$91 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
352 reviews
Birthday getaway with the wife

Good location walk outside in 3 mins you at location get staff very clean hotel will come back again See full review

  • Terrell Wood
  • Jul 16, 2014
Friendly staff and clean

This hotel is in a safe location within short walking distance to everything. Rooms weren't huge... See full review

  • FLTravelerlady
  • Oct 22, 2013
Budget hotel on St. Charles Avenue with a fitness center

Royal St. Charles is a contemporary New Orleans hotel located at the end of the central business district, offering 143 rooms and suites accented with handmade furniture and original artworks. Points of interests such as the historic French Quarter and Canal Street just a block away. Guests at this cozy hotel can also check out the bars along Bourbon Street close by. Other local attractions include National World War II Museum, Jackson Square, Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and The Presbytere              

Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • A few blocks from French Quarter
  • Streetcar at the door
Rooms

Royal St. Charles offers king, queen and double rooms and suites. Each unit comes with 42-inch flat-screen TV, Wi-Fi access (fees apply), coffee- and tea-making facilities, safe deposit box, hairdryer, and iron/ironing board. Non-smoking and handicapped accessible rooms are available.

Features

Royal St. Charles offers airport shuttle service and valet parking with a fee. Additional services include 24-hour front desk, dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, tour assistance, and business center. Patrons at this smoke-free property can work out at the fitness center and hold meetings at the banquet facilities on site.

Transportation
  • St. Charles Streetcar
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Garden District
  • Bourbon Street
  • Royal Street antiques and art galleries
Business
  • Meeting space for groups and banquets to 300 people
  • Special events coordinator on site

 

Policies and fees
  • The Royal St. Charles Hotel has an amenity package fee of $9.95 per night. This package includes unlimited local and long distance phone calls, Wi-Fi internet access, 24-hour fitness center usage, and up to $20,000 insurance on your in-room safe. This is a mandatory fee by the hotel.
  • Unless otherwise indicated, the charges below are not included in the overall room price. If not included in the overall room price, they will be charged by the property at check-in or check-out. Charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.
    • Resort fee: $9.95 USD per accommodation, per night 
    • Valet parking fee: $32 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Valet parking fee for large vehicle: $40.00 USD per night (in/out privileges)
    • Late check-out fee: $30.00 USD
    • Rollaway bed fee: $20.00 USD per stay

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9527 -90.0697
Area served
New Orleans French Quarter
Nearby airports
MSY-New Orleans
Area description
From I-10 WEST (Airport): Take I-10 toward Westbank (US 90), exit St Charles/Carondelet Street. Continue to the 3rd light, turn left on Camp Street. Go through 7 lights, turn left on Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is one block up on the right. From I-10 EAST: Take I-10 toward the "Central Business District" (CBD), take the Canal Street Exit. At the light take a right on to Canal Street. Go approximately one mile and take a right on St. Charles Avenue. Take the first right at Common Street. The Royal St. Charles Hotel entrance is on the right

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal St. Charles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Royal St. Charles Rooms

Queen
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one queen bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers,and irons & ironing boards,
Double Double
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and two double beds. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.
King
Guest rooms feature elegantly decorated guest rooms with exquisite European furnishings and one king bed. Other amenities include original artwork, in room safes, hair dryers, coffee & coffee makers, and irons & ironing boards.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our catering staff is awaiting your arrival for a successful and memorable event. From a variety of New Orleans cuisine and fun, your guests can truly have a "taste of New Orleans". Allow our special events coordinator to plan your event from start to finish. Additional services offered and arranged by the catering department: transportation, off-site events at local attraction venues, restaurant reservations, golf outings, specialty decor, musical entertainment, tours, team building activities & more. We offer 4100 square feet of meeting/banquet space with five private rooms, which can accommodate 10 to 300 guests in a wide variety of meeting room setups. Meeting and reception packages are available for your convenience, as well as audio and visual capabilities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (352)

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
352 out of 352
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryron
Austin, Texas
Jun 27, 2012

Excellent location right by the Quarter

I'm having trouble understanding why this hotel only averages a 3 star rating. The staff was accomodating, the location absolutely perfect, and the room ( a single king) just what I was looking for. Nothing extravagant, but instead just the perfect size to relax after a day (or night) in the French Quarter. I have a feeling that I'll be back here, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 1, 2011

Good Value/Met Expectations

I had never been to New Orleans and was looking for a place to stay during Mardi Gras that was clean and fairly inexpensive, and this hotel fully met those expectations. The customer service a the front desk was a little slow but friendly. The only complaint was that the elevators were broken for part of our stay. The location was great for the price and I would definatley stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Experience Bourbon St.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 1, 2011

Good Value/Met Expectations

I had never been to New Orleans and was looking for a place to stay during Mardi Gras that was clean and fairly inexpensive, and this hotel fully met those expectations. The customer service a the front desk was a little slow but friendly. The only complaint was that the elevators were broken for part of our stay. The location was great for the price and I would definatley stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Experience Bourbon St.

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver
Feb 23, 2011

Good Location

Great location but the hotel is a little run down. House keeping forgot to clean the room twice but responded quickly when I called the front desk. You are in New Orleans so the quality of the room wasn't as important as it would be in other resort locations. The room was supposed to be a smoke free room but it was obvious that wasn't the case upon entering the room. You defintely get what you paid for at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rather not say
Feb 23, 2011

Great

Clean, modern, great location. My room was a bit small, but I didn't mind. And I loved the PJ's coffee shop in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive, but I walked it. Port of call on Esplanade has the best burgers and baked potatoes in the world!

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver
Feb 23, 2011

Good Location

Great location but the hotel is a little run down. House keeping forgot to clean the room twice but responded quickly when I called the front desk. You are in New Orleans so the quality of the room wasn't as important as it would be in other resort locations. The room was supposed to be a smoke free room but it was obvious that wasn't the case upon entering the room. You defintely get what you paid for at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Murfreesboro, TN
Feb 23, 2011

Nice for the Price

Hotel was convenient to shopping, restaurants, trolley stop just outside the door. Only a few blocks to the french quarter. The coffee shop was nice on the first floor. Check-in was fast and staff very friendly. The only problem we had was maid service. We had to request them clean our room on the 1st day as they hadn't cleaned it by 4:00 p.m. We also had to constantly request bath or hand towels as they would not leave enough even though they knew we had 3 guests in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Several blocks to French quarter area. But lots of entertainment and bars/pubs and souvenier shops along the way..

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rather not say
Feb 23, 2011

Great

Clean, modern, great location. My room was a bit small, but I didn't mind. And I loved the PJ's coffee shop in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive, but I walked it. Port of call on Esplanade has the best burgers and baked potatoes in the world!

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Murfreesboro, TN
Feb 23, 2011

Nice for the Price

Hotel was convenient to shopping, restaurants, trolley stop just outside the door. Only a few blocks to the french quarter. The coffee shop was nice on the first floor. Check-in was fast and staff very friendly. The only problem we had was maid service. We had to request them clean our room on the 1st day as they hadn't cleaned it by 4:00 p.m. We also had to constantly request bath or hand towels as they would not leave enough even though they knew we had 3 guests in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Several blocks to French quarter area. But lots of entertainment and bars/pubs and souvenier shops along the way..

Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dothan, Alabama
Feb 20, 2011

Good location but with little problems

Service was very good, hotel is clean, but they have plenty of extra charges that increase the cost. I don't know about other rooms, but in my room I could hear everything that my neighbors were talking about. Luckily they fell asleep, so I could rest, too, otherwise I was close to ask for another room. I would expect a little bit more comfort in the room that is called "De luxe", for example not enough room on both sides of the bed, so if you are travelling with your wife, you might find difficult getting up at night. Probably other rooms have better relationships between walls beds and furniture. I think 75 dollars is the top price I can pay for the room like that, nevertheless I enjoyed the stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dothan, Alabama
Feb 20, 2011

Good location but with little problems

Service was very good, hotel is clean, but they have plenty of extra charges that increase the cost. I don't know about other rooms, but in my room I could hear everything that my neighbors were talking about. Luckily they fell asleep, so I could rest, too, otherwise I was close to ask for another room. I would expect a little bit more comfort in the room that is called "De luxe", for example not enough room on both sides of the bed, so if you are travelling with your wife, you might find difficult getting up at night. Probably other rooms have better relationships between walls beds and furniture. I think 75 dollars is the top price I can pay for the room like that, nevertheless I enjoyed the stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top