooor.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to everything and public transportation system did not need car or cab to go anywhere...

Back to menu Return to top