$91 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
352 reviews
Birthday getaway with the wife

Good location walk outside in 3 mins you at location get staff very clean hotel will come back again See full review

  • Terrell Wood
  • Jul 16, 2014
Friendly staff and clean

This hotel is in a safe location within short walking distance to everything. Rooms weren't huge... See full review

  • FLTravelerlady
  • Oct 22, 2013
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9527 -90.0697
Area served
New Orleans French Quarter
Nearby airports
MSY-New Orleans
Area description
From I-10 WEST (Airport): Take I-10 toward Westbank (US 90), exit St Charles/Carondelet Street. Continue to the 3rd light, turn left on Camp Street. Go through 7 lights, turn left on Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is one block up on the right. From I-10 EAST: Take I-10 toward the "Central Business District" (CBD), take the Canal Street Exit. At the light take a right on to Canal Street. Go approximately one mile and take a right on St. Charles Avenue. Take the first right at Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel entrance is on the right

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (352)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
352 out of 352
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Mar 22, 2011

Hotel nice---but

[...] as we went to check in at our hotel, Royal St. Charles, was told no rooms available & they would send us to there sister hotel, Crescent Queen (further from Bourbon St.), The Cresent Queen was totally unacceptable. Older hotel, but the room was dirty, filthy, & SMOKING, smelled terrible, the air conditioning did not work, toilet was running. Called back to desk at this hotel, told no other rooms. [...]I called Friday am explained the whole story again. [...] We did get a room there & it was very nice. Just got the run around out first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Oysters & Muffeleta on Bourbon St, Oysters at a restaurant called The Bayou & Muffeleta anywhere are awesome

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Mar 22, 2011

Hotel nice---but

[...] as we went to check in at our hotel, Royal St. Charles, was told no rooms available & they would send us to there sister hotel, Crescent Queen (further from Bourbon St.), The Cresent Queen was totally unacceptable. Older hotel, but the room was dirty, filthy, & SMOKING, smelled terrible, the air conditioning did not work, toilet was running. Called back to desk at this hotel, told no other rooms. [...]I called Friday am explained the whole story again. [...] We did get a room there & it was very nice. Just got the run around out first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Oysters & Muffeleta on Bourbon St, Oysters at a restaurant called The Bayou & Muffeleta anywhere are awesome

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IrishEDP
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2011

Great Location

This hotel is great for those who like to be close to the action like Canal St, Bourbon St. French Quarter & Harrah's Casino but also like a quiet night sleep! Being on the 'uptown' side of Canal St. affords you this quite retreat. However you are only a 5 minute walk to all the FQ attractions. Also, the St. Charles Av railcar (trolley) stops right outside so you can check out the Garden & Warehouse/CBD area's of the city without breaking a sweat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IrishEDP
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2011

Great Location

This hotel is great for those who like to be close to the action like Canal St, Bourbon St. French Quarter & Harrah's Casino but also like a quiet night sleep! Being on the 'uptown' side of Canal St. affords you this quite retreat. However you are only a 5 minute walk to all the FQ attractions. Also, the St. Charles Av railcar (trolley) stops right outside so you can check out the Garden & Warehouse/CBD area's of the city without breaking a sweat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, Florida
Mar 18, 2011

A nice few days in the Big Easy!

Third time we have stayed there - very well satified if not pleased with price, location room etc. Will stay there again and again and again; hopefully.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A ride out to the end of the St. Charles Avenue Street car line and back is a wonderful sightseeing adventure. Deanies Restaurant is a must - On Iberville one block north of Bourbon Street. We ate all our dinners there.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, Florida
Mar 18, 2011

A nice few days in the Big Easy!

Third time we have stayed there - very well satified if not pleased with price, location room etc. Will stay there again and again and again; hopefully.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A ride out to the end of the St. Charles Avenue Street car line and back is a wonderful sightseeing adventure. Deanies Restaurant is a must - On Iberville one block north of Bourbon Street. We ate all our dinners there.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Georgia
Mar 13, 2011

Royal St Charles

My stay at the hotel came the weekend immediately following the annual Mardi Gras celebration, hence the excuse my husband offered for the dirty hotel rooms and hallways. The hotel personnel were great and very helpful, but that did not compensate for my disappointment. I spent $1500 for three rooms that reminded me of a bad movie. The carpet was soiled throughout the facility and my room smelled like pot. I requested a blanket and I was given some off colored sponge fabric. This was a complete rip off! In the future I will stick with the hotel chains. There was nothing quaint about this boutique hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Georgia
Mar 13, 2011

Royal St Charles

My stay at the hotel came the weekend immediately following the annual Mardi Gras celebration, hence the excuse my husband offered for the dirty hotel rooms and hallways. The hotel personnel were great and very helpful, but that did not compensate for my disappointment. I spent $1500 for three rooms that reminded me of a bad movie. The carpet was soiled throughout the facility and my room smelled like pot. I requested a blanket and I was given some off colored sponge fabric. This was a complete rip off! In the future I will stick with the hotel chains. There was nothing quaint about this boutique hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fultimn
meadville, ms
Mar 4, 2011

could have been better

Requested a non smoking room and it was, but it reeked of smoke, hotel moved us to another room and it was smaller and not as nice. No windows, but one glass wall to supply room with light shining through the wall all night. Location was ideal for Mardi Gras parades and very enjoyable. Location to French Quarter, Jackson Square, and the river front was excellent. Car valet service took forty five minutes to retreive car. All things considered, very enjoyable couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great service, excellent seafood, portions large.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fultimn
meadville, ms
Mar 4, 2011

could have been better

Requested a non smoking room and it was, but it reeked of smoke, hotel moved us to another room and it was smaller and not as nice. No windows, but one glass wall to supply room with light shining through the wall all night. Location was ideal for Mardi Gras parades and very enjoyable. Location to French Quarter, Jackson Square, and the river front was excellent. Car valet service took forty five minutes to retreive car. All things considered, very enjoyable couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great service, excellent seafood, portions large.

Back to menu Return to top