$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Royal St. Charles

4 stars
View map of 135 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tinav
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Great stay excellant service

I had and leave the hotel to go baton rouge family emergency I was donr about one in the morning and I was able to go back to my room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin' Ag
Business
Richmond, TX
Mar 30, 2010

No Complaints!

Hotel was very close to Bourbon street. Provided all necessary accomodations for a couple looking to have a good time in the Big Easy. Parking is overpriced, but it is like that everywhere in the city. The room was clean and had great had a good view. Will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

bring cash and lots of it, along with your I.D. regardless of age. drinks are expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, AL
Mar 24, 2010

Great Weekend

It is a block and a half from Bourbon Street and not far from the French Quarter, a million great restaurants, and bars. We had a little trouble with the hot water which I had read other people had trouble with in previous reviews, but it was a quick fix. The maintenance engineer came to our room and said since we were on the second floor and there were not many people in the hotel it took longer than normal for us to get the hot water to our shower and sink. He was right the shower and tub were both turned on wide open and it took about 6-8 minutes but the water did get hot. I also read people had trouble with the valet, but we did not. We did arrive and leave at off times so there was not a lot going on but from what i saw while we were there the valet were doing a great job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, LA
Mar 23, 2010

New Orleans Trip

I have stayed at the Royal St. Charles hotel several times while visiting New Orleans. This hotel is a great value for someone that is looking for a comfortable room with an excellent location. I have enjoyed each of my stays at this hotel. The rooms are clean and the staff is more than helpful. In my recent visit, I was given a balcony room and this was a very nice perk. I enjoyed sitting on the balcony and taking in the French Quarter. The location of this hotel is excellent. Everything that you need to do in the French Quarter is within walking distance. This saves you alot on cab fares. This is not a luxury hotel, but if you are looking for a clean, comfortable room, and a great location, then this is a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hattiesburg, Ms
Mar 17, 2010

Below average stay

The hotel is located in a perfect area for traveling about the French Quarters. The valet parking was very unorganized,it was frustrating to find a parking spot. The hotel was not very clean. The room furniture was out dated and the sofa was dirty, the carpet was dirty, and the mattress was old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ocean Grille

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, il
Mar 17, 2010

"Great Location"

The check in was quick and easy. The room was ready and clean. The next day the cleaning staff was pretty late in cleaning the room. The bed was comfortable but I wish they had a restaurant in the hotel. The location was great one block from Canal St. and two blocks from Bourbon. The hotel was in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Out of State Holiday Traveler
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Mar 9, 2010

Not as exiciting as you'd think

This was our first stay at the Royal St. Charles. Although the website for the hotel made it seem rather nice, staff at check-in (and other times) were not very helpful. When it came time to park the car, the "free valet parking" that is supposed to be part of the cost of the hotel (and is listed as an "amenity" on their site) is actually "first come, first served" so anyone checking in late will not be able to park. The room was also incredibly small with only 3 feet of clearance to get around. No place to put your luggage, thus no chairs or seating area save for the beds. Incredibly small and cramped for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 7, 2010

parking nightmare

Upon arrival, there was no parking to check in. Had to park in the road, wait an hour for the valet to take my car to the parking lot that is 7 blocks away. Went to room, found out it is the size of a match box. The next morning called the front desk to get my car. Valet could not find my car, and all together waited two hours for them to bring my car to me. I was not the only one waiting though, the lobby was filled with upset guests. I would not recommend this hotel, although it was a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Mar 1, 2010

not bad

The Royal St. Charles is the type of hotel you would want to stay at if you plan on spending no time in your hotel room. I don't mean that like a bad thing, there is just nothing special about it. The rooms are small but clean, and newly remodeled. Very courteous staff, and you could not ask for a better location. The one warning i have about the hotel is they charge a $7.95/per night "room fee." I'm not sure what this covers but i was not expecting it. When we checked in they told us about it, but they made it sound like a one time charge, not a per night fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Toujaques restaurant on Decatuer Street. this restaurant has no menu. You stick your head in and ask what they are making tonight and they tell you. If you like it, you stay, if you don't you leave. It was one of the best meals i ever had. Five courses are included with the price of your meal. All of the courses were absolutely delicious. When it was time to pay the bill i thought we would be paying well over 100 dollars. The total, without drinks, for two people, was about 80 dollars. I couldn't believe it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 1, 2010

Quiet location but not attractive at all

Would not recommend. Take off list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kbnugs
Business
Gulfport, MS
Feb 24, 2010

Great location

This hotel was nice, newly renovated, with a cool lounge (The Ohm) downstairs. The room was tiny, but the balcony was nice - we were able to watch the parades from our room. The service wasn't great - we waited around a lot, especially for the valet to get our car Sunday morning (it WAS Mardi Gras, though!) Great location, but noisy; average price for the room and parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DON'T eat at The Pearl, a small diner just down St. Charles from the hotel - it's like a Cajun Waffle House, and a total rip-off!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top