$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Royal St. Charles

4 stars
135 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
350 reviews
Friendly staff and clean

This hotel is in a safe location within short walking distance to everything. Rooms weren't huge... See full review

  • FLTravelerlady
  • Oct 22, 2013
celebration

close to everthing, no free parking anymore but rate is reasonable to area See full review

  • hbchevelle
  • Mar 28, 2013
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9527 -90.0697
Nearby airports
New Orleans International Airport, (MSY), 14.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Superior King
Superior King Room-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safes
Superior Queen
Superior Queen Room-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safe
Superior Two Doubles
Superior 2 Doubles-modern decor-42 inch HDTV Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Digital Safe
Balcony King
King Balcony Room-balcony with Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Large King Suite Balcony
Large King Suite-Private balcony w-Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Junior Suite King
Junior Suite King-separate lounge area-Modern 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe
Large Queen Suite Balcony
Large Queen Suite-Private balcony-Seating area 42 inch HDTV-Plush Bedding-Work Desk-Safe

Amenities

Dining
Continental breakfast
Services
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Telephone

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (350)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
350 out of 350
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shreveport, LA
Oct 25, 2010

Not very impressed

Room service was horrible. The carpet in the room was wet throughout the stay. WiFi did not work half the time and the "in the room safe" was broken. They still charge you for the WiFi and the usage of the safe box.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
DFW TX
Oct 23, 2010

Pleasant and Accomadating - GREAT Loc!!

the hotel was in an excellent location directly in the heart of the French Quarter, VERY close to the street car stops. when i first arrived, i was asked to carry my own bags up to my room, and i objected and asked for a bellhop with a luggage cart....and they were accomadating. when i got to my room, it was VERY small. so small that there wasn't even enough room to open the doors on the TV armoir. i called down to front desk and ask them to move me to a more comfortable room... and they were very accomadating to do so. the rooms were VERY clean - and were cleaned every day with fresh towels. the ambiance of the rooms/hotel itself were pretty average...but not low quality in the slightest. the matresses could truly use an upgrade...they didn't have very much padding. our new room had HUGE bay windows with a gorgeous view of the Quarter. loved that! the bathrooms had hairdryers, marble counter tops, stone floors, and built in facial/makeup mirrors. a nice touch i thought. the bathtubs/showers were pretty small and made it difficult for a couple. for some reason they keep the hallways of the hotel extremely FRIDGED... so wear a sweater when traveling from your room to the elevator. on the day of checkout - they allowed one hour later for late checkout, and when i asked for a bellhop to help carry our bags down... again i was told i would have to do it myself because the bellhop was busy doing valet. that is my only complaint. anything else i found unsatisfactory, they were quick to remedy. i had a very pleasant vacation! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Bistro at the Ritz Carlton, only one block from the Royal St. Charles, has some of the BEST food in the French Quarter. i HIGHLY recommend!

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
DFW TX
Oct 23, 2010

Pleasant and Accomadating - GREAT Loc!!

the hotel was in an excellent location directly in the heart of the French Quarter, VERY close to the street car stops. when i first arrived, i was asked to carry my own bags up to my room, and i objected and asked for a bellhop with a luggage cart....and they were accomadating. when i got to my room, it was VERY small. so small that there wasn't even enough room to open the doors on the TV armoir. i called down to front desk and ask them to move me to a more comfortable room... and they were very accomadating to do so. the rooms were VERY clean - and were cleaned every day with fresh towels. the ambiance of the rooms/hotel itself were pretty average...but not low quality in the slightest. the matresses could truly use an upgrade...they didn't have very much padding. our new room had HUGE bay windows with a gorgeous view of the Quarter. loved that! the bathrooms had hairdryers, marble counter tops, stone floors, and built in facial/makeup mirrors. a nice touch i thought. the bathtubs/showers were pretty small and made it difficult for a couple. for some reason they keep the hallways of the hotel extremely FRIDGED... so wear a sweater when traveling from your room to the elevator. on the day of checkout - they allowed one hour later for late checkout, and when i asked for a bellhop to help carry our bags down... again i was told i would have to do it myself because the bellhop was busy doing valet. that is my only complaint. anything else i found unsatisfactory, they were quick to remedy. i had a very pleasant vacation! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Bistro at the Ritz Carlton, only one block from the Royal St. Charles, has some of the BEST food in the French Quarter. i HIGHLY recommend!

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
McNeese Cowboy Fan
Lake Charles,LA
Oct 16, 2010

Good, bad, and ugly!

Nice contemperary styling, with great coffe shop rift in the lobby. Unfortunately, that's where the compliments end. Tee-tiny rooms make you feel like your staying in a hostel. Awful guest service at the front desk and I hope you don't have any plans the following morning, because you will be asked to call valet 45min. prior to departure(we called 60 min. ahead). Plus spent another 45 min.+ waiting on our vehicle.(no beignets for us) Never seen anything quite like it as far as valet goes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Avoid valet parking

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
McNeese Cowboy Fan
Lake Charles,LA
Oct 16, 2010

Good, bad, and ugly!

Nice contemperary styling, with great coffe shop rift in the lobby. Unfortunately, that's where the compliments end. Tee-tiny rooms make you feel like your staying in a hostel. Awful guest service at the front desk and I hope you don't have any plans the following morning, because you will be asked to call valet 45min. prior to departure(we called 60 min. ahead). Plus spent another 45 min.+ waiting on our vehicle.(no beignets for us) Never seen anything quite like it as far as valet goes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Avoid valet parking

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barbara's friend
Merrimack, NH
Oct 13, 2010

Royal St. Charles

Checking in was a little slow however, the rooms were clean and the location was a few blocks away from Bourbon St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barbara's friend
Merrimack, NH
Oct 13, 2010

Royal St. Charles

Checking in was a little slow however, the rooms were clean and the location was a few blocks away from Bourbon St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newnan GA
Oct 6, 2010

good value for money -

checked in with a Queen, got to room and it was a double bed and tiny room, but clean, recently redone. I called the desk and they were very nice about upgrading to a king for $10 extra and it turned out to be a suite. Get an upper floor to avoid street noise + a few rooms below the fifth floor don't have windows. no great views of the river, but after first 5 minutes who really needs those anyway - your there to walk the French quarter. Despite worries from other reviews - the water was hot with good pressure, rooms clean, staff friendly - I had no issues. Down side - all bathrooms are a 1 person bath, small. The door clears the toliet by exactly 2" (but nice with granite counter & tile floor). No restaurant or free breakfast (but good PJ coffee with breakfast foods & you get a couple of $2 discount coupons per nights stay from the front desk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newnan GA
Oct 6, 2010

good value for money -

checked in with a Queen, got to room and it was a double bed and tiny room, but clean, recently redone. I called the desk and they were very nice about upgrading to a king for $10 extra and it turned out to be a suite. Get an upper floor to avoid street noise + a few rooms below the fifth floor don't have windows. no great views of the river, but after first 5 minutes who really needs those anyway - your there to walk the French quarter. Despite worries from other reviews - the water was hot with good pressure, rooms clean, staff friendly - I had no issues. Down side - all bathrooms are a 1 person bath, small. The door clears the toliet by exactly 2" (but nice with granite counter & tile floor). No restaurant or free breakfast (but good PJ coffee with breakfast foods & you get a couple of $2 discount coupons per nights stay from the front desk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, La.
Oct 3, 2010

Great Service

Well let me start by saying that our stay at this hotel was really perfect. Upon arrival we were treated like first class patrons. As I am not used to that, it impressed me very much. Check in was quick and friendly. During our stay the staff at the Hotel was just fantastic. Grant it the room was a little on the small side for me but the staff fixed that with the service. Upon leaving the service continued and so did the friendly treatment. Now I have been to these type of hotels in the past and was never treated this way. A big thank you is deserved to the staff for making this a great anniversary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Fish Grill

Back to menu Return to top