$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

5 stars
300 Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
296 reviews
Excellent Stay!

From the moment we pulled into valet parking, we were already impressed. The staff was very... See full review

  • Jo Ann B.
  • Nov 20, 2014
Great location

Could not ask for a better location! Very nice hotel. I stay here every time I go to New Orleans. See full review

  • Chachibear
  • Oct 5, 2014
A traditional boutique-style hotel, the Royal Sonesta New Orleans opened in 1969 and contains 483 guestrooms, several eateries, tropical courtyards and fountains, and an amazing collection of fine art. The hotel boasts a staggering 7,000 original works throughout the property, including pieces by Andy Warhol, Jan Dibbets and Roy Lichtenstein. The hotel's emphasis on art is part of Sonesta International Hotels Corporation's mission of caring for tradition and communities. The building's facade was designed with an 1830s feel in mind, and the Royal Sonesta sits on "Desire" corner, one of the most photographed spots on the French Quarter. PJ's Coffee, a local favorite for traditional and custom beverages, is located on the first floor.
Key facts
  • 483 guestrooms
  • 35 suites
  • 7 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • 20,000-square-feet of conference/event space
  • Gift shop
  • 5 restaurants
  • Coffee shops
  • Bureau de change and ATM
  • 24-hour desk and business center
  • Pets allowed (under 30 pounds, hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The oldest neighborhood in the city, the French Quarter is a National Historic Landmark. Nestled between Louis Armstrong Park and the banks of the Mississippi River, the area is known for its ornate ironwork, one-way streets - some of which have pedestrian-only sections - and wide array of stellar dining and shopping options. Spirits and jazz music are part of the culture of 'Nawlins,' and visitors can enjoy some of the best sounds the city has to offer at Irvin Mayfield's Jazz Playhouse, while sipping signature cocktails.
Hints and tips
The third floor poolside cabana offers an unparalleled way to enjoy Louisiana's hot summer days, and free sunscreen is provided to every guest.

To experience Bourbon Street without having to weave through crowds, choose a balcony suite for a bird's eye view of the famous party street.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9555 -90.0684
Area served
New Orleans.
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport.
Area description
The Royal Sonesta Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter. Just two blocks from Canal Street, the Central Business District and the Streetcar Route. Steps away from world-famous restaurants, antique shops, entertainment centers and historic landmarks. Within walking distance to all Mississippi River activities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Royal Sonesta New Orleans Rooms

Deluxe King
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring a king sized bed with a pillow top mattress, generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
R Club - Concierge floor
R-club guests enjoy daily breakfast, evening reception with premium brand liquors in the exclusive R-Club Lounge, complimentary WiFi, turn down service, designer toiletries, plush bathrobes, slippers, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, and R-club concierge at your service.
Standard
Room type assigned upon arrival based upon availability. All rooms feature generously sized toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.
Deluxe Double
Luxury accommodations blending traditional and contemporary styles, featuring two double beds with a pillow top mattress , generously sized spa quality toiletries, WiFi (surcharge), mini bar, marble bath, in-room safe, iron & ironing board, blow dryer and more.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.4 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.1 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.6 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.3 mi

Dining

Begues Restaurant
This AAA Four Diamond landmark offers French and Creole specialties, prepared by renowned Chef. Famous Friday Seafood Buffet and Sunday Champagne Brunch. Open for breakfast and lunch daily. Dinner served Friday and Saturday.
Desire Oyster Bar
One of the most famous spots on Bourbon Street. Side Street bistro serving great seafood and traditional New Orleans fare. Open daily lunch and dinner menus.
Mystick
New Orleans specialty drinks and hot libations are served up at this jazzy lobby lounge. Live entertainment is featured Thursday -Sunday nights. Happy hour and patio courtyard service.
LeBooze
One of the best people watching spots on Bourbon Street - drinks, cigars and snacks available afternoons.
Royal Caf
Proudly offers Starbucks Coffee along with pastries and champagnes in the lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (296)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Care Forgot, We Remember
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 18, 2010

Beautiful Suite courtesy of Alexandra!

I spent the extra money for a king size bed, but when we arrived they had us booked in a room with 2 doubles. The clerk told me that my reservation was between me and the website, that the hotel wasn't obligated to fulfill that request, but she'd see what she could come up with. We ended up in a gorgeous suite with king size bed, jacuzzi tub, large tv, sofa, on the quietest side of the hotel! [...] went above and beyond! You'll be amazed what a little courtesy and persistence can achieve!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Get off Bourbon St. and explore the smaller bars and restaurants. Our favorite pub is Fahy's at 540 Burgundy. Neighborhood pub, drinks are priced right, staff is super cool!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoyAnton
Business
Oslo Norway
Feb 27, 2011

Wow, what a location in a top hotel

We really enjoyed the stay at the Royal Sonesta. perfect location in this fantastic street. New Orleans is one of the best places we have ever been. We had great food experiences and listened to really good bands at several places in Bourbon Street. Loved walking around the French Quarter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Several places with live band's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Survivor Josh
Business
Westminster, CO
Mar 28, 2011

Safe Haven on Bourbon

Nice rooms, though the beds left my back a little sore. The staff was prompt and courteous. Nice pool deck with a bar, but it was only staffed Thu-Sun. Beautiful courtyard off the main lobby. The Sonesta was a much-needed sanctuary from the mayhem and stink of Bourbon street. Whenever we'd had enough of the revelry each night (morning), it was right there to duck into, with its welcoming and relieving peace and cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 6, 2011

The perfect place for a good time!

This hotel is in the heart of New Orleans! It is literally in the center of the famed Bourbon Street and is within walking distance the St. Louis Cathedral, the Voo Doo Museum, the River Walk, the Convention Center and a million shops, bars, and stores. The hotel itself is adorable and the rooms are a spin on French Country. As a non-drinker who was visiting on business, I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and quiet everything was at the end of the day. The restaurant, Desire, was super tasty too--definitely try the Cajun trio!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring lots of ones! There are street performers everywhere who perform dancing, gymnastics, a variety of bands, and magicians. I had so much fun watching them perform then taking a picture (for my facebook profile)! Best entertainment for the dollar!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lithonia, GA
Aug 7, 2011

Wonderful Hotel & Location

Just returned from my trip to NO. Our stay at the Royal Sonesta was great. I was celebrating my b'day and informed the reservation MGR before arrival. She had a bottle of champagne, balloons and candy waiting for me. The room was clean and we never had any problems with maid service or anything. I was traveling with my brother and the location was excellent. If you want to be in the midst of the night activity but stay in an upscale hotel, this is the one for you. If you prefer a more laid back atmosphere in the evening then do not venture out in the evening because it's going to be noisy, loud and crazy. There are plenty restaurants close by, just try what you like, Landry's was one of my favorites. Taking the tours are easy because you can sign up in the lobby and get picked up in front of the hotel. The staff was wonderful especially [...], he was friendly and informative about the happenings in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase you beads and masks at the French Market much cheaper than on Bourbon Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
echet
Business
Dearborn, MI, USA
Aug 15, 2011

NIce getaway

Great location!! No need to have a car, everything is in walking distance. This hotel has it all, relax by the pool during the day, fine dining in the evening, party hard on Bourbon Street all night!!! What a blast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy momma
Business
Camarillo, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

No children getaway

Really friendly staff....Concierge was the best ever though!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Oceana for breakfast and lunch!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Veillon's
Business
Sulphur, La.
Sep 2, 2011

anniversary stay

Really enjoyed my stay, perfect location, only thing that bothered me is I wish there was a coffee pot in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I liked that we can walk everywhere we wanted to go didn't have to drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nulabs71
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 3, 2011

Right on Bourbon Street

My wife and I decided to visit New Orleans for our 10 year wedding anniversary. After reading many reviews on Orbitz we decided on the Royal Sonesta. The Hotel is located right in the heart of the French Quater on Bourbon Street. Yes, the Bourbon Street party rages loudly well into the night, every night, but you'd never know it from the quiet confines of your room. This is wonderful because as much fun as the party is on Bourbon Street when your ready to call it a night it's nice to have complete peace and quiet and this you will have on the courtyard rooms. There are balcony rooms that face Bourbon but I'd imagine those aren't so peaceful. The staff at the Hotel was wonderful. Everyone we came into contact w/ was always customer service minded and very friendly from the front desk folks to the bellhops and all the others in between. I especially liked chatting w/ Eubanks about each days adventures. He was very helpful. Would I stay at the Royal Sonesta again? Perhaps. The accommodations were top notch and the service was 4 star. For my wife and I though, we preferred the relative tranquility of Royal Street and the east side of the Quarter. Even though it is completely quiet inside the Royal Sonesta you still have to walk through the bourbon street madness to get to the Hotel. After an evening of fine dining and a night of music on Frenchman Street we didn't enjoy wading through all the craziness to get into the Hotel. All and all a great vacation at a fine Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Washll
Business
Brooklyn Heights, Brooklyn, NY, USA
Oct 10, 2011

First visit to Grandson at Tulane

I would characterize this as superior busy hotel on a noisy street. The fitness center is modest but adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top