$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Royal St. Charles

4 stars
View map of 135 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 191
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherilyn
Couples
Moorhead. MS
Nov 2, 2010

Great staff ...would stay again!

Saints game and Halloween..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Texas Knight
Couples
Houston, TX
Oct 27, 2010

Poor value for the money

This is a small hotel about a block off Canal street in downtown. The staff was not friendly nor helpful, it gave us the feeling of being in the way rather than guests. We interrupted the front desk staff's personal phone calls each time we had a question. The room was fairly clean, but very small...no chair or loveseat for sitting and no desk area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deanie's restaurant is a short walk down Royal Street and the fried artichoke hearts should not be missed.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Shreveport, LA
Oct 25, 2010

Not very impressed

Room service was horrible. The carpet in the room was wet throughout the stay. WiFi did not work half the time and the "in the room safe" was broken. They still charge you for the WiFi and the usage of the safe box.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
DFW TX
Oct 23, 2010

Pleasant and Accomadating - GREAT Loc!!

the hotel was in an excellent location directly in the heart of the French Quarter, VERY close to the street car stops. when i first arrived, i was asked to carry my own bags up to my room, and i objected and asked for a bellhop with a luggage cart....and they were accomadating. when i got to my room, it was VERY small. so small that there wasn't even enough room to open the doors on the TV armoir. i called down to front desk and ask them to move me to a more comfortable room... and they were very accomadating to do so. the rooms were VERY clean - and were cleaned every day with fresh towels. the ambiance of the rooms/hotel itself were pretty average...but not low quality in the slightest. the matresses could truly use an upgrade...they didn't have very much padding. our new room had HUGE bay windows with a gorgeous view of the Quarter. loved that! the bathrooms had hairdryers, marble counter tops, stone floors, and built in facial/makeup mirrors. a nice touch i thought. the bathtubs/showers were pretty small and made it difficult for a couple. for some reason they keep the hallways of the hotel extremely FRIDGED... so wear a sweater when traveling from your room to the elevator. on the day of checkout - they allowed one hour later for late checkout, and when i asked for a bellhop to help carry our bags down... again i was told i would have to do it myself because the bellhop was busy doing valet. that is my only complaint. anything else i found unsatisfactory, they were quick to remedy. i had a very pleasant vacation! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Bistro at the Ritz Carlton, only one block from the Royal St. Charles, has some of the BEST food in the French Quarter. i HIGHLY recommend!

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
McNeese Cowboy Fan
Couples
Lake Charles,LA
Oct 16, 2010

Good, bad, and ugly!

Nice contemperary styling, with great coffe shop rift in the lobby. Unfortunately, that's where the compliments end. Tee-tiny rooms make you feel like your staying in a hostel. Awful guest service at the front desk and I hope you don't have any plans the following morning, because you will be asked to call valet 45min. prior to departure(we called 60 min. ahead). Plus spent another 45 min.+ waiting on our vehicle.(no beignets for us) Never seen anything quite like it as far as valet goes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Avoid valet parking

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barbara's friend
Friends
Merrimack, NH
Oct 13, 2010

Royal St. Charles

Checking in was a little slow however, the rooms were clean and the location was a few blocks away from Bourbon St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newnan GA
Oct 6, 2010

good value for money -

checked in with a Queen, got to room and it was a double bed and tiny room, but clean, recently redone. I called the desk and they were very nice about upgrading to a king for $10 extra and it turned out to be a suite. Get an upper floor to avoid street noise + a few rooms below the fifth floor don't have windows. no great views of the river, but after first 5 minutes who really needs those anyway - your there to walk the French quarter. Despite worries from other reviews - the water was hot with good pressure, rooms clean, staff friendly - I had no issues. Down side - all bathrooms are a 1 person bath, small. The door clears the toliet by exactly 2" (but nice with granite counter & tile floor). No restaurant or free breakfast (but good PJ coffee with breakfast foods & you get a couple of $2 discount coupons per nights stay from the front desk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Springfield, La.
Oct 3, 2010

Great Service

Well let me start by saying that our stay at this hotel was really perfect. Upon arrival we were treated like first class patrons. As I am not used to that, it impressed me very much. Check in was quick and friendly. During our stay the staff at the Hotel was just fantastic. Grant it the room was a little on the small side for me but the staff fixed that with the service. Upon leaving the service continued and so did the friendly treatment. Now I have been to these type of hotels in the past and was never treated this way. A big thank you is deserved to the staff for making this a great anniversary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Fish Grill

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oceanquest
Friends
atlanta
Oct 1, 2010

GOOD LOCATION AND WORTH THE PRICE

The hotel is nice and good location. The staff are a bit unfriendly and unattentive.... it took us 45 minutes to get our car from their valet parking. The room was nice and clean, and aircon worked just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife and good restaurants are short walk..

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Partying Student
Friends
Atlanta, Ga
Sep 27, 2010

Awesome location

I love that we could walk to canal street and were instantly in the middle of everything. Discounted valet service was awesome eventhough they took forever to bring the car around. Room had huge windows, big bathrooms and the safe came in handy. Overall I must recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal street...2minute walk. Bourban street 7mins

Back to menu Return to top