$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
337 reviews
Mardi Gras

Best hotel on Bourbon St. Was able to book a room at a reasonable rate by walking up to the front... See full review

  • Eugene H.
  • May 11, 2015
Home Away From Home

My daughter was in NOLA for business. I had the chance to sneak down from Ohio for the weekend. The... See full review

  • Andrew H.
  • Apr 16, 2015
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Accessible Premium Double
Accessible Premium Double
Deluxe Room King
Deluxe Room-King Bed Free WiFi-TV HD-safe-minibar-desk
Conti or Bienville Street Balcon
Conti or Bienville Street Balcony King Free Wifi - TV HD - safe - minibar - desk
R Club Double
R Club Floor - 2 Dbl beds - Comp WiFi Comp full brkfst and evening hors doeuvres
R Club King
R Club Floor - 1 King - Comp WiFi Comp full brkfst and evening hors doeuvres
Accessible Deluxe King
Handicap Accessible King Bed - Free Wifi Desk - TV HD - Safe - Minibar
Standard Room
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability.
Accessible Deluxe Double
Handicap Accessible Deluxe Doube Beds - Free Wifi - Desk - TV HD - Safe - Minibar
Accessible Queen Bed
Handicap Accessible Queen Bed - Free Wifi Desk - TV HD - Safe - Minibar
Bourbon Balcony King
Bourbon Balcony- King Bed - Free WiFi Desk TV HD- safe- minibar
Pool Patio Balcony Double
Premium Double Pool Terrace Balcony -2 Beds Free WiFi-TV HD-safe-minibar-desk
Pool Patio Balcony King
Premium Pool Terrace Balcony -1 King Free WiFi-TV HD-safe-minibar-desk
Deluxe Room Double
2 Dbl Beds- Free WiFi-safe-minibar- TV HD-marble bath-desk

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Restaurant Revolution
A new approach to Cajun and Creole Dining in a five star quality restaurant. Dinner served 6pm-11pm
Desire Oyster Bar
Casual dining. Moderately priced serving 3 meals 7 days. Features generous portions of local favorites. The chargrilled oysters are not to be missed.
PJs Coffee Cafe
Serves locally roasted PJs Coffee and Specialty Drinks- freshly baked items baked by our pastry chef and light lunch items
Irvin Mayfields Jazz Playhouse
The best jazz club in New Orleans showcases New Orleans greatest Jazz talent and serves your favorite cocktails and appetizers in a luxurious venue on the lobby level of the Royal Sonesta New Orleans.
Room Service
In room dining available 7 days a week 6 am to 11 pm with extended hours during special events

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 337
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crucian mom
Business
US Virgin Islands
Dec 28, 2012

Nice 1-night stay

Room was small but comfortable. No coffee maker or hair dryer in room. Parking was expensive--$40 for one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Apr 22, 2009

The good, the bad and the ugly

the evening we checked in, there was no power. A storm had hit New Orleans earlier in the day. We checked in with glow sticks. The hotel was "attempting" to relocate guests the next day, but they were disorganized in trying to do so. We were told since our reservations were through oRBITZ, we should contact Orbitz. That is where the nightmare started. After 2 1/2 hours on the phone with orbitz and being tranferred from one operator to another, I gave up and found a hotel in which to stay. Orbitz did a terrible job of helping. I am disappointed in their service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 3, 2009

Royal Sonesta

The room was loud, but that was expected given that it is on Bourbon St. It was a great location if you don't mind the noise. Bring ear plugs. The food you get through room service is cheaper and tastier than in the French Quarter. I'm thinking outsiders infiltrated after Katrina because the food used to be delicious and affordable in the French Quarter. Our phone never worked despite three complaints. The handle to the shower was broken, but still functional. One of our blankets smelled like cigarette smoke so we don't think they washed it. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was beautiful. The beds were only full size, which is terrible for a couple. The prices are crazy high. There is no coffee pot in your room so you have to get dressed and go buy theirs downstairs, which is Starbucks. A grande coffee is $3 and a venti latte is $6.87! You can purchase a room service pot for $6 plus tax for 6 cups. However, there is an automatic gratuity on everything equal to 21%. Yikes! Thus, the coffee is $7.80. You also have to purchase internet service, which is available in your room with your laptop or the television and the business office. I think the cheapest method was your laptop, but I cannot remember. At the business office - If you use the printer its $1 for black or $2 for color printouts for the first 8 pages. I can't remember the amount after that. It's 45 cents/min for the computer with a min. charge of $7. In the end, I didn't mind the noise, but I don't think I will stay here, again. I like free coffee in my room so that I do not have to get dressed. I would think a hotel of this quality and price would offer that when places over $100 cheaper do. I also would like to be able to choose my gratuities especially if they are at 21%. Who came up with 21% instead of 20% anyway?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We recommend taking the mule pulled carriages for a tour of the French Quarter. They have small and large carriages so you can choose if you want company or not. Seems like the small one is more fun because you probably can hear better. They pick you up at Decatur St. across the street from Cafe Du Monde (800 Decatur St.). Even greater, you can eat some DELICIOUS beignets before or after you go.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
East Coast Girl
Business
New Jersey
Aug 30, 2011

Right in Middle of Bourbon Street

Hotel is an oasis right on Bourbon Street. Offers the ability to enter the hotel from a side street if you want to escape the sleazy environment and smell of Bourbon Street. Within easy walking distance of most of the city's attractions. We were able to book with a great rate- I don't think that the hotel's amenities warrant their high regular room rate. Room service food was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler201311
Business
new york
Jan 5, 2015

No coffee maker

Bed uncomfortable, too old.There is no coffee maker in the room, even if you asked for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50-something Dad
Business
NY, NY
Aug 22, 2010

Great hotel, raucous guests

New Orleans is a great city and Royal Sonesta is one of it's great hotels. The blessing and curse is the location, on Bourbon Street in the French Quarter, where drunken 20-somethings reign. Services and staff are outstanding. Sizable outdoor pool but often too crowded with drinkers to swim. Still, we loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lithonia, GA
Aug 7, 2011

Wonderful Hotel & Location

Just returned from my trip to NO. Our stay at the Royal Sonesta was great. I was celebrating my b'day and informed the reservation MGR before arrival. She had a bottle of champagne, balloons and candy waiting for me. The room was clean and we never had any problems with maid service or anything. I was traveling with my brother and the location was excellent. If you want to be in the midst of the night activity but stay in an upscale hotel, this is the one for you. If you prefer a more laid back atmosphere in the evening then do not venture out in the evening because it's going to be noisy, loud and crazy. There are plenty restaurants close by, just try what you like, Landry's was one of my favorites. Taking the tours are easy because you can sign up in the lobby and get picked up in front of the hotel. The staff was wonderful especially [...], he was friendly and informative about the happenings in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase you beads and masks at the French Market much cheaper than on Bourbon Street

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bud's adventures
Business
Alexandria, VA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

New Orleans experience

This hotel is in the heart of the French quarter. Once I asked and received the room upgrade I had paid for - it was a great experience. The first room they had put us in was small and seemed dark. Stay on the couryard. Quiet and lots of natural lighting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend Bayona at 430 Dauphine Street. Great chief - Susan Spicer providing a fine dining experience

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Azmjk
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Aug 16, 2013

All that jazz

This hotel is right on Bourbon St. And close to almost everything. The on site jazz club is probably the best feature. We did reserve and stated upon check-in we had three adults staying in the room and needed two beds. When we checked in they claimed they did not have any rooms left with two beds, so we had to settle for a king bed with a rollaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Make sure to check out the on-site jazz club.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Planet Diamond
Jul 9, 2010

nola 7/10

I have stayed here at Royal Sonesta several times, and it is always a superbly helpful staff. The hotel needs some updating inside, business center, concierge desk, shopping area (or lack thereof), but staff more than made up for it- What a friendly Hotel staff! Dining, parking, directions, never a delay, only the desire to make my stay with my family a pleasant experience. Hotel- 3 stars Service- 6 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The French market is a real artist experience, without the imported "artworks" . Buy on or around -Frenchman Street-

Back to menu Return to top