$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Royal St. Charles

3 stars
View map of 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal St. Charles

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jan 8, 2011

Not worth the value

Thin walls. Plumbing problems made sleeping intollerable. They decided to cover up the only window in the room with a tv that you weren't able to view from the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Dec 30, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

I didn't stay a long time at the hotel because there was lots of things to do in New Orleans, but the room was really comfortable and the location is almost perfect. One block from bourbon street and a couple from the mississippi river and also with a trolley stop right on the corner of the hotel! Good Stuff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fernanda Cruz
Business
São Paulo, Brazil
Dec 18, 2010

Well located!

The hotel is very well located, near to the main attractions of New Orleans. Although breakfast is not included, they offered vouchers ($2 per day).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Walking tour to the Garden District. Beautiful architecture and historical sites, such as Lafayette's Cemetery and Anne Rice's former home, in which the "Witching Hour" was based on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Dec 10, 2010

Royal st charles trip NEW ORLEANS

small, clean, great great location . exceed my expectations for the price...much more expensive hotels right next dooor.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to everything and public transportation system did not need car or cab to go anywhere...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pascagoula, MS
Dec 9, 2010

just okay

Visited for the Bayou Classic & walked on Bourbon & Canal. The lobby is very nice, the first room we had was a one star. The second room was much better. The desk clerk lied when I requested a specific room but gave me what i asked for after I called to complain & she was rude. I was not satisfied like I wanted to be!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to Bourbon & Canal but not too close. The coffee in the lobby was also great!! The clerk had a attitude when I asked for another room..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Lansing, MI
Dec 1, 2010

Friendly Staff and Acceptable Rooms

The hotel experience was a good one, except for the fact that the room key never worked and we had to go downstairs to have it programmed at least a half dozen times over our 2 night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Florida
Nov 30, 2010

Was good

Was in town for sporting event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chubby Checker
Business
Tupelo MS
Nov 30, 2010

bayou classic football weekend

The whole experience from start to finish was bad. The desk clerk was not very freindly. When entering the room,the bedding looked as though someone had slept on it and the carpeting was very soiled. The heating never worked in the room. I don't plan to stay there again and would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Professor R
Business
Monroe, LA
Nov 29, 2010

Not so great

The room was really tiny and the second person had to crawl to get into the bed. If that was a queen-sized bed, they must have started making them smaller. The door to the bathroom would hardly swing shut and clear the toilet. However, the staff in the lobby were friendly and helpful. Having half off on valet parking isn't much good when it is "full."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay away when there is a major event going on in the city, or alternatively don't bring a car. We were tied up in traffic for hours to go about 6 blocks, and also found many streets blocked off making it nearly impossible to return to the hotel after going out for an event. Access to the streetcars is very convenient, and the French Quarter is just across Canal Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal St. Charles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Experienced Travel
Business
New Orleans, LA
Nov 29, 2010

Great Location, Clean, Small Rooms

Great Location, Clean Rooms, A little small but overall a great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top