$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
205 reviews
Birthday getaway with the wife

Good location walk outside in 3 mins you at location get staff very clean hotel will come back again See full review

  • Terrell Wood
  • Jul 16, 2014
Friendly staff and clean

This hotel is in a safe location within short walking distance to everything. Rooms weren't huge... See full review

  • FLTravelerlady
  • Oct 22, 2013
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9527 -90.0697
Area served
New Orleans French Quarter
Nearby airports
MSY-New Orleans
Area description
From I-10 WEST (Airport): Take I-10 toward Westbank (US 90), exit St Charles/Carondelet Street. Continue to the 3rd light, turn left on Camp Street. Go through 7 lights, turn left on Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is one block up on the right. From I-10 EAST: Take I-10 toward the "Central Business District" (CBD), take the Canal Street Exit. At the light take a right on to Canal Street. Go approximately one mile and take a right on St. Charles Avenue. Take the first right at Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel entrance is on the right

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (205)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
205 out of 205
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Plaquemine, la
Feb 1, 2010

No parking!

There is no parking near the hotel except for along the side of the street which is usually always full. We spent about 40 minutes riding around the block trying to find a parking spot which ended up three blocks from the hotel. The hotel will take your vehicle to there parking garage and park it for you free of charge. The kicker is finding a parking spot in front of the hotel. This parking catastrophie caused our checkin to take over an hour to get checked in and have the hotel park my vechicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jan 20, 2010

[...]

I have been to New Orleans many times, this time it was a business trip. There are many, many hotels close to the French Quarter and I picked the hotel for it's discount price. The good: The room was clean, the staf was friendly,unless you needed something, and the bed was very comfortable. They are redoing the hotel and they asked me to change rooms during my stay. This was not an issue for me, except for the strong smell of fresh paint in the new room. The bad: They just don't get it. Sure, there is a light "breakfast", where they set out 3 large pots of coffee. But all 3 are empty and no one is in a hurry to make more.(It was 7 AM) They offer free parking, if there is space left. If not, then good luck to you finding a place to park on the street- it's not their problem. Sure you can use the "business center" (one computer) to print your boarding pass, it's just that the printer is broken and has no paper. The really bad: They slap an $8 per day fee on your bill (internet access charge- I didn't bring my computer) [...] How quaint! Overall the hotel was ok. I might go back someday. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulsa, OK
Jan 20, 2010

The Good & the Bad

We travelled to NO the see a game at the Super Dome and visit the French Quarter. The Hotel location is a block off the end of Bourbon street which was nice. We were about a 15 min walk to french market and 20 min. to the dome. Not too bad. Trollies don't help here. My main problem was the noise. I wasn't thinking when they asked if i would like a 2nd floor balcony room. The DJay thumped his tunes late into the night (this is Nawlins ya know) and then the party seemed to move right outside my balcony after. Low shower pressure and $29 vallet per day. The valets park 5 blks away so you must give them time. Could have been worse but for $91 a day not bad. Just get a higher room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed from DC
Washington, DC
Jan 18, 2010

Won't stay there again

Stayed here a few years back for work and just went again for pleasure. Last time my only complaint was slow service at the desk and with the valet. This time nearly everything was a huge disappointment except the location. While the location can't be beat, the place has gotten really shabby. Honestly, I would describe it as a dump. On arrival we were given a room that was almost no bigger than the bed. After agreeing to pay extra we were upgraded to a room that was marginally bigger, but hadn't yet been cleaned. Our third room was a nice size, so we stuck with it. However, it had plenty of problems. Cigarette burns on the carpet, a drawer missing from the dresser, dangling wires where the smoke detector once was, no toilet paper holder (just a roll set on the back of the tank), paint or spackle spread around on the bathroom wallpaper, parts of the bed frame sticking out on one side of the bed where we tripped on them. If not for the fact that we didn't want to have to argue to get out of our pre-payment and the fact that it was a busy weekend for hotels in New Orleans, we would've checked out and gone somewhere else. We stayed and had a nice weekend whenever we weren't in our room. If I were a college kid in town for Mardi Gras I might stay here for the location & the price, but the Royal St, Charles is in no way a "boutique" hotel. (Unless "boutique" is now french for "dump".)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wseguy
Covington, La
Jan 12, 2010

Best surprise we have stayed in

We stay in and around the French quarter at least twice a month.this hotel has been the most pleasant surprise so far. The rooms are wonderful with floor to ceiling windows on two entire walls. The stafff was exceptional while maintianing their own personalities. Most hotels of this caliber don't feel as comfortable almost too perfect. The location is perfect. One block from the quarter which leaves you closer to the warehouse district and Fulton Street.[...]To sum this up I have been telling everyone about the ROYAL ST.CHARLES [...] that will listen to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For cocktails stay away from 90% of the places on bourbon st. Except the OLD ABSINTHE HOUSE. Try bars in the upper end hotels and restaurants. This is where you will find the best made cocktails. Also check out TALESOFTHECOCKTAIL.com before you get here.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M/M J Bolser
Beaumont, Texas
Jan 11, 2010

better than expected!

Everything was great, we had a beautiful view in our king suite, surrounded by windows and romantic. Only complaint was our second night there some other guests came in around 4 am and obviously were drunk and still wanted to party and we could hear then for about 30 minutes, but no big deal, unfortunately were were sick with the flu so we werent in the mood. hotel was great, too sick to try the breakfast or the free harbour cruise, but it was still an awesome price and had free valet parking. The staff was great, the room was spotless. we would deffinately go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Girlfriend
Beckley, WV
Jan 9, 2010

Nice

The staff were very friendly and the location was convenient. I thought this hotel was a pretty good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Culture shock finder
Boston, MA
Jan 6, 2010

It's alright overall

[...]This was the SUGARBOWL WEEKEND, so they were booked. Hotel room was nice but however very cold. Even with the heater fan was on max. So when it's in the 20's-30 degrees outside. You need to ask for extra blankets. The vent/fan in our bathroom was sooo loud we had to yell when talking from the bathroom. Housekeeping only made our beds, but didn't take any used cups nor lightly straighten out our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus OH
Jan 4, 2010

Never again

Dirty, noisy, just overall bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to lots of stuff in the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mississippi
Dec 31, 2009

"Perfect location, Perfect price"

we always try and book our room @ the RSC!! It is the perfect location and the perfect price for a fun weekend in NOLA!! The staff is ALWAYS friendly. this was our 6th or 7th time in 3 years to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search