$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
338 out of 338
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Will hails
Business
Lake Charles louisiana
Jun 11, 2014

Not bad

It wasn't bad and would be perfect if you are going for the French quarter experience but everything is overpriced.. The room has bottles of water with a little sign that shows a price of $6.50 and you have to pay $40 for parking.. The French quarter is just overpriced tourist trap... You save a ton staying out of French quarter and just taking a cab there and back when you want to party

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Desire oyster beinville

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joshue ATL
Business
Atlanta
Jul 21, 2014

Good weekend.

This hotel is in prime location, but not all 4 stars for me. Room where a little small and you can tell the hotel is not brand new. Staff did ok, but I think it's because they are extremely busy at times. Concierge was the best very good help. Overall would I stay here again, sure why not smacked in the middle of everything and not too shabby. If you stay here I'm sure you will enjoy but it's no ritzcarlton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KC331
Business
new york, ny
Aug 31, 2014

Great Location! Great Pool!

The Royal Sonesta is a beautiful hotel. My boyfriend and I requested a room facing Bourbon street so that we could hang out on the balcony and watch all of the craziness go by...but unfortunately, we didn't get one. You need to pay extra for a room with a balcony (we were told about $50 more a night)..so don't expect all the rooms to have balconies! Our room directly faced a strip club and two homeless men so we never really wanted to keep our curtains open for more than a few minutes... The hotel lobby is gorgeous, with a courtyard leading to an AMAZING (and super pricey) courtyard restaurant. The pool is also beautiful, and was surprisingly not too busy on a hot August day. We loved the fact that the hotel entrance is directly across the street from a Cafe Beignet, which had drinks and amazing live music every day from early on in the morning until the evening. Its really right in the center of it all..its pretty wild on Bourbon but we're a lively couple in our mid-twenties and we had a great time! Hotel staff was pleasant, always trying to assist us. Rooms were really nice too--only issue was that comforter on our king sized bed seemed like it was meant for a twin..but the bed itself was so comfortable it didn't matter too much! Our only real complaint: We booked four nights here and after the third night, we had someone knocking on our door HARD telling us it was time to check out....when I had two more nights at the hotel booked and paid for. Shortly after, we received a call from the front desk telling us we only booked two nights and that it was past check out time..when we confirmed two nights earlier, with the woman at the front desk, WITH my hotel confirmation, that we booked 4 nights. This was REALLY upsetting. This was on our "rest/hangover day" after two really fun days and we were hoping we would be able to sleep in...but the woman on the phone insisted we only booked two nights. I was then put on hold for about fifteen minutes, and afterwards, was transferred to another person at hotel reservations who told me i changed my reservation from four nights to two nights...which never happened. I was then put on hold for so long that I hung up and called the hotel directly, and spoke to someone who apologized, and said that someone changed by reservation for some reason..and that it would all get sorted out. This was a pretty awful morning. Other than that mishap we had a GREAT experience in New Orleans. We hardly spent any time in the hotel (just to sleep and go swimming) because there is SO much to do outside! Nonetheless, we would stay here again because of the location and the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is SO MUCH to eat and drink and do on Bourbon! If you are with a group/can afford it, its probably worth it to stay in a room with a balcony, facing bourbon or the pool.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
n123
Business
Louisiana
Sep 29, 2014

Okay

Okay hotel. Older, very very loud. Restaurant R'evolution is fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler201311
Business
new york
Jan 5, 2015

No coffee maker

Bed uncomfortable, too old.There is no coffee maker in the room, even if you asked for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Titanblue
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Perfect location for Bourbon Street

This was a great location to walk up and down Bourbon Street and the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ietta3001
Business
Redwood city
Apr 22, 2014

Quite nice location

If I became rich man in future, want to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Bruno, California
Aug 15, 2009

This is the perfect location...a must

It's a beautiful hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Second to none. The location was perfect for the price. The hotel is classy and shiney with a jazz band playing every night. Although the band only played until close to midnight. Our room overlooked Bourbon St. Except the windows were nailed shut. The room could stand new carpet, but it was nice and clean. The bed was comfy and the pillows made it easy to fall into a sleep. We didn't eat at the hotel,so I can't give my opinion. The pool area was very nice and the water was warm and blue. The poolside waiter was very helpful and friendly. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Royal Sonesta and we would highly recommend this hotel. Hopefully, we will return one day too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Royal House restaurant & Acme Oyster bar.Don't forget to stop and listen to blues at the Sing Sing bar.

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JMN
Business
Indiana, PA
Nov 27, 2009

Great location, wonderful ambiente

Booked online through [...]; everything went smoothly at check-in; hotel lobby is very grand, appealing, clean, and has a friendly atmosphere; room was large enough for two people, very well taken care of (no rips in wallpaper, cracks in ceiling, smudges on carpet, etc.), extremely clean with rather comfortable beds; room was always ready when we came back in the afternoon to rest; staff was quite courteous and helpful and gave informed answers to our questions. Two things, however, we did not like as much: the toilet flushed very noisily and the computer use in the business office is clearly overpriced (we believe that a hotel of this class ought to offer free internet use to its guests). We will certainly recommend the Royal Sonesta to our friends and acquaintances warmly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

1. Audobon Park and Zoo (take Canal Street Streetcar) 2. take in the atmosphere around Jackson Square 3. for the literature people: visit Faulkner House in Pirate's Alley where he wrote "Soldiers' Pay"

Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
May 25, 2010

The royal sonesta in the french quarter

This Hotel is in a very convient location situated on an entire city block boardering Burbon st. The staff was very helpful from the time we stepped out of our car in the parking garage. Parking was $32.00 a day. The Sunday brunch was extremely good. Dishes were light on salt and seasoning but very well seasoned with ingrediants ,ie sasauge and boiled shrimp. The near by GW Fins restaurant was incredible. Non traditional seasonings, such as a pumpkin seed flour crusted grouper,make this establishment stand out as a virtuoso commander of flavor. I have and would return to the Royal Sonesta.Our room did not over look Burbon St..The typical street noise could be heard from our room but not so much of the non stop Burbon St. hooping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy bottled water at the walgreens around the corner.

Back to menu Return to top