$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
209 reviews
A good hotel

A nice place that was a short walk to the convention center and good restaurants. Staff was helpful... See full review

  • Norwalk G
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great Location!!!!

Staff was extremely friendly and the location was in the middle of everything! See full review

  • HillaryB
  • Oct 8, 2014
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 1, 2011

Good Value/Met Expectations

I had never been to New Orleans and was looking for a place to stay during Mardi Gras that was clean and fairly inexpensive, and this hotel fully met those expectations. The customer service a the front desk was a little slow but friendly. The only complaint was that the elevators were broken for part of our stay. The location was great for the price and I would definatley stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Experience Bourbon St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rather not say
Feb 23, 2011

Great

Clean, modern, great location. My room was a bit small, but I didn't mind. And I loved the PJ's coffee shop in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive, but I walked it. Port of call on Esplanade has the best burgers and baked potatoes in the world!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murfreesboro, TN
Feb 23, 2011

Nice for the Price

Hotel was convenient to shopping, restaurants, trolley stop just outside the door. Only a few blocks to the french quarter. The coffee shop was nice on the first floor. Check-in was fast and staff very friendly. The only problem we had was maid service. We had to request them clean our room on the 1st day as they hadn't cleaned it by 4:00 p.m. We also had to constantly request bath or hand towels as they would not leave enough even though they knew we had 3 guests in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Several blocks to French quarter area. But lots of entertainment and bars/pubs and souvenier shops along the way..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Feb 23, 2011

Good Location

Great location but the hotel is a little run down. House keeping forgot to clean the room twice but responded quickly when I called the front desk. You are in New Orleans so the quality of the room wasn't as important as it would be in other resort locations. The room was supposed to be a smoke free room but it was obvious that wasn't the case upon entering the room. You defintely get what you paid for at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dothan, Alabama
Feb 20, 2011

Good location but with little problems

Service was very good, hotel is clean, but they have plenty of extra charges that increase the cost. I don't know about other rooms, but in my room I could hear everything that my neighbors were talking about. Luckily they fell asleep, so I could rest, too, otherwise I was close to ask for another room. I would expect a little bit more comfort in the room that is called "De luxe", for example not enough room on both sides of the bed, so if you are travelling with your wife, you might find difficult getting up at night. Probably other rooms have better relationships between walls beds and furniture. I think 75 dollars is the top price I can pay for the room like that, nevertheless I enjoyed the stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petersburg, IN
Feb 17, 2011

Royal St. Charles, New Orleans, LA.

The room was clean, the staff was friendly, the room was very up to date and nice, but the curtains would not close as the rod was bent and the light from the street came in all night. The room was small. The noise from the street was loud all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

To the French Quarter it is a long walk or a short drive which every you would want to do. If you walk and walk to the French Market it over a 4 mile walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans
Feb 14, 2011

worst experience of my life

From the moment we arrived it was all disappointment, no parking was avaliable only 5 or 6 first come first serve Valet parking for $29 (which is on the side of the street) the front desk attendants were rude,even the General Manager was rude and no help at all the #7 on one of the elevators was broken. The rooms were small with only the basics bed, tv, and bathroom... no extra amenities...like Hot Water! phone had no label no Tv guide for the televison, no iron, I thought it was no coffee pot but i later found it at the top of the closet because there was no desk or table in the room to lay it on No Bible, no view, the bed didnt sleep well and there's a $8.95 resort fee for what should come with the room for free Internet, telephone usage and the Gym,,, I will never go back this way again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
$2 Dave
Business
Northvale NJ
Feb 14, 2011

Great Location

The hotel is well located near the French Quarter and Casino and a moderate walk to the Convention Center. The staff was very helpful and the lobby was well appointed. I was on the top floor (10th) and looked forward to a view. The room was small with no window. It might be worth asking for one of the rooms with windows if you stay here or if not getting a low floor as the elevators were very slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
painpt
Business
Bethesda, MD
Feb 13, 2011

Room in the Datk

[...] I had reserved a "deluxe suite". The room was a small one-room accommodation without windows (!), a leaking toilet, no dresser with drawers, and a tv remote that worked every now and then. The free wireless internet connection worked very well and the bed was comfortable, but that is about all I liked about this "boutique hotel". My room did not look anything like the pictures of the "suites" on the hotel's website, was not a suite, and was not "spacious". Disappointing hotel in nearly every aspect. I stay in hotels nearly every other week and this one ranked toward the bottom of the list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 11, 2011

Rude-al St. Charles

Well it all started off at check in where our room type was changed from 2 doubles to a senior king which consisted of a king bed and sofa bed by being told "It's all we have left." I was then told to give my valet slip to "them" and when I asked "who?" was rudely pointed in the direction of the valet stand. Later, after a night out we returned to our room, pulled out our sofa bed to find one single duvet cover on top with no duvet inside, not a fitted sheet in sight! So, we call down to the desk to request some sheets, pillows and blankets and are informed that the laundry is closed and they will "try". About an hour later we get a knock on the door; it's someone delivering 2 flat sheets! We ended up sleeping 3 in a bed and one poor friend slept wrapped up in a bunch of sheets with a sweater for a blanket. The last and final straw was picking up the cars from the valet at checkout when we went to get our cars, there was no valet in sight. After a few minutes of milling around the desk area (clearly in view of the front desk) we decided to go look outside. Still, no valet. Finally, we return to the front desk to ask where the valet might be only to find out she had our keys all along! And they were returned to us without a word, slapped down on the counter. We definitely will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bennechin african restaurant was amazing and affordable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top