$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
208 reviews
A good hotel

A nice place that was a short walk to the convention center and good restaurants. Staff was helpful... See full review

  • Norwalk G
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great Location!!!!

Staff was extremely friendly and the location was in the middle of everything! See full review

  • HillaryB
  • Oct 8, 2014
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tinav
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Great stay excellant service

I had and leave the hotel to go baton rouge family emergency I was donr about one in the morning and I was able to go back to my room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, LA
Mar 23, 2010

New Orleans Trip

I have stayed at the Royal St. Charles hotel several times while visiting New Orleans. This hotel is a great value for someone that is looking for a comfortable room with an excellent location. I have enjoyed each of my stays at this hotel. The rooms are clean and the staff is more than helpful. In my recent visit, I was given a balcony room and this was a very nice perk. I enjoyed sitting on the balcony and taking in the French Quarter. The location of this hotel is excellent. Everything that you need to do in the French Quarter is within walking distance. This saves you alot on cab fares. This is not a luxury hotel, but if you are looking for a clean, comfortable room, and a great location, then this is a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hattiesburg, Ms
Mar 17, 2010

Below average stay

The hotel is located in a perfect area for traveling about the French Quarters. The valet parking was very unorganized,it was frustrating to find a parking spot. The hotel was not very clean. The room furniture was out dated and the sofa was dirty, the carpet was dirty, and the mattress was old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ocean Grille

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, il
Mar 17, 2010

"Great Location"

The check in was quick and easy. The room was ready and clean. The next day the cleaning staff was pretty late in cleaning the room. The bed was comfortable but I wish they had a restaurant in the hotel. The location was great one block from Canal St. and two blocks from Bourbon. The hotel was in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Out of State Holiday Traveler
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Mar 9, 2010

Not as exiciting as you'd think

This was our first stay at the Royal St. Charles. Although the website for the hotel made it seem rather nice, staff at check-in (and other times) were not very helpful. When it came time to park the car, the "free valet parking" that is supposed to be part of the cost of the hotel (and is listed as an "amenity" on their site) is actually "first come, first served" so anyone checking in late will not be able to park. The room was also incredibly small with only 3 feet of clearance to get around. No place to put your luggage, thus no chairs or seating area save for the beds. Incredibly small and cramped for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 7, 2010

parking nightmare

Upon arrival, there was no parking to check in. Had to park in the road, wait an hour for the valet to take my car to the parking lot that is 7 blocks away. Went to room, found out it is the size of a match box. The next morning called the front desk to get my car. Valet could not find my car, and all together waited two hours for them to bring my car to me. I was not the only one waiting though, the lobby was filled with upset guests. I would not recommend this hotel, although it was a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Mar 1, 2010

not bad

The Royal St. Charles is the type of hotel you would want to stay at if you plan on spending no time in your hotel room. I don't mean that like a bad thing, there is just nothing special about it. The rooms are small but clean, and newly remodeled. Very courteous staff, and you could not ask for a better location. The one warning i have about the hotel is they charge a $7.95/per night "room fee." I'm not sure what this covers but i was not expecting it. When we checked in they told us about it, but they made it sound like a one time charge, not a per night fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Toujaques restaurant on Decatuer Street. this restaurant has no menu. You stick your head in and ask what they are making tonight and they tell you. If you like it, you stay, if you don't you leave. It was one of the best meals i ever had. Five courses are included with the price of your meal. All of the courses were absolutely delicious. When it was time to pay the bill i thought we would be paying well over 100 dollars. The total, without drinks, for two people, was about 80 dollars. I couldn't believe it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 1, 2010

Quiet location but not attractive at all

Would not recommend. Take off list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kbnugs
Business
Gulfport, MS
Feb 24, 2010

Great location

This hotel was nice, newly renovated, with a cool lounge (The Ohm) downstairs. The room was tiny, but the balcony was nice - we were able to watch the parades from our room. The service wasn't great - we waited around a lot, especially for the valet to get our car Sunday morning (it WAS Mardi Gras, though!) Great location, but noisy; average price for the room and parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DON'T eat at The Pearl, a small diner just down St. Charles from the hotel - it's like a Cajun Waffle House, and a total rip-off!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fam to fiesta tx
Business
houston tx
Feb 22, 2010

Unbeatable lacation for the price

We went for Mardigras and had a great time. The location is walking distance from everywhere we wanted to go. Also the tram helped to get to a bit further places. The staff was polite and helpful. This Hotel is in a great location the rooms are a bit small but for the price it cant be beat If your looking for4 star service and rooms then stay at the Mariot or a place like that. If your looking for reasnable pricing and great location then this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dude the Traveler
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 20, 2010

Don't bother.

Checked in monday before Mardi Gras, forced to wear a wristband for 2 days to keep street people out. Forced to pay additional $8 a day for phone/internet service, not optional per management. If you rent a car, expect another $30/day to park it there. small room with dubiously small "queen" sized bed, made even worse with a twin sized comforter. We had no maid service tuesday ( possibly due to Mardi Gras ), and maid showed up after 4pm on weds and thurs. walls are paper thin, so all neighboring tv, party, hallway activity heard easily. If you are heavy sleeper, not so bad, but creaky, squeeky streetcar passed our room six floors below from dawn to dusk and you could hear it plainly. When maid did come room was tidied fine. Continental breakfast was an asst. of Costco mini muffins and coffee in the lobby, no place to sit and eat. You are on parade route, but early in route. This means if you happen to be on other side of Canal street when any of multiple parades start, you are barricaded from your hotel unless you fight the crowds for 3 or more blocks to where parade u-turns, then fight same crowds 3 or more blocks back to your hotel. Staff seemed nice, but you really don't interact unless you are checking in or out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast is a difficult task in the French Quarter, outside of your hotel or Cafe Du Monde, and one can only eat so many fried doughnuts and live to tell the tale. Find a hotel with some kind of dining/breakfast establishment, you will find plenty of places for lunch and dinner. And really consider going car free, all the French Quarter hotels were over $25 a day premium for guest parking, versus a cab that has a flat $33 fare to or from airport and hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top