$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Royal St. Charles

4 stars
View map of 135 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryron
Couples
Austin, Texas
Jun 27, 2012

Excellent location right by the Quarter

I'm having trouble understanding why this hotel only averages a 3 star rating. The staff was accomodating, the location absolutely perfect, and the room ( a single king) just what I was looking for. Nothing extravagant, but instead just the perfect size to relax after a day (or night) in the French Quarter. I have a feeling that I'll be back here, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tulsa, OK
Jan 20, 2010

The Good & the Bad

We travelled to NO the see a game at the Super Dome and visit the French Quarter. The Hotel location is a block off the end of Bourbon street which was nice. We were about a 15 min walk to french market and 20 min. to the dome. Not too bad. Trollies don't help here. My main problem was the noise. I wasn't thinking when they asked if i would like a 2nd floor balcony room. The DJay thumped his tunes late into the night (this is Nawlins ya know) and then the party seemed to move right outside my balcony after. Low shower pressure and $29 vallet per day. The valets park 5 blks away so you must give them time. Could have been worse but for $91 a day not bad. Just get a higher room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jan 20, 2010

[...]

I have been to New Orleans many times, this time it was a business trip. There are many, many hotels close to the French Quarter and I picked the hotel for it's discount price. The good: The room was clean, the staf was friendly,unless you needed something, and the bed was very comfortable. They are redoing the hotel and they asked me to change rooms during my stay. This was not an issue for me, except for the strong smell of fresh paint in the new room. The bad: They just don't get it. Sure, there is a light "breakfast", where they set out 3 large pots of coffee. But all 3 are empty and no one is in a hurry to make more.(It was 7 AM) They offer free parking, if there is space left. If not, then good luck to you finding a place to park on the street- it's not their problem. Sure you can use the "business center" (one computer) to print your boarding pass, it's just that the printer is broken and has no paper. The really bad: They slap an $8 per day fee on your bill (internet access charge- I didn't bring my computer) [...] How quaint! Overall the hotel was ok. I might go back someday. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed from DC
Couples
Washington, DC
Jan 18, 2010

Won't stay there again

Stayed here a few years back for work and just went again for pleasure. Last time my only complaint was slow service at the desk and with the valet. This time nearly everything was a huge disappointment except the location. While the location can't be beat, the place has gotten really shabby. Honestly, I would describe it as a dump. On arrival we were given a room that was almost no bigger than the bed. After agreeing to pay extra we were upgraded to a room that was marginally bigger, but hadn't yet been cleaned. Our third room was a nice size, so we stuck with it. However, it had plenty of problems. Cigarette burns on the carpet, a drawer missing from the dresser, dangling wires where the smoke detector once was, no toilet paper holder (just a roll set on the back of the tank), paint or spackle spread around on the bathroom wallpaper, parts of the bed frame sticking out on one side of the bed where we tripped on them. If not for the fact that we didn't want to have to argue to get out of our pre-payment and the fact that it was a busy weekend for hotels in New Orleans, we would've checked out and gone somewhere else. We stayed and had a nice weekend whenever we weren't in our room. If I were a college kid in town for Mardi Gras I might stay here for the location & the price, but the Royal St, Charles is in no way a "boutique" hotel. (Unless "boutique" is now french for "dump".)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M/M J Bolser
Couples
Beaumont, Texas
Jan 11, 2010

better than expected!

Everything was great, we had a beautiful view in our king suite, surrounded by windows and romantic. Only complaint was our second night there some other guests came in around 4 am and obviously were drunk and still wanted to party and we could hear then for about 30 minutes, but no big deal, unfortunately were were sick with the flu so we werent in the mood. hotel was great, too sick to try the breakfast or the free harbour cruise, but it was still an awesome price and had free valet parking. The staff was great, the room was spotless. we would deffinately go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Girlfriend
Couples
Beckley, WV
Jan 9, 2010

Nice

The staff were very friendly and the location was convenient. I thought this hotel was a pretty good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Culture shock finder
Couples
Boston, MA
Jan 6, 2010

It's alright overall

[...]This was the SUGARBOWL WEEKEND, so they were booked. Hotel room was nice but however very cold. Even with the heater fan was on max. So when it's in the 20's-30 degrees outside. You need to ask for extra blankets. The vent/fan in our bathroom was sooo loud we had to yell when talking from the bathroom. Housekeeping only made our beds, but didn't take any used cups nor lightly straighten out our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Columbus OH
Jan 4, 2010

Never again

Dirty, noisy, just overall bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to lots of stuff in the French Quarter.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Mississippi
Dec 31, 2009

"Perfect location, Perfect price"

we always try and book our room @ the RSC!! It is the perfect location and the perfect price for a fun weekend in NOLA!! The staff is ALWAYS friendly. this was our 6th or 7th time in 3 years to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCC10K 2010
Couples
Brandon, MS
Dec 22, 2009

New Orleans Bowl Trip

This was a very nice hotel. It was clean and in a great location. Be sure to request window room at check in or you could be on the inside of the building with no windows. [...] be prepared to pay another $7 a night for the internet and gym. Don't be in a hurry when you arrive to get your car parked. The valet guys have to park about 5 blocks away and with only a couple people, that could take a while for them to go back and forth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Foodie240
Family
Nashville, TN
Dec 3, 2009

Looking for location? Look no further.

I basically went to New Orleans for the food. I found this hotel on [...] and thought to myself the pictures look really cool. The room was very cramped but clean. I spent two days with my brother, thankfully in a King size VERY comfortable bed. If you spend a ton of time in the room, you probably want a bigger hotel room. Since my travels are primarily see what I can see in the small amount of time there...I only care about the bed. The location is AWESOME. The Streetcar that runs north/south and east/west is right outside the main doors. You can walk to the beginning of Bourbon Street in about 5 minutes as well as toward the Harrah's casino and the riverwalk in about 7 minutes. We never used our car so we're not sure where the valet takes them or how long it takes to get it. The only downside I had, was the [...] website offers vouchers for things like cruises on the Mississippi and such but fail to mention that they aren't available throughout the week. So while, I looked forward to enjoying lunch or dinner on the river I was upset to find out it wasn't included. Please don't offer something that makes things look like a bargain that are not an actual part of the package. This doesn't seem like the hotels fault but the [...] people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top