Royal St. Charles

4 stars
View map of 135 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
191 reviews
had free wifi and free continental reakfast.

The location is awesome. Only the valet people are courteous and respectful. The front ladies need... See full review

  • Corazon Flores
  • Jun 9, 2015
A good hotel

A nice place that was a short walk to the convention center and good restaurants. Staff was helpful... See full review

  • Norwalk G
  • Oct 23, 2014

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Property features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Nearby attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Policies
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay
  • Self-parking fee is $20 per day plus tax. Parking is located 3 blocks from the hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Superior King
Superior King Room-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safes
Balcony King
King Balcony Room-balcony with Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Junior Suite King
Junior Suite King-separate lounge area-Modern 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Superior Queen
Superior Queen Room-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safe
Large Two Queen Suite Balcony
Large 2 Queen -Private balcony-Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Superior Two Doubles
Superior 2 Doubles-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safe
Large King Suite Balcony
Large King Suite-Private balcony w-Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Hotel Map

29.9527 -90.0697
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 14.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Dining

PJs Coffee
The Royal St. Charles Hotel proudly brews PJs Coffee daily in its very own PJs Coffee cafe. The location features ample seating for guests and visitors to relax and unwind while enjoying some of the savory New Orleans coffee served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (191)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Plaquemine, la
Feb 1, 2010

No parking!

There is no parking near the hotel except for along the side of the street which is usually always full. We spent about 40 minutes riding around the block trying to find a parking spot which ended up three blocks from the hotel. The hotel will take your vehicle to there parking garage and park it for you free of charge. The kicker is finding a parking spot in front of the hotel. This parking catastrophie caused our checkin to take over an hour to get checked in and have the hotel park my vechicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tulsa, OK
Jan 20, 2010

The Good & the Bad

We travelled to NO the see a game at the Super Dome and visit the French Quarter. The Hotel location is a block off the end of Bourbon street which was nice. We were about a 15 min walk to french market and 20 min. to the dome. Not too bad. Trollies don't help here. My main problem was the noise. I wasn't thinking when they asked if i would like a 2nd floor balcony room. The DJay thumped his tunes late into the night (this is Nawlins ya know) and then the party seemed to move right outside my balcony after. Low shower pressure and $29 vallet per day. The valets park 5 blks away so you must give them time. Could have been worse but for $91 a day not bad. Just get a higher room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jan 20, 2010

[...]

I have been to New Orleans many times, this time it was a business trip. There are many, many hotels close to the French Quarter and I picked the hotel for it's discount price. The good: The room was clean, the staf was friendly,unless you needed something, and the bed was very comfortable. They are redoing the hotel and they asked me to change rooms during my stay. This was not an issue for me, except for the strong smell of fresh paint in the new room. The bad: They just don't get it. Sure, there is a light "breakfast", where they set out 3 large pots of coffee. But all 3 are empty and no one is in a hurry to make more.(It was 7 AM) They offer free parking, if there is space left. If not, then good luck to you finding a place to park on the street- it's not their problem. Sure you can use the "business center" (one computer) to print your boarding pass, it's just that the printer is broken and has no paper. The really bad: They slap an $8 per day fee on your bill (internet access charge- I didn't bring my computer) [...] How quaint! Overall the hotel was ok. I might go back someday. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed from DC
Couples
Washington, DC
Jan 18, 2010

Won't stay there again

Stayed here a few years back for work and just went again for pleasure. Last time my only complaint was slow service at the desk and with the valet. This time nearly everything was a huge disappointment except the location. While the location can't be beat, the place has gotten really shabby. Honestly, I would describe it as a dump. On arrival we were given a room that was almost no bigger than the bed. After agreeing to pay extra we were upgraded to a room that was marginally bigger, but hadn't yet been cleaned. Our third room was a nice size, so we stuck with it. However, it had plenty of problems. Cigarette burns on the carpet, a drawer missing from the dresser, dangling wires where the smoke detector once was, no toilet paper holder (just a roll set on the back of the tank), paint or spackle spread around on the bathroom wallpaper, parts of the bed frame sticking out on one side of the bed where we tripped on them. If not for the fact that we didn't want to have to argue to get out of our pre-payment and the fact that it was a busy weekend for hotels in New Orleans, we would've checked out and gone somewhere else. We stayed and had a nice weekend whenever we weren't in our room. If I were a college kid in town for Mardi Gras I might stay here for the location & the price, but the Royal St, Charles is in no way a "boutique" hotel. (Unless "boutique" is now french for "dump".)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M/M J Bolser
Couples
Beaumont, Texas
Jan 11, 2010

better than expected!

Everything was great, we had a beautiful view in our king suite, surrounded by windows and romantic. Only complaint was our second night there some other guests came in around 4 am and obviously were drunk and still wanted to party and we could hear then for about 30 minutes, but no big deal, unfortunately were were sick with the flu so we werent in the mood. hotel was great, too sick to try the breakfast or the free harbour cruise, but it was still an awesome price and had free valet parking. The staff was great, the room was spotless. we would deffinately go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Girlfriend
Couples
Beckley, WV
Jan 9, 2010

Nice

The staff were very friendly and the location was convenient. I thought this hotel was a pretty good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Culture shock finder
Couples
Boston, MA
Jan 6, 2010

It's alright overall

[...]This was the SUGARBOWL WEEKEND, so they were booked. Hotel room was nice but however very cold. Even with the heater fan was on max. So when it's in the 20's-30 degrees outside. You need to ask for extra blankets. The vent/fan in our bathroom was sooo loud we had to yell when talking from the bathroom. Housekeeping only made our beds, but didn't take any used cups nor lightly straighten out our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Columbus OH
Jan 4, 2010

Never again

Dirty, noisy, just overall bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to lots of stuff in the French Quarter.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Mississippi
Dec 31, 2009

"Perfect location, Perfect price"

we always try and book our room @ the RSC!! It is the perfect location and the perfect price for a fun weekend in NOLA!! The staff is ALWAYS friendly. this was our 6th or 7th time in 3 years to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CCC10K 2010
Couples
Brandon, MS
Dec 22, 2009

New Orleans Bowl Trip

This was a very nice hotel. It was clean and in a great location. Be sure to request window room at check in or you could be on the inside of the building with no windows. [...] be prepared to pay another $7 a night for the internet and gym. Don't be in a hurry when you arrive to get your car parked. The valet guys have to park about 5 blocks away and with only a couple people, that could take a while for them to go back and forth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top