$91 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
208 reviews
Birthday getaway with the wife

Good location walk outside in 3 mins you at location get staff very clean hotel will come back again See full review

  • Terrell Wood
  • Jul 16, 2014
Friendly staff and clean

This hotel is in a safe location within short walking distance to everything. Rooms weren't huge... See full review

  • FLTravelerlady
  • Oct 22, 2013
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9527 -90.0697
Area served
New Orleans French Quarter
Nearby airports
MSY-New Orleans
Area description
From I-10 WEST (Airport): Take I-10 toward Westbank (US 90), exit St Charles/Carondelet Street. Continue to the 3rd light, turn left on Camp Street. Go through 7 lights, turn left on Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is one block up on the right. From I-10 EAST: Take I-10 toward the "Central Business District" (CBD), take the Canal Street Exit. At the light take a right on to Canal Street. Go approximately one mile and take a right on St. Charles Avenue. Take the first right at Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel entrance is on the right

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bourbon Street regulars
Abita Springs, LA
May 9, 2010

you get what you pay for

The old adage, "you get what you pay for" has never been more true. We're local to New Orleans (northshore) and often stay one night in the city if we're in town partying so that we don't drink and drive. We were meeting friends for a night of fun down in the Quarter. They stayed in the Westin and paid twice what we paid, but their room was fabulous and the hotel was awesome. Ours was not. First the positive on Royal St Charles: great location, cheap price, friendly staff, and the bed was actually comfortable. Now the bad: cramped room, bathroom so small that 2 people couldn't even stand in there together, broken furniture, worn upholstery, only one working elevator, bad shower head, no microwave/fridge, broken shelves and ironing board holder in closet, had to wait over an hour on Sunday for our car because they had one valet and about 20 people waiting and the parking lot they used was blocks away - poor guy was running his butt off (about one car per 10 minutes until they finally added another person an hour later). All in all, we will never stay there again. The savings wasn't worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk - 2 blocks to start of Bourbon Street.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenville Ms
May 8, 2010

Awsome

we had a great time... Staff Was Wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ruston, LA
Apr 30, 2010

Hotel...out, [...]

It started with my reservation being wrong and one of my rooms not booked. Wehn we got to our rooms 340 minutes later (because the staff was clueless) the rooms smelled like an ashtray, sheets had not been changed and the bathrooms were dirty. I will never go to this hotel again or book through [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
samme007
Christiana, TN
Apr 29, 2010

Nice Place

Really nice hotel. The room was clean and well appointed. We had a balcony which was nice, especially since husband is a smoker. We did request a smoking room however, all rooms are non smoking. Contiental breakfast was nice, but we also visited the Cafe Du Mode......... Close walking distance to just about where in the French Quarters you would want to go. For a great seafood dinner, try Deanie's. It is a short walk up Canal Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

IF you want to visit Burbon Street and the French Quarters the walk is easy. Bring some good walking shoes and take advantage of sights and sounds of the French Quarters.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
southern tier ny
Apr 24, 2010

great location

streetcar right outside the door;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat off Bourbon St. ask the locals for places

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Apr 21, 2010

Royal St Charles

We arrived after midnite to be greeted with a sign at the desk that said that a mandatory "Resort Fee" was going to have to be paid. I refused. They said I had no choice. I was forced to give them my credit card or have to look for another hotel. I was furious. This almost ruined our trip. I want my money back.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bach Man
New Orleans, LA
Apr 19, 2010

Kind of a Dump

The stay at the hotel was far from enjoyable. The only positive I could find was the location. The rooms were very small with very little accomodations. The staff was very difficult to work with and couldn't seem to understand the slightest requests. Next time I will spend a little extra and go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
They call me Chance
New York
Apr 19, 2010

Definitely worth the price

Better than expected. I would have given 3.5 stars but that was not an option. The room including the bathroom was a lot better than expected and extremely clean. Would like to see the Lobby after the renovation and a slightly better continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is a short walk or trolley ride away.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas Cajuns
San Antonio, Texas
Apr 18, 2010

OUR NEW ORLEANS TRIP

The hotel was really nice and the service excellent. We used valet parking and had excellent, friendly service. The only complaint we had was no soda machines in the hotel so ice water was all that was available to drink. Also no snack machines. The location was great for our sight seeing and Bourbon St. was close by. The staff was very friendly and the continental breakfast good. Especially the coffee. Oooh so good coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food at the French Quarter restaurants and they're very close. Valet parking is handled very efficiently.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Savings Queen
Carrollton, GA
Apr 17, 2010

Big Surprise!

My husband and I scheduled a quick get away trip for 3 days so we wanted a reasonably priced hotel. We were surprised with the rooms at Royal St. Charles, we expected to have a poor room for the price. The location was also walking distance to many restaurants. The only thing bad about the room was the bathroom, it was very small. Other than that, the room was good considering the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at The House of Blues!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search