$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Royal Sonesta New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 300 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
310 out of 310
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carlisle, Pa.
Apr 8, 2010

Easter weekend at the Royal Sonesta

I have always wanted to stay at this hotel, this was my 4th trip to New Orleans and I really enjoyed the staff at the hotel...it also has a beautiful pool...off the 3rd floor, sort of on the roof. Everything is purely first class here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of excitement on Bourbon Street and great dining experiences abound.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston, ma
Jul 9, 2010

three days in new orleans

Great staff. Good restaurant on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville North Carolina
Jul 10, 2010

Great Getaway!

It was so nice to smell real flowers at every turn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

K-Pauls was super!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
workingmom
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Can't beat the location

This was my first trip to New Orleans and I couldn't have picked a better location! I was in town for a conference and was able to easily walk to the convention center, Friendly staff, great food, This is where I will stay if/when I come back with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Falls Church, VA
Jan 4, 2011

You get the royal treatment

The Royal Sonesta is akin to staying at a Ritz Carlton in terms of room size and quality of furnishings. Very clean and up to date. Bed and linens were very comfortable and bathroom was impeccable with Italian products. But do yourself a favor and ask for a quiet room overlooking the courtyard or the other internal patio. If you get a street room, the drunks on Bourbon will keep you up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Jackson Square and see St. Louis Cathedral, then Cafe du Monde for beignets, then walk the entire French Market which borders Cafe du Monde. Be sure to visit the shops on Royal if you like artwork. Be sure to buy your morning coffee just across Bourbon Street at Cafe Beignet. Refills are $0.60 each and the breakfast there is delicious too. Coffee in Sonesta is expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, PA
Feb 28, 2010

Great accommodations!

Concierge helped with dinner reservations. Everyone from desk to bellhop were very pleasant and friendly. What a beautiful place in the Bourbon Street area. I had a room off the main street and it was quiet and restful. I would return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many excellent restaurants. We ate at Brennan's (five dollar signs), Desire, Bourbon House and the Bon Ton Cafe (two dollar signs). The latter was the BEST food for the price with the best ambiance. Eat lots of fresh raw oysters and lots of local cuisine. Bon appetite!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New fan of New Orleans
Business
Santa Fe NM
Apr 10, 2010

Very Pleased! Even better than expected.

New Orleans is a very unique city. I was completely amazed by it. I loved the jazz bands and the people were wonderful. The Hotel was totally like going back in time when people really took pride in their job and their surroundings I hope if I have the chance to return I will stay at Royal Sonesta New Orleans and recommend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be very careful there are some very clever pick pockets. That can really ruin a wonderful trip to loose all your money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Medford, NJ
Jan 4, 2010

Royal Sonesta 12-27 thru 12-30

Excellent hotel and location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Acme Oyster House!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Normal Guy Reviewer
Business
Baltimore md
Aug 19, 2010

Sonesta

This hotel was a clean, perfect location, and relaxing. After spending a couple hours on boubon street it is a releaf to go back to our little retreat at the Royal Sonesta. We had a room right off of Bourbon street and you could hear a little noise. We thought this was fine and loved being able to peak right out the window to people watch, throw beeds, and generally being able to check the atmosphere before we went out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reisterstown, Maryland
Apr 7, 2010

Perfect-It doesn't get any better

everything at the hotel was wonderful. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food and the atmosphere was wonderful at Nola Restaurant. It was not extremely overpriced with entrees in the $20's. Serice was impeccable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top