$91 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
352 reviews
Birthday getaway with the wife

Good location walk outside in 3 mins you at location get staff very clean hotel will come back again See full review

  • Terrell Wood
  • Jul 16, 2014
Friendly staff and clean

This hotel is in a safe location within short walking distance to everything. Rooms weren't huge... See full review

  • FLTravelerlady
  • Oct 22, 2013
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9527 -90.0697
Area served
New Orleans French Quarter
Nearby airports
MSY-New Orleans
Area description
From I-10 WEST (Airport): Take I-10 toward Westbank (US 90), exit St Charles/Carondelet Street. Continue to the 3rd light, turn left on Camp Street. Go through 7 lights, turn left on Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is one block up on the right. From I-10 EAST: Take I-10 toward the "Central Business District" (CBD), take the Canal Street Exit. At the light take a right on to Canal Street. Go approximately one mile and take a right on St. Charles Avenue. Take the first right at Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel entrance is on the right

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (352)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
352 out of 352
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryron
Austin, Texas
Jun 27, 2012

Excellent location right by the Quarter

I'm having trouble understanding why this hotel only averages a 3 star rating. The staff was accomodating, the location absolutely perfect, and the room ( a single king) just what I was looking for. Nothing extravagant, but instead just the perfect size to relax after a day (or night) in the French Quarter. I have a feeling that I'll be back here, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newnan GA
Oct 6, 2010

good value for money -

checked in with a Queen, got to room and it was a double bed and tiny room, but clean, recently redone. I called the desk and they were very nice about upgrading to a king for $10 extra and it turned out to be a suite. Get an upper floor to avoid street noise + a few rooms below the fifth floor don't have windows. no great views of the river, but after first 5 minutes who really needs those anyway - your there to walk the French quarter. Despite worries from other reviews - the water was hot with good pressure, rooms clean, staff friendly - I had no issues. Down side - all bathrooms are a 1 person bath, small. The door clears the toliet by exactly 2" (but nice with granite counter & tile floor). No restaurant or free breakfast (but good PJ coffee with breakfast foods & you get a couple of $2 discount coupons per nights stay from the front desk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, La.
Oct 3, 2010

Great Service

Well let me start by saying that our stay at this hotel was really perfect. Upon arrival we were treated like first class patrons. As I am not used to that, it impressed me very much. Check in was quick and friendly. During our stay the staff at the Hotel was just fantastic. Grant it the room was a little on the small side for me but the staff fixed that with the service. Upon leaving the service continued and so did the friendly treatment. Now I have been to these type of hotels in the past and was never treated this way. A big thank you is deserved to the staff for making this a great anniversary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Fish Grill

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, La.
Oct 3, 2010

Great Service

Well let me start by saying that our stay at this hotel was really perfect. Upon arrival we were treated like first class patrons. As I am not used to that, it impressed me very much. Check in was quick and friendly. During our stay the staff at the Hotel was just fantastic. Grant it the room was a little on the small side for me but the staff fixed that with the service. Upon leaving the service continued and so did the friendly treatment. Now I have been to these type of hotels in the past and was never treated this way. A big thank you is deserved to the staff for making this a great anniversary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Fish Grill

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oceanquest
atlanta
Oct 1, 2010

GOOD LOCATION AND WORTH THE PRICE

The hotel is nice and good location. The staff are a bit unfriendly and unattentive.... it took us 45 minutes to get our car from their valet parking. The room was nice and clean, and aircon worked just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife and good restaurants are short walk..

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oceanquest
atlanta
Oct 1, 2010

GOOD LOCATION AND WORTH THE PRICE

The hotel is nice and good location. The staff are a bit unfriendly and unattentive.... it took us 45 minutes to get our car from their valet parking. The room was nice and clean, and aircon worked just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife and good restaurants are short walk..

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Partying Student
Atlanta, Ga
Sep 27, 2010

Awesome location

I love that we could walk to canal street and were instantly in the middle of everything. Discounted valet service was awesome eventhough they took forever to bring the car around. Room had huge windows, big bathrooms and the safe came in handy. Overall I must recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal street...2minute walk. Bourban street 7mins

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Partying Student
Atlanta, Ga
Sep 27, 2010

Awesome location

I love that we could walk to canal street and were instantly in the middle of everything. Discounted valet service was awesome eventhough they took forever to bring the car around. Room had huge windows, big bathrooms and the safe came in handy. Overall I must recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal street...2minute walk. Bourban street 7mins

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ruston, LA
Sep 13, 2010

Great access to French Quarter!

We needed a place to stay one night before leaving on a cruise. We wanted a place near Bourbon street. This hotel is one block away and on Canal Street. Room was nice and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ruston, LA
Sep 13, 2010

Great access to French Quarter!

We needed a place to stay one night before leaving on a cruise. We wanted a place near Bourbon street. This hotel is one block away and on Canal Street. Room was nice and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kickoff
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 11, 2010

Overrated

Desperately in need of updating, took 3 tries before we got a room that was actually prepared when we opened the door, cramped small rooms, definitely overrated, not a 3 star, only 1

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top