$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Royal St. Charles

4 stars
View map of 135 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Out of State Holiday Traveler
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Mar 9, 2010

Not as exiciting as you'd think

This was our first stay at the Royal St. Charles. Although the website for the hotel made it seem rather nice, staff at check-in (and other times) were not very helpful. When it came time to park the car, the "free valet parking" that is supposed to be part of the cost of the hotel (and is listed as an "amenity" on their site) is actually "first come, first served" so anyone checking in late will not be able to park. The room was also incredibly small with only 3 feet of clearance to get around. No place to put your luggage, thus no chairs or seating area save for the beds. Incredibly small and cramped for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Mar 7, 2010

parking nightmare

Upon arrival, there was no parking to check in. Had to park in the road, wait an hour for the valet to take my car to the parking lot that is 7 blocks away. Went to room, found out it is the size of a match box. The next morning called the front desk to get my car. Valet could not find my car, and all together waited two hours for them to bring my car to me. I was not the only one waiting though, the lobby was filled with upset guests. I would not recommend this hotel, although it was a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Mar 1, 2010

not bad

The Royal St. Charles is the type of hotel you would want to stay at if you plan on spending no time in your hotel room. I don't mean that like a bad thing, there is just nothing special about it. The rooms are small but clean, and newly remodeled. Very courteous staff, and you could not ask for a better location. The one warning i have about the hotel is they charge a $7.95/per night "room fee." I'm not sure what this covers but i was not expecting it. When we checked in they told us about it, but they made it sound like a one time charge, not a per night fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Toujaques restaurant on Decatuer Street. this restaurant has no menu. You stick your head in and ask what they are making tonight and they tell you. If you like it, you stay, if you don't you leave. It was one of the best meals i ever had. Five courses are included with the price of your meal. All of the courses were absolutely delicious. When it was time to pay the bill i thought we would be paying well over 100 dollars. The total, without drinks, for two people, was about 80 dollars. I couldn't believe it.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 1, 2010

Quiet location but not attractive at all

Would not recommend. Take off list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kbnugs
Business
Gulfport, MS
Feb 24, 2010

Great location

This hotel was nice, newly renovated, with a cool lounge (The Ohm) downstairs. The room was tiny, but the balcony was nice - we were able to watch the parades from our room. The service wasn't great - we waited around a lot, especially for the valet to get our car Sunday morning (it WAS Mardi Gras, though!) Great location, but noisy; average price for the room and parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DON'T eat at The Pearl, a small diner just down St. Charles from the hotel - it's like a Cajun Waffle House, and a total rip-off!

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fam to fiesta tx
Business
houston tx
Feb 22, 2010

Unbeatable lacation for the price

We went for Mardigras and had a great time. The location is walking distance from everywhere we wanted to go. Also the tram helped to get to a bit further places. The staff was polite and helpful. This Hotel is in a great location the rooms are a bit small but for the price it cant be beat If your looking for4 star service and rooms then stay at the Mariot or a place like that. If your looking for reasnable pricing and great location then this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dude the Traveler
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 20, 2010

Don't bother.

Checked in monday before Mardi Gras, forced to wear a wristband for 2 days to keep street people out. Forced to pay additional $8 a day for phone/internet service, not optional per management. If you rent a car, expect another $30/day to park it there. small room with dubiously small "queen" sized bed, made even worse with a twin sized comforter. We had no maid service tuesday ( possibly due to Mardi Gras ), and maid showed up after 4pm on weds and thurs. walls are paper thin, so all neighboring tv, party, hallway activity heard easily. If you are heavy sleeper, not so bad, but creaky, squeeky streetcar passed our room six floors below from dawn to dusk and you could hear it plainly. When maid did come room was tidied fine. Continental breakfast was an asst. of Costco mini muffins and coffee in the lobby, no place to sit and eat. You are on parade route, but early in route. This means if you happen to be on other side of Canal street when any of multiple parades start, you are barricaded from your hotel unless you fight the crowds for 3 or more blocks to where parade u-turns, then fight same crowds 3 or more blocks back to your hotel. Staff seemed nice, but you really don't interact unless you are checking in or out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast is a difficult task in the French Quarter, outside of your hotel or Cafe Du Monde, and one can only eat so many fried doughnuts and live to tell the tale. Find a hotel with some kind of dining/breakfast establishment, you will find plenty of places for lunch and dinner. And really consider going car free, all the French Quarter hotels were over $25 a day premium for guest parking, versus a cab that has a flat $33 fare to or from airport and hotel.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
truRomad
Business
Destin, FL
Feb 13, 2010

DO YOUR JOB ([...] HOTEL STAFF)

First off there was no parking within 3 blocks and we had to pay $20, it was that or pay $30 at our hotel. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street juat a block away

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pabmama
Business
Tampa, FL
Feb 9, 2010

Terrible

The pictures of this hotel are nothing like the real thing. I felt like I was shoved in a closet. They do have better rooms, but how are you supposed to know if you are getting the nice one in the pictures or if you are getting the closet?? The hotel was not very clean, parking was a nightmare. I understand that I was there during a very busy time, but then they should have extra help to deal with it. I would never go to this hotel again and would never reccommend it to anyone. The breakfast was a joke to say the least. There is no concierge to help you find or reccommend places to go. Good thing we didn't spend much time in the room, since we were partying on Bourbon street for the superbowl.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plaquemine, la
Feb 1, 2010

No parking!

There is no parking near the hotel except for along the side of the street which is usually always full. We spent about 40 minutes riding around the block trying to find a parking spot which ended up three blocks from the hotel. The hotel will take your vehicle to there parking garage and park it for you free of charge. The kicker is finding a parking spot in front of the hotel. This parking catastrophie caused our checkin to take over an hour to get checked in and have the hotel park my vechicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street

Back to menu Return to top