$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Apr 22, 2009

The good, the bad and the ugly

the evening we checked in, there was no power. A storm had hit New Orleans earlier in the day. We checked in with glow sticks. The hotel was "attempting" to relocate guests the next day, but they were disorganized in trying to do so. We were told since our reservations were through oRBITZ, we should contact Orbitz. That is where the nightmare started. After 2 1/2 hours on the phone with orbitz and being tranferred from one operator to another, I gave up and found a hotel in which to stay. Orbitz did a terrible job of helping. I am disappointed in their service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Nov 11, 2009

OK, but not what I expected

The lobby of the hotel is gorgeous, rooms not so much. We had a pool view room. The room were really tiny and nothing like you would expect after seeing the lobby. All the furniture in our room was dusty. The room is overly priced for what you get. I don't believe I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on Bourbon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WorldTravelor
Business
Sioux City, IA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

It was all good except:

The hotel was very nice and in a great location. I would have said it was perfect except, on day 2 the fire alarms continued to repeatedly go off, on day 3 the fire alarm went off intermittently making it difficult to nap, talk or even watch TV, on the third day the rooms on both sides of me started undergoing construction. non stop drilling, hammering, and banging. I was not able to sleep, or even watch TV because the noise was so loud and continues. Why they didnt shut that part of the 4th floor off I have no idea. Other patrons were also mad at the on going noise from early morning to 6PM When i said something to the staff they were unapologetic and could care less. I have to say that made my stay terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the quiter dinning spots do require appropriate attire.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 3, 2009

Royal Sonesta

The room was loud, but that was expected given that it is on Bourbon St. It was a great location if you don't mind the noise. Bring ear plugs. The food you get through room service is cheaper and tastier than in the French Quarter. I'm thinking outsiders infiltrated after Katrina because the food used to be delicious and affordable in the French Quarter. Our phone never worked despite three complaints. The handle to the shower was broken, but still functional. One of our blankets smelled like cigarette smoke so we don't think they washed it. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was beautiful. The beds were only full size, which is terrible for a couple. The prices are crazy high. There is no coffee pot in your room so you have to get dressed and go buy theirs downstairs, which is Starbucks. A grande coffee is $3 and a venti latte is $6.87! You can purchase a room service pot for $6 plus tax for 6 cups. However, there is an automatic gratuity on everything equal to 21%. Yikes! Thus, the coffee is $7.80. You also have to purchase internet service, which is available in your room with your laptop or the television and the business office. I think the cheapest method was your laptop, but I cannot remember. At the business office - If you use the printer its $1 for black or $2 for color printouts for the first 8 pages. I can't remember the amount after that. It's 45 cents/min for the computer with a min. charge of $7. In the end, I didn't mind the noise, but I don't think I will stay here, again. I like free coffee in my room so that I do not have to get dressed. I would think a hotel of this quality and price would offer that when places over $100 cheaper do. I also would like to be able to choose my gratuities especially if they are at 21%. Who came up with 21% instead of 20% anyway?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We recommend taking the mule pulled carriages for a tour of the French Quarter. They have small and large carriages so you can choose if you want company or not. Seems like the small one is more fun because you probably can hear better. They pick you up at Decatur St. across the street from Cafe Du Monde (800 Decatur St.). Even greater, you can eat some DELICIOUS beignets before or after you go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
East Coast Girl
Business
New Jersey
Aug 30, 2011

Right in Middle of Bourbon Street

Hotel is an oasis right on Bourbon Street. Offers the ability to enter the hotel from a side street if you want to escape the sleazy environment and smell of Bourbon Street. Within easy walking distance of most of the city's attractions. We were able to book with a great rate- I don't think that the hotel's amenities warrant their high regular room rate. Room service food was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LisaAnn43
Business
Mpls, MN
May 13, 2014

Fun with friends

My overall experience was good. The bed and pillows were really comfortable and the room was clean. The room was a little small and it was loud but we were in a room with a window facing Bourbon Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jeaude
Business
florida
Oct 24, 2009

NO trip

The royal sonesta is an elegant hotel in the French Quarter. I was disappointed though, that I was not warned on their website that you had to pay extra for parking at $40/day. Or that there was no coffee pot, refrigerator or microwave in the room. The room itself was very nice but I heard every conversation that was going on in the hallway. It was almost as if there was no door into the room, it was that loud. They had an assortment of restaurants/lounges in the hotel, but all were too expensive for my blood. ($6.50 for a beer) The restaurants were right up there with their prices, too. The best thing is that it is in a great location and you don't have to drive to get to most of the places you want to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coll
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Satisfactory Stay

The location of the hotel was great for a first time trip to New Orleans. It was located on Burbon St. in the French Quarter and allowed easy walking access to all the local tourist attractions including tours, the Garden District, the French Market and trolley access, and cabs were not hard to get since we traveled to locations outside of the typical tourist spots. I would not want to stay on Bourbon St. in the future just based on our desire not to drink 24/7, but we were still very able to access more low key spots and the rooms were quiet. Nothing in the hotel blew me away, so I would consider this an average hotel stay. It has more character than a national chain hotel but there was nothing that stood out to me more than at other places I've stayed. The designated concierge for suggestions and trips was out at times when were looking for recommendations, so getting "You can try our hotel restaurant." as a response to looking for a unique to New Orleans dining experience from at the reception desk led us to forgo the check in area as a resource. All in all it was a standard, satisfactory stay at a satisfactory hotel. We truly enjoyed our trip and the hotel didn't play a significant role either way in our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jacquesimos is a an awesome restaurant for dinner, but be prepared to wait, reservation or not. Totally worth it!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, Bew Mexico
Mar 6, 2011

Royal Sonesta hotel French Quarter New O

The Sonesta hotel lobby was impressive but, unfortunately, our room was on the fifth floor with no view of any significance and downward slant from the roof in one end of the room; this part of our trip was a downer -- I will never accept a booking at this hotel. To be fair, all other aspects of the hotel were good. We spent most of our time in the quarter and river front; ate at Antoines, and FIN, had Begnies/chicory coffee @ Cafe Du Monde; Watched a couple of Mardi Gras parades. Return trip was long, having been routed through Atlanta rather than Houston. Previous trips to the South and East were typically routed more crisply and as short as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario
Mar 22, 2010

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top