$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
287 reviews
Fantastic getaway

Excellent location, great food, good times . A must try. See full review

  • Wild Blll
  • Aug 6, 2014
The Only Place To Stay In New Orleans

Great comfortable stay in New Orleans. Have stayed there many times and never disappointed See full review

  • UGA4LIFE
  • Jul 1, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (287)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J-Tizzel
Austin, TX
Jun 3, 2010

Best Two Days Ever

Bed was very comfortable. The only bad thing was that I lost a $425 pair of Oakleys somewhere in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Desire has the best blackened red snapper covered in crab meat that I have ever eaten. I'm sure the rest of the menu is just as tasty.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jun 3, 2010

Excellent Time

Experience was excellent overall but our room was right near the elevator and people seem to think they can be noisy when entering and exiting floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bartai
Louisville, KY
Jun 1, 2010

Great hotel

The location of the hotel is the best. Being on Bourbon you would think it would be a bit noisy but not at all. Loved the fact that we came in about 4 hours prior to check-in and to our suprise were immediately given a room. That rocks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Don't be afraid to just try a place...you can't go wrong with the food in New Orleans.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KRISSY H
LOS ANGELES, CA
May 31, 2010

BEAUTY WITH A FEW GLITCHES

THIS WAS MY 2ND TIME HERE AND MY PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE WAS FLAWLESS. THIS TIME THERE WERE A FEW BUMPS IN THE ROAD. THE INITIAL PERSON AT THE CHECK IN DESK WAS A BIT IRRITABLE AND NOT FRIENDLY - NOT A GOOD THING WHEN YOU FIRST CHECK IN!!! THEN THE ROOM WE GOT ON BOURBON STREET (WHICH MY FAULT I REQUESTED) SEEMED KIND OF RUN DOWN AND SMELLED OF SMOKE. I REQUESTED THAT WE MOVE TO ANOTHER SECTION OF THE HOTEL ON A HIGHER FLOOR AND THAT ROOM WAS BEAUTIFUL - SO A WARNING ABOUT THE BOURBON STREET SIDE - THE ROOM SEEMED OLDER OR SOMETHING BUT NOT GOOD! THEN I FOUND OUT AFTER CHECKING MY BANK BALANCE THAT THEY HAD PUT A HOLD ON MY ATM CARD FOR $200 WHICH THEY DID NOT TELL ME THEY WERE GOING TO DO!!! AFTER I COMPLAINED ABOUT THAT IT WAS SMOOTH SAILING - STAFF WAS WONDERFUL - ESPECIALLY THE BELLMEN AND THE ROOM WAS QUIET, CLEAN AND HAD THE AMBIANCE OF NEW ORLEANS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisiana
May 25, 2010

The royal sonesta in the french quarter

This Hotel is in a very convient location situated on an entire city block boardering Burbon st. The staff was very helpful from the time we stepped out of our car in the parking garage. Parking was $32.00 a day. The Sunday brunch was extremely good. Dishes were light on salt and seasoning but very well seasoned with ingrediants ,ie sasauge and boiled shrimp. The near by GW Fins restaurant was incredible. Non traditional seasonings, such as a pumpkin seed flour crusted grouper,make this establishment stand out as a virtuoso commander of flavor. I have and would return to the Royal Sonesta.Our room did not over look Burbon St..The typical street noise could be heard from our room but not so much of the non stop Burbon St. hooping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy bottled water at the walgreens around the corner.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cpack
cody, wyoming
May 2, 2010

again and again

my wife and i had put our honeymoon off for a couple of years.. my cousin was getting married in new orleans so we killed two birds. we booked the club floor that comes with a well appointed room. breakfast in the am and hordourves/ drinks in the evening. the staff was at our beck and call and seemed to love it that way! we will be back i guarantee! oh, almost forgot. the location is smack dab in the middle of the action on bourbon st.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MICHIGAN
May 2, 2010

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL

HOTEL BEAUTIFUL BUT WHEN WE GOT THERE WERE TOLD ROOM WOULD BE ANOTHER HOUR AND THEN WHEN WE WENT BACK TOLD THAT THE PEOPLE DID NOT CHECK OUT AND WE HAD TO GET ANOTHER ROOM. SAID ANOTHER HOUR. NOT A GREAT BEGINNING FOR US. WE WERE ON CONCIERGE FLOOR AND DIDN'T FEEL WE WERE GIVEN MUCH EXTRA FOR THE PRICE WE PAID.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING RIGHT THERE IN THE QUARTER OR SHORT WALK TO CASINO, WATER ETC.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
May 2, 2010

great hotel in French Quarter

Great hotel in the French Quarter. Rooms are nice with fabulous bedding. Can be noisy if you are located overlooking Bourbon Street. Bar, Desire, and jazz club are the best. Very friendly staff and convenient location to everything going on in and around the Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to many of the famous great restaurants. inexpensive cab ride to the fairgrounds if you are attending Jazz Fest.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
richmond bc
Apr 25, 2010

really enjoyed my stay

first time in Nola and the location of the hotel helped very much to enjoy the visit, I came on business but also had the opportunity to wnjoy some nightlife. room was great and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Apr 22, 2010

So-so

The hotel is on bourbon street. Thats great for location but the area around it smells awful. The room smelled like there had been a dog staying in it. I didn't request a room change but was a little disappointed. When it was time for me to leave, the printer was down still so I couldn't sign my receipt. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search