$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
View map of 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unimpressed College Student
Business
Lafayette, LA
Nov 29, 2010

Good enough

Not too bad. It sufficed, but the the front desk workers were a bit rude and short tempered.But for the price it is what expected, plus we didn't spend any time at all in the actual hotel so I can't complain too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 17, 2010

Poor service, low quality control.

My thoughts: - WiFi and telephone are daily mandatory charges not included in the main booking fee. WiFi speed is rediculously slow, 4KB/s (slower than dial-up). - No restaurant, just a simple cafe with generic coffee and muffins. - Staff aren't enthusiastic about making you feel welcome. I asked where I could get food at 11PM on a Sunday after my arrival and was instructed to just walk around. - My room had no heat and the bathroom vent was non-functional; the weather was cold outside. I informed the staff once the first time; nobody attended to it until the next day after a second complaint. I recieved a call while at the conference, apparently the heater could not be repaired, my belongings were moved to another room, not non-smoking. They immediately booked my previous room without waiting for me to return to empty the safe, so I had to leave the conference early to resolve the issue. - The location was nice, a mile from the convention center and close to many restaurants and bars. No taxi needed, except to get to the airport. - No complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street is 3 blocks away. Lots of drinking, clubs/bars and restaurants in the area. Vibrant location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, NC
Nov 16, 2010

Great location but dirty

When we checked in the front desk person was not very friendly. The room was large (corner room) but very dirty and the shower matt had black mildue all over it. We loved that it was a block from the French Quarter and right on the trolley line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go down Royal Street in the Quarter and there are great gallery's and shops with some great places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 15, 2010

Great for the price

It's a great hotel if you are just looking for a place to lay your head in between exploring and enjoying New Orleans. The valet parking deal is a great price because there is no free public parking available. The extra charge for the phone service was a shocker. Don't expect any amenities but at least it's clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are just staying in New Orleans don't bother taking your car because you have to pay to park everywhere. Take the street car or put on some comfy walking shoes and walk a couple blocks to everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherilyn
Business
Moorhead. MS
Nov 2, 2010

Great staff ...would stay again!

Saints game and Halloween..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Texas Knight
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 27, 2010

Poor value for the money

This is a small hotel about a block off Canal street in downtown. The staff was not friendly nor helpful, it gave us the feeling of being in the way rather than guests. We interrupted the front desk staff's personal phone calls each time we had a question. The room was fairly clean, but very small...no chair or loveseat for sitting and no desk area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deanie's restaurant is a short walk down Royal Street and the fried artichoke hearts should not be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOLA Kinda girl
Business
Indianapolis
Oct 26, 2010

ROYAL ST. CHARLES

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 4 days and ended up having several issues. There was no phone or clock in the room. The ice machine on our floor was broken and ended up not getting repaired the whole time we were there so we had to go to another floor to get ice. Some of the staff were nice but then some were rude and short with us if we asked questions about the area. We did not always get hot water for our showers. The only thing that was good about this hotel was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is alot of walking involved to get to all the lovely places in the area so bring at lease one pair of wearable shoes. Keep a map with you so you can get to the great dining spots but a word of caution don`t use it when going out on Bourbon St at night. There are so many good things to eat and so little time. But I do always go to Jonnys for my po-boys when I am in town. Last but not least be smart about partying, know your limit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
Oct 25, 2010

Not very impressed

Room service was horrible. The carpet in the room was wet throughout the stay. WiFi did not work half the time and the "in the room safe" was broken. They still charge you for the WiFi and the usage of the safe box.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DFW TX
Oct 23, 2010

Pleasant and Accomadating - GREAT Loc!!

the hotel was in an excellent location directly in the heart of the French Quarter, VERY close to the street car stops. when i first arrived, i was asked to carry my own bags up to my room, and i objected and asked for a bellhop with a luggage cart....and they were accomadating. when i got to my room, it was VERY small. so small that there wasn't even enough room to open the doors on the TV armoir. i called down to front desk and ask them to move me to a more comfortable room... and they were very accomadating to do so. the rooms were VERY clean - and were cleaned every day with fresh towels. the ambiance of the rooms/hotel itself were pretty average...but not low quality in the slightest. the matresses could truly use an upgrade...they didn't have very much padding. our new room had HUGE bay windows with a gorgeous view of the Quarter. loved that! the bathrooms had hairdryers, marble counter tops, stone floors, and built in facial/makeup mirrors. a nice touch i thought. the bathtubs/showers were pretty small and made it difficult for a couple. for some reason they keep the hallways of the hotel extremely FRIDGED... so wear a sweater when traveling from your room to the elevator. on the day of checkout - they allowed one hour later for late checkout, and when i asked for a bellhop to help carry our bags down... again i was told i would have to do it myself because the bellhop was busy doing valet. that is my only complaint. anything else i found unsatisfactory, they were quick to remedy. i had a very pleasant vacation! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Bistro at the Ritz Carlton, only one block from the Royal St. Charles, has some of the BEST food in the French Quarter. i HIGHLY recommend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
McNeese Cowboy Fan
Business
Lake Charles,LA
Oct 16, 2010

Good, bad, and ugly!

Nice contemperary styling, with great coffe shop rift in the lobby. Unfortunately, that's where the compliments end. Tee-tiny rooms make you feel like your staying in a hostel. Awful guest service at the front desk and I hope you don't have any plans the following morning, because you will be asked to call valet 45min. prior to departure(we called 60 min. ahead). Plus spent another 45 min.+ waiting on our vehicle.(no beignets for us) Never seen anything quite like it as far as valet goes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Avoid valet parking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top