$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
336 reviews
Home Away From Home

My daughter was in NOLA for business. I had the chance to sneak down from Ohio for the weekend. The... See full review

  • Andrew H.
  • Apr 16, 2015
Back again!

We stayed here about ten years ago and loved it! Usually more than we are willing to spend, but... See full review

  • retired gypsy
  • Apr 1, 2015
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Accessible Deluxe King
Handicap Accessible-King Bed.
Conti or Bienville Street Balcon
Conti or Bienville Street Balcony King Wifi - TV HD - safe - minibar
R Club Double
R Club Floor - 2 Dbl beds - Comp WiFi full brkfst -evening cocktails-hors doeuvres
R Club King
R Club Floor - 1 King - Comp WiFi full brkfst -evening cocktails-hors doeuvres
Standard Room
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability.
Accessible Deluxe Double
Handicap accessible deluxe double beds.
Accessible Queen Bed.
Handicap Accessible Queen Bed.
Bourbon Balcony King
Bourbon Balcony- King Bed WiFi Desk TV HD- safe- minibar
Pool Patio Balcony Double
Premium Double Pool Terrace Balcony -2 Beds WiFi-TV HD-safe-minibar
Pool Patio Balcony King
Premium Pool Terrace Balcony -1 King WiFi-TV HD-safe-minibar
Deluxe Room Double
2 Dbl Beds-WiFi-safe-minibar-TV HD-marble bath
Deluxe Room King
Deluxe Room-King Bed WiFi-TV HD-safe-minibar

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant Revolution
Five Star quality restaurant expected to open March 2012.
Desire Oyster Bar and Grill
Casual dining. Moderately priced serving 3 meals 7 days. Features generous portions of local favorites. The shrimp and grits are not to be missed.
PJs Coffee Cafe
Serves locally roasted PJs Coffee and Specialty Drinks- freshly baked items baked by our pastry chef and light lunch items
Room Service
In room dining available 7 days a week 6 am to 11 pm with extended hours during special events

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 336
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
retired gypsy
Business
Green Cove Springs
Apr 1, 2015

Back again!

We stayed here about ten years ago and loved it! Usually more than we are willing to spend, but glad we did this time. Great location right on Bourbon St., but fairly quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary Carol DiLoreto
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

super fun 5 day week end

Rooms were average for the cost. Location was super. Not many perks- had to ask about complimentary coffee in am. Room cleaner was excellent-kept up on room. Pool was heated which made the whole experience more enjoyable. Otherwise, the cost of the room was over priced with what was available.Somewhat outdated but had fun in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eric R.
Business
Jersey City
Mar 2, 2015

Awesome trip

Great location!!!! Book an inside room. We had to upgrade to a balcony room facing the pool area, more relaxing. Staff were helpful. Just love the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KC331
Business
Yonkers
Jan 27, 2015

Young couples august getaway!

My boyfriend and I stayed here in late August of 2014. It was our first trip to New Orleans, and we definitely plan on going back and staying at the Royal Sonesta again! If you want the Bourbon Street experience this is definitely the place to be. So in the middle of EVERYTHING. We thought it was the perfect location--right on bourbon street in the midst of it all. We had an amazing time-- people who worked at the hotel were extremely nice and helpful, room was clean and comfortable, and there was even a pool! The hotel restaurants are supposed to be pretty incredible, but they were a little beyond what we could afford. Menus looked amazing though. It was a little loud outside, but hey, if you want to stay on bourbon you should expect at least a little noise! Again, will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mabs1
Business
Kentwood
Jan 24, 2015

Amazing

Fantastic hotel. Location doesn't get any better. Friendly and accommodating staff. The only bad thing about this hotel is leaving it. Go to dinner at Revolution for a real treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KC.913
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Christmas in New Orleans

We had never been to New Orleans before and stayed at the Royale Sonesta on a friend's recommendation. The location is perfect - you can walk to many places and are right on Bourbon. The staff was fantastic and friendly. We will definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Quick cab ride to Frenchmen Street - excellent music scene.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cami Lyn
Business
Logan, UT
Dec 1, 2014

New Orleans getaway

Loved the hotel! Hotel was very clean and the location was great! Staff was very friendly. Would go back in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nurse D.G.
Business
Maine
Nov 24, 2014

everything was great, but...

The morning of our flight the desk sent us to the parking garage exit to wait for a taxi that never showed up, and we were locked as we had handed in our room keys. Very confusing, and nerve wracking. We were finally rescued by an independent shuttle service, no thanks to the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

pricey, but worth it (revolution)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jo Ann B.
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Nov 20, 2014

Excellent Stay!

From the moment we pulled into valet parking, we were already impressed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We checked in with ease and discovered an upgrade to our room, with a bottle of chilled champaign! The location is right in the heart of Bourbon St. Walking distance to everything you may need. We will definitely be back to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom Melinda
Business
Springfield, Missouri
Sep 14, 2014

50th Birthday Party

My friends had called the hotel prior to our arrival to arrange a huge balloon bouquet to surprise me with and it was there and waiting when I checked in. They also up-graded my balcony room so that it had a larger balcony and gave me a complementary bottle of champagne. There is also no better location than the Royal Sonesta, it is on the perfect end of Bourbon Street and access to the trolley system is 2 blocks away which is how you want to see New Orleans and for three dollars you can get on and get off all day long. This hotel also had the best pillow selection of any hotel we have ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top